The Game Review : Sonic Colors for Wii

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

It's your blockchain Entertainer here, ready to do another Game review for you all, while I've been busy over the Christmas holidays, I think it's best to review as many Sonic games as I can, so I'm here to review Sonic Colours/Colors for the Wii


you want me to play next? This is your blockchain Entertainer saying Thanks for reading I will see you next time

CHECK OUT MY OTHER GAME POSTS

The Game Outlook : Final Fantasy XV

Game Review : Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 for the Xbox One, PS4, PC and Nintendo Switch

EXCLUSIVE GAME REVIEW : SONIC ADVENTURE 2

Story and Game Review : Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney

GAME REVIEW : GOD EATER

UNDERTALE : THE GAME REVIEW


SONIC COLORS FOR WII

image
Source

Disclaimer

I have not played the DS version of Colours/Colors, I've heard they're apparently different, but even if they're the same, I'm not taking that risk, so I'm solely reviewing the Wii version

Side Note

I'm from the Nigeria so I'm spelling it Colours, as shows the Box Art, so I don't want ANY comments below saying "It's Colors not Colours" it's how I spell it

Rating

E for Everyone in America, Pegi 3 in the UK, for those wondering, Pegi 3 is the lowest age they have the setting for, I don't know why that is

Story

image
Source

Eggman makes a huge Them Park in space, in my perspective it looks to be the same size as the Space Colony Ark, but that's just me, anyway he also got 5 planets from other areas of Space and has them chained. Sonic with a Curious mind, goes to investigate (Why he didn't find out what was going during construction is beyond me, but whatever), Tails assists him thinking that Eggman wouldn't build the theme park as any means of an evil plot, but Sonic is too stubborn to listen and investigates, he sees the new Scratch and Grounder, Orbot and Cubot chase some Aliens and Sonic saves them which we later find out they're called Wisps which Eggman is captyuring to creat a mind control device. And as far as for depth the plot goes, that's pretty much it, he captures their home planet and Sonic sets it free along with the other four and then destroys the Theme Park, it's basically a Sonic Vs Eggman plot, and I wouldn't have it any simpler, unlike other plots like Sonic '06 and adventure 2 (My Poor fingers when typing those out DX)

Gameplay


Source

The game is a 3D and 2D platformer, Sonic has the boost formula which was first introduced in Sonic Unleashed, however, unlike Unleashed where you needed Rings to fill it up, you need White Wisps which can only be obtains from running through their capsules, a bit off putting but not too bad as Sonic doesn't really need it, there are four ways to control Sonic in this game, the Wii remote Sideways, the Wii Remote and Nunchuck, the GameCube controller, and the Classic Controller. My Preference in the Wii Remote and Nunkuck but the Classic Controller is okay too. Sonic has some new moves, he has a Double Jump which can happen by pressing A again when not locked onto an enemy, Sonic has the Homing Attack again and has the Stomp move, he doesn't need to find any upgrades for them or anything like that. New to this game is the Red Rings, there are five in each Act which will unlock levels in the Sonic Simulator, it's solely there to get the Chaos Emeralds which will let you be SUPER SONIC! Yep, Super Sonic is now playable in normal Stages Huzzah! But you lose his ability when you use the Wisps, but that doesn't matter

Wisps

image
Source

New to Sonic Colours are the Wisps, as you progress through the planets, you rescue Wisps which can give Sonic new powers, the Cyan Laser Wisp allows him to zip across and more so if he hits the blue Electric rods giving him access to shortcuts, the Yellow Drill Wisp allows Sonic to Drill underground and Underwater and go through tunnels for more shortcuts, the Pink Spike Wisp will turn Sonic into a Pink crystal ball and allowing him to go along walls and ceilings, holding the Boost button will allow him to do the Spindash. The Green Hover Wisp will allow Sonic to hover and he can even Zip along rings doing the Lightspeed dash pressing boost button near a trail, the Blue Cube Wisp will transform Blue Rings into Cubes and Vise Versa, you have to keep Pressing the Wisp Button to transform the cubes and rings, it also doubles as a Screen Nuke, the Orange Rocket Wisp is just that, it launches Sonic in the air and he glides down, simple. the Purple Frenzy Wisp will turn Sonic into a Monster that chomps on anything in it's way, similar to Pac-Man, easy to control and fun in 2D, not much so in 3D. The good thing about these wisp is they're for the most part optional, you it's great that they're not mandatory, so if there was a wisp I didn't like using, I know that I don't have to use it for mandatory sections.

New Voice Acting

Sonic Colours introduces some new voice actors, unfortunately, I only know Sonic's one which is Roger Craig Smith, apparently the woman that voices Tails voiced Kari in the 4Kids version of Digimon....so I hear but who knows? Mike Pollock returns as Eggman which I'm so glad to know, he was the best out of the 4Kids cast of the Sonic crew with Jason Griffith as Sonic a close second, the voice acting seemed a bit off at first, but it does get better with the games going by

Likes

The Graphics hold up really well especially for a Wii Title, the models look as polished as the Unleashed models, the game look Gorgeous, and for the Wii that's impressive because it had Hardware limitation problem, and also (Any surprise) the music is great, especially Aquarium Park.

Dislikes

Some Acts can be a bit boring and the Final Boss seemed a bit easy for my liking, plus the game was rather short.

Overall

Overall, it's a really fun game, a Must Buy, it's one of Sonic's best I'll absolutely say, I'll give it a 9 out of 10

I know I've missed some things out, but tell me, what did you think of Sonic Colours? What Sonic game do you want me to play next? This is your blockchain Entertainer saying Thanks for reading I will see you next time

CHECK OUT MY OTHER GAME POSTS

The Game Outlook : Final Fantasy XV

Game Review : Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 for the Xbox One, PS4, PC and Nintendo Switch

EXCLUSIVE GAME REVIEW : SONIC ADVENTURE 2

Story and Game Review : Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney

GAME REVIEW : GOD EATER

UNDERTALE : THE GAME REVIEW

DQmQbGqMqhL71K8VuYEX6Yfd6CfEAek2GS2NUkV4zUyBy1j.gif

steemit footer gif

Sort:  

I'm from the Nigeria so I'm spelling it Colours, as shows the Box Art, so I don't want ANY comments below saying "It's Colors not Colours" it's how I spell it

hahaha oga boss, you dey correct jior

I tell you before them go say D English no confirm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.07
ETH 3004.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26