Spicy Sauce-ah, Itsa Italian (best Italian accent): Fruits and Veggies Monday

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Fall is finally here in Los Angeles, California and I’m happy to report that we had our first rainy day. Sure, this was a few days ago and it only lasted about a full day and night but it rained and it counts.

My husband and I turned out all of our lights and watched the lightning bolts illuminate the sky and then our living room. It was really neat. Did you know that if you count (one one thousand, two one thousand, and so on) after each strike of lightning to when you hear thunder you have the amount of miles away the lightning bolt struck? It might be a myth but still a fun storm activity to partake in with someone. At least it kept us entertained 🤷🏼‍♀️

Because of all this fall-y-ness I decided to try and make my own sauce! Yes, the always coveted, traditional Sunday dinner, Italian sauce. Since it was my first time I didn’t have a clue as to how it would turn out, but with #fruitsandveggiesmonday around the corner I knew I had to document it. Thanks @lenasveganliving for keeping my menu inspired :)

31B484CC-B3C4-4080-95E6-1345ECF071BD.jpeg

Spicy Sauce w/Brown Rice Spaghetti & Garlic Foccacia Bread

Side note: this recipe is gluten free, dairy free and all yum.

First, I made a trip to ol’ TJs, for those of you who don’t know, that is code for Trader Joes, and grabbed about 12 organic vine tomatoes. This recipe will call for a lot of onion and garlic as well. Be prepared to have people telepathically ask you for an invite to dinner with this shopping list. It gets a few yearning looks.…

Ingredients:

3 Cups white onion (chopped)
10-12 cloves garlic (minced)
12-14 tomatoes (chopped)
1.5 Cups basil (chopped)
1.5 Tsp crushed red pepper or flakes
1-2 Tbsp thyme (fresh)
1/4 Cup olive oil
1-2 Tbsp oregano (dried)
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Optional: coconut sugar and cornstarch

02947C76-C0E9-4AF4-B1BD-219B00E37EEF.jpeg

Grab your goggles because these onions are hurtful. Why do onions always have to be so mean? They must have missed the day in class when we learned to “treat others as you’d want them to treat you”.

Fine! Two can play this game, I’ll just chop you into smithereens (if my autocorrect would stop trying to make it say ‘smother ones’).

EBA5521B-B26B-4759-AF21-8040901F7FD5.jpeg

Do the same to that garlic while you’re at it.

C90F29AA-9793-4A8D-A7A8-ED4E6B659065.jpeg

Your prep should look something like this with the chopped basil, thyme and minced garlic. Don’t be afraid to add a clove or two extra of garlic either. If you’re like me then everything can do with a little more garlique (that’s French for garlic 😉).

707C9D8C-E875-4236-8BDE-E5CD80383942.jpeg

I also chopped my tomatoes and set them on a plate waiting to join the party. I think I ended up using 12 tomatoes but don’t hesitate to add a couple more if yours aren’t as juicy.

174718A7-C77A-423A-BC7B-EB01CB8A6CE3.jpeg

Starting with olive oil heated over medium heat throw in your garlic until nice and fragrant. If you don’t have a human fragrant detector (aka husband who yells “what cha cookin, that smells good”) then count on about 3-4 minutes. Careful not to burn anything.

EE582BBB-7695-4EC3-90D6-FB532CD74159.jpeg

Add your onion and let them sweat it out for a bit, until somewhat translucent. This should set off your fragrance alarm too. I like to sweat mine on lower heat for a longer time (about 10-12 minutes) because it creates more dimension, in my opinion.

E1DD9DC8-686C-49A9-A9FD-578DF183D1F3.jpeg

Mix in your pepper flakes, thyme, oregano and black pepper.

27E32E03-1832-4A9F-B9B5-EA98872090CD.jpeg

Then add your big guns; chopped tomato.

86696814-7339-43BB-94AC-1B554555577C.jpeg

Stir everything well making sure it’s all mixed up. Bring the pot to a simmer and let it cook for about an hour. Try to refrain from putting your lid back on the pot because the sauce won’t reduce if you do. I learned this the hard way, like a bozo 🤦🏼‍♀️.

