What have I been playing? Winter 2018-2019

in #gaming6 years ago

1 PROFILE.PNG

Currently: 98,645/100,000 Gamerscore


Hello fellow gamers and steemians. Following the previous format of my what am I currently playing posts, this winter primarily has been a NUCLEAR one with me still diving deep into Fallout 76 these past few months.


My hunt for 100,000 gamerscore still continues and it's almost within my grasp with only around 1,400 gamerscore to go. Also, like I’ve struggled with in the past, I managed to get past another OCD achievement trigger game.. Ashen which I will say I have no regrets and am almost done with it.


What am I playing?

2 Ashen.png

Game: Ashen
Type: RPG
Rough Score: 8/10
Similar games: Dark Souls but prettier
Why?:

  • I checked it out while at Pax and even though there wasn't too much to sample, I tried enough to want to learn more about it.
  • I saw it on Game Pass not too long ago and was eager to load it up.
  • I've been looking for more challenging games lately.
  • These damn achievements worth 17's forced me to fix my Gamerscore.. again..

4 Ashen (4).png

The boss scales and difficulty takes all the right notes from the Dark Souls series.

6 Ashen (3).png

The varying landscapes, caves, dungeons, and other sceneries help paint the story and quest that you are on.

Verdict: Originally I anticipated it to be a short Dark Souls-Like adventure with a "meh" experience, but it turned out to be so much more in depth than I could have imagined. As the game's description says,

“Ashen is an open world co-op action RPG about a wanderer in search of a place to call home.”

I fear that players will give up the game within the first few hours over frustration like similar games and not see how much thought was put into the game and how great it progresses. The characters you meet turn into vendors and companions while telling their stories, the city comes to life as it gets built up over time, and towards the end, you haven't found home, you've built it with the help of your companions. This game tackles the difficulty of a Dark Souls game by tuning down the difficulty just a bit and keeping you feeling rewarded pretty often as long as you're just progressing. Try it free while you can on Xbox Game Pass, or buy the game, I'm definitely recommending this one.



Fallout 76 B.E.T.A. (15).png

Game: Fallout 76
Type: Action RPG
Rough Score: 7.5/10
Similar games: Fallout 4, Online? Hard to actually compare this experience to anything else, it's not ESO
Why?:

  • Since the Bethesda E3 2018 Conference I have been hyped up for the game and continue to be.
  • Apparently I love time sinks. (Grindy games)
  • Apparently I love torturing myself. (Bugs + Glitches Galore..)

8 Ready.png

This game has been an interesting experience so far. It's hard to look anywhere online and not see this game get trash reviews, horrible responses from the community, and overall just people thinking this game is flaming garbage.. When I played the B.E.T.A. version of the game, I said it was a 10/10 during the B.E.T.A. because of how much potential I saw in the game and was generally happy with the game. Now I've decided to give it a 7.5/10, which is still higher than what a majority of people are probably giving the game, but I know the secret..

Optimized-10 Disconect.png

Don't think of this game as a finished product and just think of it in "Game Preview" as they have on Xbox. I like to think of this game as if Ark: Survival Evolved and a game like Diablo III had a baby.. and they really are trying to work things out.. and raise this hybrid.. what could it become or contain from each parent?

  • Multiple game modes
  • An improved grind for legendries
  • Seasons
  • Weekly/Monthly buffs/events
  • More useful developer feedback
  • More of a community interaction
  • A further developed game

A lot of this can be achieved and the game really can be polished over time and I understand this should be a finished product, but we didn't get that, and we aren't getting that fast so what's the next step besides getting on Reddit or Twitter and complaining about every little thing? Give constructive criticism along with your complaints, everyone has the right to be mad and are entitled to their opinions but it's been months of just, THIS SUCKS! / FIX YOUR GAME! / I AM DONE WITH FALLOUT AFTER THIS LAST PATCH! Even if you're giving the feedback, things don't change overnight and the community needs to be more patient towards this one. A good portion of the community, including myself, have seen past a lot of flaws and are just enjoying the adventure as it unfolds..


I recently made a new Reddit account; TherealScruffy23 and made sure one of my first posts was Please Add Customizable Loadouts! (Perks / Gear) I'm hoping to continue to post useful suggestions for the game and jump in on other conversations to see how we can shape the future of what Fallout 76 is becoming.

11 nuke Fallout 76.png



Games I’ll be playing this month


Fallout 76 B.E.T.A. (15).png

The Sims™ 4.png

For a little while now, I've been deep into Fallout 76 but just around the corner, we have Crackdown coming out this month so that may shift my main focus. I also have been playing The Sims 4 and should have some new Architecture related posts up soon.

-Scruffy

#gaming #review #xbox #achievement #gamerscore #fallout4 #fallout76 #InBethesdaWeTrust #GodHoward


98645.png

Gamer | Designer | Architectural Draftsman | Full Time Nerd



Related Content:
What have I been playing? Fall 2018
July Gaming + DLive Streaming!
May/June Gaming + DLive Streaming!
April Gaming
March Gaming

Recent:
Fallout 76: Tick Blood Farming
Fallout 76 - Melee Build: All-Day-Up-In-Yo-Face
Early Bird Gets the Worm (Fallout 76)
What have I been playing? Fall 2018

Featured:
MetamorphoSims - 1Fam - 01 - Intro

Sort:  

Great post. Ashen seems dope and it's a disappointment about 76. I've been following the media and reviews of it's and it hasn't been good. Dissuaded me from getting it. It's rather a shame that 76 was a unfinished game with bugs. Guess we'll double down on Fortuna's Railjack when ever it drops. The open world of Fortuna has been fantastic, but it's high rank enemies make it a bit difficult without a team. More so with enemies constantly beaming down from space. Cheers to the grind bro.

Congratulations @scruffy23! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34