Sort:  

You could try for the funny prize!

Why team Australia? You are dutch, no?

No, I am Australian but I live in Netherlands. We really like it here so we stayed. My kids go to a Dutch school, so I've been busy trying to learn Dutch as well as possible so I can try to keep up with them!

My husband is English, and has been in the Netherlands since 1999. However, he still finds it hard to speak Dutch, as everybody speaks English. We also have a lot if expat friends, who, like you, stayed. Speak English to your children though, as it is your mother tongue and you can express emotions the best in it. But I bet you do.

Yes, my wife is also Australian, so we have English at home. But we are not Shell expats, so we can't afford to live in a bubble apart from the rest of the country. So, both of us try to learn as best as we can.

Of course, idioms are particularly difficult in any non native language, I'm always just taking them literally...

Lol. Well I think it’s better not to be part of Shell, and part of the normal world in the Netherlands.
Here are a view more that I love to translate to English speaking people.
The monkey comes out of the sleeve.
The aap komt out de mouw.
On that bicycle!
Op die fiets!

I need to think of funny explanations of above though! I just can’t, too tired. You might have a young one that can’t sleep, my ten year old kept me up last night, and I’m just not used to it anymore, I’m off to bed.

Weltrusten!

  1. Similar to having a trick up your sleeve? A hidden trick or trump card?

  2. Move it!

Nope.

  1. Finally the real agenda/ or intention of somebody gets revealed.
  2. now I get it!

Lmao
The monkey comes out of the sleeve ... :0) :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63