What have I been playing? Fall 2018

in #gaming5 years ago

00.jpg

Currently: 96,710/100,000 Gamerscore


Hello fellow gamers and steemians. This post follows the format of my what am I currently playing posts.

I haven't done a post like this in a couple months but I wanted to recap what's been going on in my world of gaming. I mentioned why I've been off in my 270+ Days / 9 Months on Steemit! 🤙 post and although I switched from these posts to streaming, I'm back to posting these again to help people make some decisions on new releases as well as some older classics I cant seem to put down.

This fall has been primarily full of Fallout 4, Fallout 76, Earthfall, and No Man's Sky!


A few months back my hunt for 100,000 gamerscore became that much harder after playing both Earthfall and No Man's Sky and receiving an uneven gamerscore.. -_- This is a huge pet-peeve of mine and I believe it's a cheap way for companies to force you to keep playing for just a little bit longer, while this OCD sets in and you need to see the Gamerscore end in a 0 or a 5 instead of like a 2..


What am I playing?

01.png

Game: Fallout 4
Type: Action RPG
Rough Score: 10/10
Similar games: Besides Fallout 3 and NV, it's hard to compare this to other games for various reasons but these games will put you in the apocalypse theme or RPG mode you're looking for , Borderlands Series, Rage, Metro: Last Light, and Skyrim
Why?:

  • Had never come close to finishing the main story
  • Had to beat it before Fallout 76 came out
  • Great game I enjoy coming back to
  • Looking for an RPG to dump some hours in, #InBethesdaWeTrust #GodHoward

02 - begin.png

(SPOILER ALERT)

Plot: Wife gets killed in front of you, they stole your son, you need your revenge and to find your son..

I played this game a lot when it came out and chose to avoid the main mission. I went around doing just about everything else in the game and after so long, I went back and finally finished the game, and I couldn't be happier.

03.png

The game has 3 main endings(Brotherhood of Steel, The Railroad, and The Institute), each having interesting angles on the game. I chose to complete the game, siding with the institute and now to finish off all the DLC!

Verdict: This is easily one of my favorite games of all time and I can only suggest people go out and get the game asap if they've never played it. I currently have close to 200 hours in the game, I'm level 85, I've beaten it with every ending possible, and now am just wrapping up the DLC. One of the biggest things that got me back into the game was Fallout 76 coming out and I'm so glad I decided to jump back in. If 76 wasn't coming out next week, I'd be still heavily playing this when I'm looking for that RPG fix.



OCD Trigger #1

06.png

Game: Earthfall
Type: FPS
Rough Score: 7/10
Similar games: It's Left4Dead with Aliens
Why?:

  • I checked it out while at Pax and knew I was getting it from watching the gameplay.
  • Like I've mentioned in previous posts, I've had a Left4Dead itch that needed scratching for a while now and this filled that gap.
  • It's Left 4 Dead with aliens and you 3D print your weapons to fight back the alien invasion! Enough said..
  • These damn achievements ending in 2's and 4's kept me coming back to even out my Gamerscore.. -_-

07.png

There's the invasion update that contains various updates, player progression and skills, new missions and modes, new weapons, and more to keep you coming back.

08.png

This game is known to have buggy achievements but it's good to see the player skill progression works just fine. Some of these passive perks seem like they can help a lot out on the higher difficulties so I would say they've done a good job at getting my interest back into the game.

Verdict: I think the game is worth the $30 price tag and they've been bringing more missions, new modes, and more. Even though they are a small team, I believe they are going to keep pushing out content, so there's that to look forward to.



OCD Trigger #2

No Man's Sky.png

Game: No Man's Sky
Type: Action-Adventure Survival
Rough Score: 7/10
Similar games: Minecraft/Terraria in Space
Why?:

  • Looking for more games I could be creative in
  • Looking for more survival-type games
  • Uneven achievements have me hunting them all down -_-
  • Scratch my itch to explore deep into the cosmos ;)

10.png

I went about the game the whole wrong way, I knew I needed every achievement in the game, so I went for the hardest ones first... traveling to the center of the galaxy in Survival mode as well as Permadeath. Hours and hours upon warping 700,000+ light years on two different saves is.. daunting..

11.png

In any case, they were more time consuming than difficult. The last achievement I went for was to build an Exocraft. This questline basically puts you through all the different base building scenarios and teaches you all the things you can do at your base.. well I did this one last and feel like I missed out on a huge chunk of the game.. or did I? it's hard to build your base when you're constantly warping.

Verdict: I definitely recommend it if you're looking for more of a slower and relaxed gameplay experience (depending on the difficulty level). I've had a lot of fun playing it with friends and surviving on my own. The creator of the game keeps pushing out new content and I can see this game being the next Minecraft in so many years if they keep adding to it, so keep your eyes on this one.



12-3.png

Game: Fallout 76 B.E.T.A.
Type: Action RPG
Rough Score: 10/10
Similar games: Fallout 4, Online? Hard to actually compare this experience to anything else, it's not ESO
Why?:

"I could not have been happier with their reveal of Fallout 76. Everything from the video of seeing the nukes come down for the first time (gave me goosebumps) to the very end had me yelling shut up and take my money. I cannot wait for this game!"

14-2.png

Although the B.E.T.A. sessions were limited and typically only 2-5 hour sessions on average, I had a ton of fun and I could not be more eager to play this game next week! I took a ton of screenshots from the game showcasing environments, creatures from West Virginia, and more on Xbox at LmG Scruffy and I'll be making a separate post for that soon. There's just so much you can do in this game, alone or with friends, that I can see myself playing this game for a long time to come.



Games I’ll be playing this month


Fallout 76 B.E.T.A. (15).png

The Sims™ 4.png

For now, I can only foresee myself switching between the typical games I've been playing, The Sims 4 for my architecture posts I'm brining back, and diving deep in Fallout 76.

-Scruffy

#gaming #review #xbox #achievement #gamerscore #nomanssky #fallout4 #fallout76 #InBethesdaWeTrust #GodHoward


96710.png

Gamer | Designer | Architectural Draftsman | Full Time Nerd



Related Content:
July Gaming + DLive Streaming!
May/June Gaming + DLive Streaming!
April Gaming
March Gaming

Recent:
PAX EAST 2019 (SATURDAY) SOLD OUT!
LOOTGAMING Episode 07
270+ Days / 9 Months on Steemit! 🤙
[XB1] Warframe 🤙 (9/18/18)

Featured:
MetamorphoSims - 1Fam - 01 - Intro

Sort:  

I have to get into EarthFall and Fallout 76 looks pretty good.
My current playlist is Warframe, Middle Earth: Shadow of War, and Dragonball Xenoverse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63691.77
ETH 3157.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84