Game Review : Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 for the Xbox One, PS4, PC and Nintendo Switch.

in #gaming7 years ago

It's your loyal Minnow here again giving you another review!
Apologies to my supporters who added me to their auto upvote list. I just heard about the zappl and decided to try a post on it. Sorry if that post bore you.

So back to the real deal. Let's talk about this game called Dragon Ball Xenoverse
Here is a list of today's review, Read and Enjoy

  • Story
  • Gameplay
  • Likes
  • Dislikes
  • Overall

image
Source

Now, I'm not an Anime nerd, don't get me wrong, I do WATCH Anime, but I haven't watched the bigger ones for episode length reasons, and Dragon Ball was one of them. I did want to give it a chance, and when Xenoverse 2 released on the Nintendo Switch, I finally had a reason to give it a go without giving out over 300 quid for a different console for the game.

image
Source

Now that I've pulled some all-nighters playing the game and completing the campaign, I can give it a review, so with my Scouter on, I'm giving my review of Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 for the Xbox One, PS4, PC and Nintendo Switch.

Story

You play as Original the Saiyan, do not steal, but in all seriousness you start with a character customization screen, allowing you to choose from Human, Saiyan, Namekian, Frieza and Buu all with their own different abilities.

Anyway, off topic, you control your character whom is a Time Patroller, it's your big day as you're the best of the class and selected to do the Time Missions, which involve going back in time to the fights during Dragon Ball Z and a little bit of Super because Towa, the big evil is using her abilities to re-write history.

The fights go from making sure Raditz dies, to teaming with with SSGSS Goku and Vegeta to fight Golden Frieza and Metal Cooler.

It does also have a bit of a side plot where you see Trunks watching his timeline to where Gohan died in his future and how he tries to cope with it... kinda makes him a bit of a Baby considering the badass he's being portayed as.
The story itself is passable if not coming off as a bit of a Fanfiction (Play it to understand my point), but there are points that it could improve.

During the times you fight, the characters talk in the background, this isn't something to distract the player by any means as it's nice to hear from time to time, but there are moments where you will have them panic because of the opponent you face.
During these moments, another character (Mainly Trunks) will come in to assist you in the fight, which is helpful for some, but I've already got my killer combos and nearly drain the bosses before Trunks even has a chance, there was a point where I had Android 16 to his last bit of health, and then Trunks came in, preventing me from doing the final blow and prolonging the level, and in-turn, stopping me from getting the best rank.
They should have a point where the game works out your progress into the boss and at what point and then decide whether to throw in the help or not, or better yet a difficulty slider.

Gameplay

YouTube channel

With the gameplay of Xenoverse 2, you fight in arenas with full 360 degree control, you fly around and attack your opponent with light and heavy attacks, you have a Jump and a Ki blast attack as well, but holding the top right shoulder button will allow you to use your Ki moves, these range from Gallick Guns, Destructo Discs and even Yamcha's adorable Fake Death; all of these are good when put together in combos and to give you the upper hand in the fights.


Source

To stop you from spamming the Ki moves, you have a Ki meter, each Ki move using one of the limited bars you have, which you can refill by various means, you also have a Stamina meter which you use up when you boost in flight, or teleport about to avoid hits or to rack up combos, which refills in its own accord.

You fly around normally and lock onto your next opponent using the right Shoulder button, you then flick the right stick to switch lock-on targets.

It is a nifty way of switching targets at the flick of a thumb as I mentioned, however if you're so used to changing the camera (Which it will get stuck on stuff), then you will lose to the lock-on system as I have many a times, but that is a minor thing.

Outside of the main campaign is the hubworld, where you can explore and train with many familiar Dragon Ball Z and two Super Characters, and even do quests here and there.
Also in the hubworld are five large time rift areas that all have their own missions in, complete the missions and you get a Time egg, what do they do? Bugger if I know! As I've experienced, my one is glitched as it locked the missions on Planet Namek to constantly repeat over and over again, preventing me from getting THAT Time egg and actually finding out what they bloody do.


Source

And I have also heard that the other consoles have glitches in Planet Name as well where the Dragon Balls keep glitching into walls with their RNG, preventing the player from getting them and completing the mission.

Likes

The story is nice and simple, the voice acting is the FUNi cast and they do the characters really well (Even though I swear I hear one character from Dragon Ball Z Abridged...), the graphical quality is great especially for the Switch, and using the Joy-Cons to perform Ki moves is actually pretty fun to do.

Dislikes

Aside from the Namek Glitch, Xenoverse 2 doesn't really bring a lot to it that doesn't make you feel like you're doing the same stuff over and over again, not to mention the annoyign factor that the minute an opponent hits you, you are stun-locked until they knock you to the floor, with no means of defending yourself.
While I would talk about the music, it's pretty forgettable at most times, you could play a track outside of the Menu theme and I wouldn't recall or hum it, it just didn't stand out to me.

Overall

With the glitch I mentioned and the problems Xenoverse has, it's still an overall okay game, if you're curious then I recommend you pick it up, on any console.
I'll give this game a 7/10

CHECK OUT MY OTHER GAME POSTS

EXCLUSIVE GAME REVIEW : SONIC ADVENTURE 2

Story and Game Review : Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney

Best Games Review : Xenoblade Chronicles

Exclusive Game Review : Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric

DQmQbGqMqhL71K8VuYEX6Yfd6CfEAek2GS2NUkV4zUyBy1j.gif

steemit footer gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72