Unpopular Opinion! The Witcher 3 isn't that great!

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Now I fully expect to get attacked for even writing that title and I fully expect (and want) people to tell me why I am wrong. I am not saying that TW3 is bad, because it definitely is not bad. However, I just can't understand how it is that people and professional critics pretty much universally call this one of the greatest games ever made and how it is gaming perfection.

60c724a052275a049d857d53957dc38e9347742f52372bb956d992b43efa8fb5_product_card_v2_mobile_slider_639.jpg
source

I am very late to the party but that is because I generally will not pay the initial price of $60 for a new game. I picked up TW3 for around $8 a month ago.

To be fair, I am not very far into the game. I only recently finished the Bloody Baron part of the story and I realize there is about 70 or 80 hours more of the game remaining - I really don't think I am going to end up playing all that and here are a few of the reasons why.

Cutscenes and their associated loading times

I like a good cutscene, but I don't like when said cutscenes happen at every friggin available avenue sometimes so often that I feel like I am watching a movie where I occassionally control a dude walking around.

out_of_the_shadows.jpg
source

Some of these scenes are so long that you have to watch a "loading" meter for what seems like an eternity, then find yourself skipping through most of the dialogue anyway (well, this was the case for me - because i wan't to play the game, not watch it.) In some particularly frustrating instances, you wait for the load to a cutscene, listen to it for 10 minutes, FINALLY get released from said cutscene only to return to control your character on to walk down a hallway or something trivial like that and then ANOTHER cutscene gets triggered. It's too much!

I don't pretend to understand why some games take longer to load than others but when you die in this game... OMG does it take ages to load your latest save game.

Combat - is this really all there is to it?

Even the super-fanbois of this franchise will admit that the combat is a bit lacking in this title. While I am certain that it gets more involved later on, basically it is a situation of light attack, dodge, dodge, light attack, use sign, dodge, light attack and so on.

witchermaybe.png
source

There's gonna be people that tell me I am doing it wrong or that i need to "git gud" or whatever, but most of the combat is going to end up being close quarters combat since the crossbow is damn near useless (i've heard if you activate the last perk this changes but I'm not gonna do that.)

Parrying is both OP and useless at the same time. I've been surrounded by enemies simply holding down the block / parry button and none of them can hit me, even if they are behind me. Then there are other enemies that you can't parry at all even if they are normal sized (because it is understandable that you couldn't parry a strike from a bear.)

Also, running away in combat is an exercise in frustration. Geralt insists on backing away from an enemy slowly and the only way i've found to get away is to roll away like a lunatic thus activating an acceptable distance to allow proper running.

There doesn't appear to be any option to take on a ranged combat style like mage or ranger, you have to get in there with your sword even if you don't like that style of play.

Item degradation

I get it, this is more realistic because over time any weapon or armor used in combat is going to need some form of maintenance. After a while the effectiveness of your weapons will diminish and eventually become unusable if you don't repair them. This incorporates carrying your own tools or going to a town to pay someone else to do it for you.

AJHSGu3.png
source

Of course this involves a miniature dialogue between you and the blacksmith that no matter how many times you have been to the same person, you are forced to watch.

Maybe i am being nitpicky here, but I find this entire aspect of the game to be annoying AF.

Leveling up is a gruelingly slow process

Even very early on in the game it takes absolute ages to advance in levels and as you would expect this takes even longer the further you go into the game. Seeing as how getting a higher level is the main method of advancing your skills you have to wait a really long time to advance the "skill tree."

Lots of running around

While the game is meant to be open world and the map is absolutely massive, there is a ton of "get on your horse an go waaaaaaay TF over there!" only to arrive at a house, not encountering a single battle unless you wanted to find one, and then talk to a person inside that house who sends you waaaaaay TF to the other side of the map - of course there are at LEAST 2 cutscenes, some that involve boobies, mixed into this process.

thewitcher3wildvelenandnovigradmap.jpg
source
It is friggin massive and this is just ONE of the areas

The map is mostly filled with nothing too. I'm not saying that there needs to be an adventure every step of the way, but when you charge through for 5 minutes on your horse and don't see anything the entire time - well, what are we really doing here? It isn't as bad as the car rides in Final Fantasy 15 or anything but if there is nothing there, and there isn't ever going to be anything there.... what's the point?

Sure there are easily destroyed bandit camps every now and then and also monster nests that can eliminate with a bomb but these are completely optional for the most part.

The person you are rescuing is much more powerful than you are

A large portion of the game is spent on looking for a woman named Ciri. While I haven't played the entire game she does seem to be the main focus.