While that’s metamorphosizing into sauce lets start on the Garlic Focaccia Bread.

1533DCF8-1EBF-4ED2-9732-2C69D1E318A8.jpeg

Easy peasy, your start up will look like this. You won’t be sorry making this bread. It’s gluten free, yeast free, pretty easy and pretty yum, plus it sops up spaghetti sauce like no other.

Ingredients:

2 Cups GF flour
2 Tsp baking powder
1/2 Tsp sea salt
1.5 Cups sparkling water
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp maple syrup (pure)

Garlic Herb Oil

2 Tbsp olive oil
3-4 garlic cloves (minced)
1 Tsp oregano
1 Tsp basil
1/4 Tsp red pepper flakes
1/4 Tsp sea salt

Pre-heat oven to 450F and grease a casserole dish, cookie sheet or something similar.

42A2DE01-B42A-49E4-8BAC-29B90D85D56F.jpeg

Chop your garlic and mix it with olive oil, basil, oregano, salt and pepper flakes and set aside.

17A90A76-6CBD-4A2E-905B-DD1E2E083D60.jpeg

Mix your flour, baking powder and sea salt in a medium-large bowl. Add olive oil, maple syrup and sparkling water and whisk until just mixed together.

CE52E8B2-231B-47A0-A436-0C4246604382.jpeg

Now pour the dough into your freshly greased pan and don’t worry if it’s really watery. I imagine that when using different gluten free flours you’ll get different consistencies of dough.

Brush your Garlic Herbed Oil on top of your bread and don’t be afraid to mix it in a little. Then pop it in the oven for 22 minutes.

I’ve made this bread quite a few times now and have used a casserole dish to get a thicker bread, used different flours to play with the consistency of the dough, yet I still liked the first bread the best. It’s thinner than you may be expecting but doesn’t lack in flavor.

5AEB293A-15EC-407D-B813-23809C680640.jpeg

It kind of came out looking like an herbed garlic crisp-bread. Whatever, it was yum!

2BA0B21B-7916-464F-8EAA-0CD8BB773002.jpeg

Half way through simmering your sauce, add the basil and mix it all together. This is about the time I realized my sauce wasn’t reducing because I had the lid on. No worries, I just gave it another 45 minutes. This let’s all of the flavors really come together.

When your sauce has been reducing for an hour check the flavor and the thickness making sure you’re getting what you want. Sometimes the tomatoes can get a bit acidic if reduced too quickly so you’ll want to add coconut sugar 1 tablespoon at a time until it tastes to your liking.

If your sauce is having a difficult time thickening up, mix 1 tablespoon cornstarch in 1 tablespoon water and add that to your sauce. Only do this right before taking the sauce off the heat though, you don’t want it to thin out again by over simmering the corn starch.

3287800E-AC35-4265-AC79-92E678E173B9.jpeg

Taaadaaaa! Damn… that’s a lot of sauce. I know, I know, I got a little overzealous but freezing some for later has proven to be a genius move.

23DE2B28-DFC2-43B1-AF0D-207E265ED48A.jpeg

With only two pots I had to transfer the sauce into something else so I could cook the spaghetti noodles. No biggie, it made for a great photo.

In my smaller pot I whipped up some lentils to act as the meat to the dish.

B5395F1E-D66D-41E6-BC12-D5B115A710DF.jpeg

When all was said and done, there was a sh**t ton of dishes and sauce plus flour everywhere but the meal was perfect! The perfect spaghetti for the perfect rainy day. @dandays thank you for getting the dishes 😘.

Thank you all for stopping by Italian night at the
dan-vida residence (that’s a hybrid of @puravidaville and @dandays in case you didn’t know). It’s always a pleasure hanging out on Monday’s.

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

This is about the time I realized my sauce wasn’t reducing because I had the lid on.

I don't understand the situation .. but I laugh out loud reading your post and a bit distracted from understand the sauces.. LOL but the sauce's look delicious and yummy... thanks God, I have that kind of alarm too... :D thanks @puravidaville

Haha… good, I’m glad someone is laughing. Sometimes I think “what if people don’t get the funny I’m making”, but if one person gets it then it’s a success. Thanks @cicisaja for stopping by my friend.

