IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I have been a member since August 2016 but I have not been an active poster. This can be said about me and all of my social media accounts. I mainly just log on and spend some time reading through other peoples posts, sometimes picking up some knowledge, sometimes not picking up any (just killing the time). I don't often "like" or "upvote" anything but I always just enjoy the read.
Somehow Steemit has slowly been changing my habits. A good friend of mine (@lukestokes) has been on Steemit and raving about it for a long time. He is the reason I even started to use it (Feel free to check out his stream, he is heavy into online blogging and has a ton of great posts out there). So I slowly started upvoting things that I had ready and like and today I found myself wondering why I haven't been posting anything myself. Getting people active and involved was the purpose behind the Steem and it is starting to perform its work on me! My habits are being changed.
The idea is to get members involved. Get them actively engaged to help support and promote the good content that is out there! So if you aren't posting and you aren't upvoting then you aren't helping power the system.

The only question now is "what will I post about". I currently live in Canada where we obviously drink a lot of beer and play a lot of hockey (I do both). In fact I played a lot of sports growing up, soccer, basketball, volleyball and Track and Field. I studied at the University of Pennsylvania so I did live in the USA for 4 short years, luckily Donald Trump was not the president at the time. I work in the Medical device industry and have since 2001. I have experience with 5S and Lean manufacturing. I have a 5 year old son who studies at a french only school. I own a pop up trailer and go on multiple camping trips throughout the summer. I am Catholic and went to Catholic school growing up. I am good at math and computers and pretty much any other electronic device. I like to attempt fixing things myself at least once which makes for some really great bad stories. I like to read, watch movies and tv, and even play video games (because my son wants to, not me). So pretty much my posts could end up being about... anything.

Here's to finding out!
IMG_6405B.JPG

Sort:  

Your welcome, we will be waiting for those post, i am sure they will be entertaining.

wow...lovely intro...

seems we are similar a bit..i am a catholic too and went to seminary...and love canada a lot....hope to work on my phd in canada...lovely family you v been blessed with!
Always remember that family is first as such read up this short story on family versus office from @kenhudoy and comment your thoughts on it... follow for more...
best regards great stemian as we take steemit to greatest heights...

Welcome i am new aswell i hope you enjoy it here.

@dobsdies
welcome dear...wish you success as well here in steemit...

Welcome to Steem @dadview I have sent you a tip

Welcome. I'm originally from southeast Pennsylvania, but didn't attend the U of PA.

Nice intro .Welcome to Steemit .. keep the posts coming and I'll be sure to follow along ... offering my unparalleled nuggets of wisdom along the way ;)

So glad you started posting and that you commented on one of my posts to say hello. :)

A popup trailer sounds awesome! My business partner for 10+ years has a 40 foot RV and travels all over the place with his family. He's currently in Whistler, Canada.

@corinnestokes and I go tent camping with the kids often, though it's been a little while. We'll be camping again in August for the full eclipse that will be here in Nashville.

Thanks for the shoutout. I think because my username was in parentheses, I didn't get a notification (I think that's why it's not clickable also).

It's been a long time since we roomed together at PENN. Feels like a lifetime away. :)

I will ensure that I space out the parentheses next time.
Pop up trailer is great because you still have the tent camping feel. You dont just hang out inside the entire time like a larger trailer (with AC and a tv). Yet you get to sleep in a bed and up off the ground, a much better nights sleep than on an air mattress inside a tent. It rained during our last trip and we just popped out the awning and didn't have to worry about everything getting soaked. We got a great used one for $2500 Canadian.
This is also a great place and time to play board games!

Darryl

I was pretty much the same way before steemit. I would just scroll facebook and maybe share the occasional article but I would never really post anything about myself. I can't say that I post a whole lot on steemit either with only about 600 posts (including comments) since last July but I'm certainly addicted to steemit and you start to get a lot of ideas for posts after a while. Soon you will have too many post ideas and not enough time to make the posts.

Welcome to Steemit @dadview. I too am here because of @lukestokes passion for all things crypto. Like you, I'm not much of a social media guy but I love Steemit. I've followed you and will be looking out for more posts in the future.

Thanks.
I have also followed you. Looking forward to it.

Darryl

Welcome to Steemit, @dadview!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71