Skellige_Thin_Ice_Caranthir_Ciri_d.png
source

Rather than just talk about her the game puts you in control of certain events that you or someone else is meant to be thinking about or talking about that happened to her. It is at this point that you use the same controls that you would for Geralt (the Witcher you normally control) only to discover that she is significantly stronger than you are. She faces the same enemies that you struggle with and dispatches them with relative ease. Who's rescuing who here? She was so much more powerful that it makes you a bit disappointed to return to Geralt.

Load times

I touched base on this before but one of my biggest motivations to avoid dying in combat is not fear of game progress (since you can save pretty much anytime you want as long as you aren't currently in combat.) I don't want to die because if I do i am going to be presented with a loading screen that lasts long enough for me to make a sandwich and eat half of it before it is done.

15501433811996.jpg
source
go ahead and get used to looking at this... unless of course you can promise to never die


Summary

This game, isn't as great as people say it is in my opinion.

So go ahead and tear into me because I know that this game is revered and loved by a vast majority of the gaming community and I guess I'll just have to be one of those people that doesn't get it. I don't feel terribly compelled to carry on in my quest because if I want to watch a movie, i'll do that. On a side note: The voice acting is supurb in this game, but that doesn't change the fact that i don't want a constant narrative - I want to play a game.... because i bought a game.

So far the game is really disappointing to me because i was so excited after hearing how "gaga" my friends are about it. Tell me what I'm doing wrong folks!

Sort:  

I don't know, I generally find cut scenes the most interesting part of any game. I think story mode is creative, intelligent, inspiring and sometimes, on rare occasions, even mesmerizing. Hack and slash, on the other hand, as much as it can be satisfying in its own right, is a mechanical and repetitive experience. If I am playing a game just so I can figure out the right combination of buttons to press I might as well do something else. You could argue that cut scenes are also escapism in a way, but I like to think it is at least a higher form of escapism.

I also miss the good old steemit. I hope I return one day.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Now I fully expect to get attacked for even writing that title
Not really. There are a bunch of people who don't find TW3 a great game, to those who hate it with passion. Not everything is for everyone.

About you being invincible when holding down the block button, there might be some problems with your game (or mine).
Because I did that too and died because some lowly bandit hit me with an axe from behind XD And it didn't take long to load the save files either. I didn't play with some Thanos equivalent of gaming rig, mind you, it's quite an old laptop even when I played the game.

For me TW3 is in my top 5 fave game list but yeah, it's not the most perfect game there is. Like the dialogue options mechanic, which has been a little problem for games with that type of gameplay (Fallout and Elder Scrolls series, Dragon Age, etc). But I find it okay as long as the dialogue are amusing/interesting/not hollow and done with great VA.

I don't know about you, but I give TW3...

9 Glitching Roaches out of 10 IGN reviews.
"This game has a little lesbomancy for everyone. But too much water."
-EA

great follow up. I am playing on a PS4. Years ago i did everything on PC and had a massive gaming rig that NASA would have been proud of, but i got tired of keeping up with the ever-changing system req's.

The blocking / parrying, like most things in all games has a lot to do with your level and how much you bumped up that skill, which i had focused on that really early.

I'm still playing this now because I don't have anything else in mind to move on to, I might take a break though and take advantage of the 2 free games i got with my PS membership and then forget how to play TW3, try to go back to it, get frustrated, and then just never play it again.

Nice review score BTW, very amusing.

After playing Witcher 2 for a short time, I don't think I would have even considered spending the money on Witcher 3. That is a pretty awesome deal you got. I always had a problem spending $50 to $60 on a game when I had my PS2. It is just insane how expensive they are. The cut scenes in this one sound horrible!

Witcher 3 is an amazing game.
There is nothing close to it in RPG genre.

Worth every penny.

Posted using Partiko Android

Like I said, I bought Witcher 2 on my PC when it was on sale in the Steam store. There were just too many controls and "canned" battle sequences that you had to complete before actually being able to play the game. I found it too difficult and too constraining.

Witcher 3 is much better in every way.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fanboi. 😛

Posted using Partiko Android

Skyrim is my favorite so far, although I haven't played The Witcher 3 that much. But Skyrim with all the available mods (Enderal is a masterpiece) is easily one of the greatest game of this decade.

No....

Let me tell you why youre wrong... Haha

Skyrim is great and all but the main story is crap. Kill a dragon.
The freedom it provides isnt on level with Morrowind.
The world building isnt on level of morrowind.
The mob variety is extremely poor.

What... Trolls, wolfs, humans, dragons.
No.
Witcher 3 is superior in absolutely every way.

Posted using Partiko Android

Have you played Skyrim with all the DLCs? What about the mods? Enderal is a true masterpiece, I find it hard to believe this was a job of small indie developers, plus being a mod it is free.