LOL.. your posts and comments always fun to read and enjoyable, you really have a good sense of humor, I still remember you use the paper wax instead of aluminium foil to make that finnish bread before.. LOL.. Gosh, since the first line I'm thinking about what kind of funny things she would made this time... and I found it.

Hahaha… that’s so cool. Thank you for saying that. Yea, I didn’t know that wax paper was different from parchment paper and was liable to set my house on fire. Haha… live and learn I suppose. 🤷🏼‍♀️

you are most welcome, that's why I said I really want to read your post about your adventure in Indonesia next month... I know how fun it will be and what's the new fruits you'll find while I haven't found it yet.

Remember how the dishwasher ruined the vegan-parm and it’s real easy to replace because they sell it everywhere?

It’s refreshing to see you combine your cooking skills, writing skills, intelligence and humor all together in a big pot of healthy food.

Yea, we are still facing the repercussions of losing that parm. Oh well, we could probably always get it at Smelsons (said in my most nasally voice).

Ahhhh, you are the sweetest babe! I love you more today than yesterday and tomorrow is approaching fast. Muah

Hi puravidaville,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Good lookin out @curie!

Thanks @curie- made my day :)

I've always loved thunder! When I was a little girl, I'd stand by the window and stare the lighting for hours, it's really fascinating and calming in a way.

To your recipes, I can imagine how great your house was smelling when you were preparing this! The sauce must be delicious, but oh my goodness, that foccacia bread! I don't care if it looks a bit like a crisp-bread, it's bread with herbs and garlic, and who doesn't love yummy bread? Those crazy people...

All those 426 votes (!!) you've gotten are well-earned, great job @puravidaville, you're amazing! :)

Thank you so so much @jasmink! The bread really did turn out with a great flavor. I think all of the gluten free flours I use really change the consistency of the breads I make 🤷🏼‍♀️ Oh well, I still like them. Perfect for dipping in sauce-ah :)

When the sky puts on a show like lightning and thunder, it’s difficult not to be mesmerized. I’ve had a few people from around the world tell me they too count between seeing lightning and hearing thunder; so neat.

Thank you for the ongoing support my friend! It’s always awesome getting a visit from curie, but it’s amazing getting great feedback from your friends :)

I've actually never baked with gluten free flour but I've heard that many people struggle with it. However, I think you're rocking it, and in the end, all what matters is that you like the things you bake. :)

I also count between seeing lightning and hearing thunder, it's something my parents taught me when I was a child, and now it's just a habit. :)

Yea, the flours are different than all purpose white flours but so far I actually like them. Sometimes things turn out different than expected but not bad. This way I know I’m not saturating my system with gluten so I like that.

The thunder counting is awesome! My friend from South Africa does this with his family, my husband did it as a little kid, I did it as a little kid, you do it all the way over in Finland… so cool how we are all connected. :)

We do the same counting, but with kilometers :)

I prepare similar sauce for my pasta. Try to add some fennel powder next time. It gives it a completely different experience. Very nice :)

I would usually not combine pasta with bread (personal preference) but I can imagine eating this delicious foccacia separately :)

Congratulations on your curie vote! You deserve it for this delicious autumn meal!

Thanks @delishtreats! The sauce was so much fun to make I made another batch within the week. Fennel powder huh? I’ll have to remember that. The bread was actually a last minute decision and because it was gluten free I successfully diluted myself into believing it’s basically as good as a vegetable. Haha… I know it’s a little heavy but couldn’t pass up the opportunity to sop up sauce with this garlicky herby deliciousness.

I think it’s so fascinating how so many of my Steemit friends from around world count lightning and thunder storms. Mine are in miles but yours and a few others I know are in kilometers. It’s very cool! We are all so connected :)

Oh, no, no, it's not about being heavy or not.. I'm a little bit particular in combinations that I eat :D Bread doesn't go together with pasta for me. I would rather use less sauce that eat it with bread. I'm a little crazy about texture and don't put some things to my mouth :) BUT I would absolutely enjoy your bread on a different occasion :)

Yes, it's funny how the same is done in Europe and in the US :) so far away and so close!

