The Bulbs Are Awake

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

0 (3).jpg

though, must be shivering in the cold ...
quietly they send their shoots up through the sandy ground ...
must be speaking in whispers about how much they love the cold ...
"bury them late in October or early November", so I was told ...
"out shall they come before it's even Spring ...
bringing you beauties to behold" ...

Yes, the bulbs are awake in my garden and I've planted plenty of them. The thumbnail? Probably a result of them birds scratching the ground right after I've buried those.

0 (4).jpg

On my first year here, the bulbs were the first plants I've ever buried in my backyard. That time, my backyard was pretty empty and it was spacious but I'm not used to having more tiles than plants in my garden so I looked for something to add. Bulb it was!

0 (11).jpg

I arrived here in October and bulbs were on sale during those days. I bought some tulips and had to wait till it was early November so I could let them sleep 10 cm deep in the ground and wait till they sprout.

Some time a year later, I've managed to make a few friends and K (by the way K is just an alias I use to represent any of my friends here - it's short for "kaibigan" in Tagalog meaning - friend) often come and visit with either a daffodil, hyacinth or a grape hyacinth of different sort as a gift. It's culture here to bear a gift when it's your first time to get invited to someone's house or to visit a friend at his/her place.

0 (12)a.jpg

Year after year, my bulb collection has grown. This year, I've added one more sort but am surprise that this has beaten them from budding.

0 (9).jpg

Can you guess which bulb plant each picture bears just by looking at their sprouts? 10% upvote for anyone who'd dare give it a try. Please guess just one and kindly specify which pic you are referring to. Again, JUST ONE!!! edit: If it's already been guessed your answer won't count anymore. Let the others have a chance, too! If you guessed more than just one of them I won't cast your comment an upvote. Let's see who's really reading all the way.

0 (7).jpg

Year after year, I'd move them from one place to another just because I've been adding plants in my garden and I will have to move them again. Do you think doing that would affect their growth and flowering behavior? 15% upvote to whoever could explain how and why you think so. Only answer that if you yourself are growing bulbs , thank you.

0 (13).jpg

Here's another question, last year, I've didn't cut the grape hyacinth's flowers cause I was pretty busy managing two gardens and just let it take its course. Some time late in August last year, I found out that they were bearing seeds. I've collected the pods and scattered a few in the front yard. No, I haven't seen any of them coming out yet that's why I've decided to ask here cause this is the first time I've encountered the seeds. I'm used to planting all of them from bulbs.

0 (14).jpg

Do you happen to know whether these grape hyacinth seeds would grow and how? 25% to anyone who'd be able to give me a tip on how to. I'd appreciate it if you put the source if you aren't any bulb grower.

0 (1).jpg

Is it Spring? I have no idea but as you can see it on the thumbnail, even the aphids are up despite the cold these days.

0 (2).jpg

This content's 100% mine. I took most of the pics with my Nikon D3400 + AF-P NIKKOR 18-55mm , those of the grape hyacinths with my Samsung Galaxy A3, 2016.



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.
.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for posting these beauties dear @englishtchrivy.

Such beautiful photographs.......always appreciate them.

What a lovely tradition.

It is exceeding great fun to enjoy the subject of gardening with a friend.

You have given me just the inspiration I needed to get some indoor bulbs started.

Photograph number five......bleujay will guess that it is the grape hyacinth.

Wishing you all the best.

A bientot mon ami. ^__^

thank you for guessing mon ami
I hope you get your hands on one or two
they're lovely aren't they?

I'll give you one more chance cause I gave a stranger one more chance I'd never deny a friend of the same opportunity, you're close to it, look harder :D

Thank you @englishtchrivy....you are too kind.

....how about a Standard Hyacinth..... ^__^

Enjoyed your post so much....Happy Gardening.

Cheers.

yes that's that :D
hyacinth! ^ ^

cheers!

Hello Ivy,
The second picture is crocuses !! I have some on my terrace!

crocuses they are!

Thank you very much ! That's very kind of you.
Always very beautiful pictures!

you're welcome!

Congratulation, please also share for us when it grew up to be beautiful tulip. @englishtchrivy

Is the seventh picture a tulip? :)

tulips they are ;)

Oh! What You have going on?! It's already Spring? They have all woken up: and these bulbs and sprouts flowers. Probably You have a warm earth. It does not freeze as we got a few inches in depth. I don't know the answers to Your questions, because we don't grow these plants. No experience. I would love to see that answer more experienced guys. With the pace of growth, I hope that soon I see Your flowers. @englishtchrivy , Thank You for share Your experience in gardening.

Oh yea... my bulbs are starting to pop too. Except freesias... those are far ahead and I already see tiny flowers buds. They bloom for me twice a year.

About the seeds. I never tried that. But if they get the good temperature they should I guess :P

i am sooooo jealous
i would sell my lightsaber to get a camera like yours
and you managed to get a picture of an aphid!
didn't you say you never see them? or am i wrong?
can't help with the questions. no gardener here :D

the ants I never saw the damn ants
they deliver those damn aphids!
very very annoying

Has no answer but loves your photos.
It must be the spring that comes with you.

hahah thanks!
it's alright, so I guess, you're not gardening? how about Mrs. xpilar?

Hehe, yes, she has the green fingers and stands for the plate.
But I'm lucky to be involved when she is shopping for plants and allowed to choose a little.

aw! that's the best thing !

Wow ! very nice and amazing photo shoots with beautiful natural scenes and BEAUTI CLICK.I personally liked it thanks for sharing @englishtchrivy
I loved every thing about that post!

The scenery is very beautiful I like it very much
😍😍😍😍

posting a very good friend, I like your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97