Im talking about the base game.
Ive played some DLCs. Mods are a different thing. Theyre not part of the game.

Posted using Partiko Android

Base Skyrim isn't even 50% of what Skyrim has to offer thanks to its thriving mod community.

Theyre not part of the game.

Some of they expand the game adding new missions, land, characters, storylines... I don't mean mods that simply change textures and graphics I am talking about mods that are more similar to DLCs.

If you haven't play Enderal (an independent mod with its own executable and the game is AAA quality) you are depriving yourself of one of the most epic storylines in RPGs, I can see why some people say Enderal's main quest is better than Skyrim's. Plus it is free.

Just look at the Steam reviews or check any other review out there, it is a masterpiece https://store.steampowered.com/app/933480/Enderal_Forgotten_Stories/

If we take into consideration the mod community, The Elder Scroll has no competitors. Besides, Enderal should be considered a different and independent game rather than an Skyrim mod although technically it is a mod.

Either way, my plan is to reinstall The Witcher 3 in the coming months and enjoy it :)

Have you seen the videos about Cyberpunk 2077? It looks awesome.

Cant say im thrilled with cyberpunk for now. Havent seen much outside the very familiar aesthetic and themes.

I fear the world will lack creativity and new ideas.
Witcher 3 was great because of its unique world and eastern european lore.
Cyberpunk seems to reminisce of Alita Battleangel and doesnt seem to showcase anything deeper going into the core of human nature.
I dont want another Deus Ex human revolution.

Posted using Partiko Android

Witcher 2 and Witcher 3 is like going from GTA 2 to GTA 3... there is no comparison...

These developers take major leaps between releases, Cyberpunk 2077 looks breathtaking.

I will definitely take your word for it. I really enjoyed playing Fallout 3 and I have been wanting to buy Fallout 4 when it goes on sale, but I just haven't gotten around to it yet.

When it comes to Bethesda I am the biggest The Elder Scrolls fan ^^

But CD Projekt with the Witcher 3 and what they have shown about Cyberpunk 2077 has definitely proved it's one of the most exciting studios in the gaming world.

I will have to check it out.

Find me another game where you can slay fair maidens pussies as hard as this one and maybe, just maybe, I would agree.

God of war? I hadn't considered that angle. It certainly is a check in favor of TW3 😆

I can't properly defend the Witcher 3 right now because I only played it for a few days months ago, but I didn't have much time available so I deleted it.

I would like to ask you what RPG is better than the Witcher 3 and why?

In my case, my favorite game of all times is Skyrim, and for the past few months I have been playing the best Skyrim mod which is a game on its own called Enderal. The Elder Scrolls saga is simply the best, but I can see the potential in The Witcher 3.

I will probably reinstall this game in December just in time to enjoy this universe with both the game and the upcoming Netflix series :D

Skyrim definitely- you could customize your character in massive ways: one of the things i am having the hardest time with in Witcher is the absence of ranged abilities - that is the style of play that i prefer and for it to simply not be there at all, is pretty irritating to me. I TW3 everyone is going to end up with basically the same character, no matter how they approach the game.

I realize that I have a chip on my shoulder because of the cutscenes. Almost any game with a crap ton of cutscenes is going to piss me off - especially if said cutscenes take friggin ages to load.

I would also say Fallout New Vegas appeals to me more because if you go on a wander in that game there is a good chance you are going to encounter some epic side story rather than just a pack of wolves or a bandit camp that is done in a few mins. I remember getting lost in New Vegas and then wandering into a completely optional side story of epic proportions.

I also believe Final Fantasy 12 is a better game but these two titles are so different in scale that perhaps it isn't even fair to compare them.

Basically, the lack of customization in combat, the fact that there is no "ranged" option, and the excessive load times kind of kill TW3 for me.

and yes, i knew i would be in the minority when i first wrote this. The world wouldn't be very much fun if we all thought the same :)

I clicked on this expecting the series review until I saw gaming and thought, this is not my kinda post. I don't do gaming 🤷‍♀️

There is series called 'witcher?'

Posted using Partiko Android

I disagree, the game is remarkable

yeah, i expected most people would feel that way. :)

I'm close to the end of The Witcher and have been playing it on the hard level, Deathmarch. It was hard for the first 10 levels and I still die a lot if I dont plan attacks properly.

Are you playing on pussy level? ;) I loved the story and the Baron one was great.. that's where you are.

Did you play Gwent? It reminded me of the side card game in the old Might and Magic games.

I guess it's not for everyone but it hooked me from the start.

yeah, i expected to be in the minority on this. I have a very low patience threshold for what i consider to be excessive loading in a game. I'm playing it on whatever the default is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56796.26
ETH 2497.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23