I get it. I just stopped eating rice and beans together. In fact, I eat either rice or beans with vegetables. In my experience vegetables go with everything :). Enjoy your weekend @delishtreats!

This looks so good and it must have been lentil day at curie because this is the third post I have seen with them and now I will really have to go find some here. I love them and I do not know when was the last time I had any.

I just gave you a big long answer on your question about travel clothing and voted your comment so you can find it since I am so late. There are other companies who make clothes like this for both sexes. Maybe try rei if you want to see how they are before buying - but buy elsewhere since they are so expensive :)

Big congrats with your curie vote. This post deserves it for sure :)

Thank you @fitinfun. Lentils are a staple in my house for sure. I know, I just saw @plantstoplanks curie trail with her red lentil and pesto soup and I must say the more soup the merrier. Soup season has got to be one of my favorite seasons, maybe because it fits perfectly with pumpkin season 🤷🏼‍♀️ Is there dry lentils sold in store in Malaysia? I’m sure you’ve already looked…

Thanks again for all the info. I just responded and checked out some of the wear. I’ll definitely check out REI just so we can get a feel before buying. Travel anything is so expensive.

Yes, I can get every lentil known to man here :) All kinds of beans too. This is all cheap and plentiful here.

Good luck with the travel clothes. I paid a fortune, but I'm glad I did. And sure get my use out of everything.

Oh good. I would think you could get most legumes everywhere in the world. That’s good news for us :)

That looks delicious and so healthy! The sauce must be out of this world..

:) Thanks @icybc! The sauce turned out good, a little spicy, but great for a rainy day. It’s always nice having you over, thabjs for stopping by my friend!

Glad to know my telepathy is working, because I definitely want an invite for this meal! Oh girl, I may not be Italian but I will always cozy up to a hearty bowl of pasta. Those zoodles ain't got nothing on a real bowl of noodles. That sauce looks like the bomb, and of course it will be even better when you whip some out of the freezer for a ridiculously easy and delicious meal later on. Bravo my friend. This is what Mondays are all about!

Frikken awesome! That was a great comment to wake up to :). The noodles are guilt free because they are gluten free, in my opinion. And Dandays and I already tore up that “frozen” sauce. I guess you could say we had a very pasta Italiano week 🤦🏼‍♀️

Well I’m glad you got the telepathic memo because you are always welcome at our TV tray (I’d say table but we don’t actually have one of those so a TV tray will have to do). Thanks again for the compliments @plantstoplanks, you are a great friend :).

Lookin' tasty @puravidaville! Love the idea of the lentils as meat too. I know you guys both eat healthy, but are either of you celiac, or just not a fan of gluten (when I put it like that, who would be? :)

Congratulations on the curie vote too :)

Thanks @lynncoyle1. Lentils are often used as substitutes to meat in my cooking. One of my favorite recipes is my lentil quinoa taco fillings… 😋 so yum.

Neither of us are celiac and I just started excluding gluten from my diet a few months ago. @dandays still eats it, when he’s out or with his pb&j’s, but I do not. My blood sugar seems to be much more stable without it and my gut feels a whole lot better too. Not to say I wouldn’t eat gluten again but for right now I’m enjoying too many benefits of not eating it. I make up for it in all the potatoes I eat, I’m sure :)

Thank you for stopping by Lynn, it’s good to have you back friend.

Woo hoo! Congrats you got curied!!! so well deserved my friend! This is a wonderfulllllllllllll bowl of spaghetti @puravidaville, yikes and you added bread too! Foccacia is my kryptonite...:) I'll be there for dinner, oh wait...that was yesterday wasn't it. As usual you hit this one out of the park my friend :)

I’m over here reading your comment and smiling from ear to ear :). Thanks @birdsinparadise and don’t you worry, my husband has a list of Steemit peeps that are allowed over for dinner so stop by anytime. Unfortunately the bread didn’t turn out how I expected it, fluffy and bready, but was delicious all the same. It’s weird when I use different flours I get different results 🤷🏼‍♀️ Funny gluten free flours.

Always a pleasure having you over :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94