Idioms game (SBD prizes) (number 2)

in #games6 years ago (edited)

DQmY2FMB2djEhQ1WAqpwnC45pnKqCoHExKpRD9QyF7g5B4U.jpeg

So, it is the middle of the night. I'm waiting for the baby to go back to sleep (she has a fever). I'm too tired to write a proper long post, but I might give this idioms game another crack.

So the rules are simple, from the picture and a literal translation of the Dutch, see if you can guess the meaning of the idiom. There are three, first in will win a 0.002 SBD prize but the funniest (at my discretion, it doesn't have to be awarded) will take a 0.005 SBD prize. So, to be clear there are 2 prizes for each picture/idiom.

And, because it is the middle of the night, I now realise that I can't read the cards in pitch black darkness. DUH! I will have to finish this in the morning!

IMG_20180217_204755.jpg

Boter bij de vis
Butter by the fish

IMG_20180217_204804.jpg

Het gaat van een leien dakje
It goes from a slate roof

IMG_20180217_204748.jpg

Bepakt en bezakt
Packed and sacked

Enjoy, every language has it's own idioms that are quite odd for speakers of other languages!

DQmXDFhqQrKJrKavGxmhTuLaF2iR3JkZKJzPPj4vFK6Pkvu_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I’m dutch, I’ll except myself, as it’s otherwise too easy. Leuk boekje!

You could try for the funny prize!

Why team Australia? You are dutch, no?

No, I am Australian but I live in Netherlands. We really like it here so we stayed. My kids go to a Dutch school, so I've been busy trying to learn Dutch as well as possible so I can try to keep up with them!

My husband is English, and has been in the Netherlands since 1999. However, he still finds it hard to speak Dutch, as everybody speaks English. We also have a lot if expat friends, who, like you, stayed. Speak English to your children though, as it is your mother tongue and you can express emotions the best in it. But I bet you do.

Yes, my wife is also Australian, so we have English at home. But we are not Shell expats, so we can't afford to live in a bubble apart from the rest of the country. So, both of us try to learn as best as we can.

Of course, idioms are particularly difficult in any non native language, I'm always just taking them literally...

Lol. Well I think it’s better not to be part of Shell, and part of the normal world in the Netherlands.
Here are a view more that I love to translate to English speaking people.
The monkey comes out of the sleeve.
The aap komt out de mouw.
On that bicycle!
Op die fiets!

I need to think of funny explanations of above though! I just can’t, too tired. You might have a young one that can’t sleep, my ten year old kept me up last night, and I’m just not used to it anymore, I’m off to bed.

Weltrusten!

  1. Similar to having a trick up your sleeve? A hidden trick or trump card?

  2. Move it!

Lmao
The monkey comes out of the sleeve ... :0) :0)

Lmao
What a great idea for a contest.
As I’m Belgian, I speak Flemish, which is related to Dutch as American English is related to British English, so I can’t play...

I’ve just read you’re learning Dutch, Bengy? I’ve been told it is one of the most difficult languages in the world to learn.
I hope we van soon have a conversation in Dutch

@hefziba en @bifilarcoil: altijd leuk om andere Nederlandstalige mensen tegen te komen hier om SteemIt :0)

You could try for the larger funny prize instead! Well, if you know of people who are just starting to learn Dutch, this could be fun for them!

Ja, ik vind Nederlands moeilijk om te leren, maar ik ben heel slecht met talen. Ik doe mijn best, ik kan niet meer doen!

I started going through the tutorial for The Sexy Brutale game, but thought I had better spend a little bit of time trying some of the other games in the newbiegames initiative as well :D

  1. I think there is an universal agreement on the fact that butter makes things taste better, so this probably means having something right where you need it is where it is useful.
  2. Looks like it can only end up in an undesirable situation, so I think it means getting into an expected and bad situation.
  3. I can't make head or tail of this one, so I am going to guess it means that you are in a very tight position where you can't move at all (which is how I imagine what it would feel like to be packed and sacked).

Let me know how it goes with the Sexy Brutale. It's on my backlog of games to play properly...

Decent guesses, I'll let you know at post payout!

I have absolutely no idea about any of them tbh.

I will go with:

  1. Don't keep food next to a fish as it will smell fishy or maybe be careful were you keep stuff?
  2. Something about if you set things up right bad things wont happen as in slate roofs don't leak
  3. Its better to be packed as you can walk (as in maybe quit a job?) but if your sacked you have to go where your placed?

Fun game anyway can't wait to see the answers!

Ha ha, no problem. I'm trying to learn Dutch and I always get these wrong!

Anyway decent entry. I'll let everyone know the answers at the post payout!

Wow, one hell of a contest! Ill give it a shot

  1. ummm... I dont like fish, maybe you cook it in butter? everythings better with butter! I have no idea on this one! :/
  2. easy going, smooth sailing
  3. Ready to go, packed up and ready to go
    Ohh shucks... Im not good with other languages... lol

I'm also bad at languages, but idioms are the worst, they never seem to mean what they say! When the post pays out, I'll let you know how you went! For the record, I didn't get any of these!

LOL... and youre actually learning the language... Im screwed! :D

Haha, learning the language doesn't help! It only provides the literal meaning, which is always wrong!

Yea, I suppose thats true! LOL

Awesome! Thank you @bengy!

Have a go at the next one, bigger prizes!

Im gonna try! lol

Hoi! I lived in the Netherlands for a little bit, but I never picked up much of the Dutch language besides "lekker" and "gezellig." Thought I'd try out your game though! Let's see...

  1. Boter bij de vis: maybe this is something that's very tempting...that would lure in someone the way you would normally lure a fish except instead of a worm, you can use butter?

  2. Het gaat van een leien dakje: I'm guessing something that goes from a slate roof is something that won't stick? It tries to stick, but eventually slides off. Like something you're trying to learn perhaps, i.e. a new skill?

  3. Bepakt en bezakt: This one seems pretty straightforward. If something is packed and sacked, it's ready to go! Right?

Okay, well, I tried :) Doei!

Hoi hoi! Glad to have an entrant! Spread the word, they don't have to speak Dutch. In fact it's more fun if they don't! If more people play, I can start increasing the prizes as well! I'll let you know at post payout how you went.

Omg! Superleuk :) dankjewel!

Have a go at the next one, bigger prizes!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hi Bengy,

De koe bij de hoorns vatten. Does your book have a pic that goes with that?

I will check later when I get home. It's a card game!

Lol, I didn’t think of that one. Translated that would be: taking the cow by the horns...

bij de pakken neer zitten..
leg die maar eens uit aan sinterklaas. :-)

or ehm..

een hart onder de riem steken.

Spijkers op laag water zoeken

I'll try another tomorow...

Ik was op zoek naar een aantal leuke, maar kon er zo direct geen bedenken. De jouwe zijn echt wel grappig.
Putting someone a heart under the belt
and
Looking for nails on the ebb (??)
🤣😂

hehehe
one for the politicians:
Wiens brood men eet, diens taal men spreekt.

Daar komt te aap uit de mouw .
hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63