Southwestern Salad w/ A Garlic White Bean Aioli: Fruits and Veggies Monday

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends!

Can y’all believe the feast we just had? I’ve seen a few of your dishes and let me tell you, they all looked top notch. @birdsinparadise made a crazy leftovers dish that blew me away and Ms. Lena, @lenasveganliving, got down on some holiday goodness, I believe she even made her own cheese (mind blown). It’s good to get back to a Fruits and Veggies Monday where we can all get back on track from our holiday indulgences. Thank you @lenasveganliving for always hosting the party.

This week I am going heavy on my vegetables! My body feels so good when I pack it full of nutrients. I’ve been waking up to a whole lot of green too (green smoothies that is), and some disgusting yet so good for you, shots of turmeric. Then I make like @plantstoplanks and run or…

walk it out, walk it out,
Now, walk it out, walk it out
West side walk it out (west side walk it out)
South side walk it out (south side walk it out)
North side walk it out (north side walk it out)…

Y’all get what I’m saying right? Veggies are healthy and so is moving, your body not your home. Moving homes sucks! Anyway, I’ll get on with it… check out todays Fruits and Veggies contribution:

0F8B1AF4-47B9-434E-BD52-60E799CA1C26.jpeg

Southwestern Salad w/ Garlic White Bean Aioli

This salad is packed full of vitamins, minerals, protein and lots of energy giving goods. I made an entire salad bar type spread so @Dandays and I could walk through and build our own salad bowls. It was fun but the dishes it yielded was not. Let’s give a big round of applause to @dandays for making sure I don’t have to do the dishes. He’s really good at that job :)

Ingredients

1 bag of purple potatoes (cut in bite size pieces)
1.5 Cups corn
4 Cups romaine lettuce (chopped)
1 Cup Spinach
1 Can black beans
1.5 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp cumin
1/2 Tsp garlic powder
Sea salt & pepper to taste!

Salsa

1-2 tomatoes (chopped)
1/2-1 red onion (chopped)
1/4 Cup cilantro (chopped)
1 jalapeño (diced)
1/2 lime juice
4 stalks green onion (chopped)
Sea salt & pepper to taste!

Garlic Bean Aioli

1/2 Cup cauliflower (cooked)
1 Can white beans
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tsp Apple cider vinegar
1-2 cloves of garlic
1 Tsp Himalayan pink salt
1/2-1 Cup water

E5648F3E-3C6D-4768-91FD-73B7FEB3EF5F.jpeg

Start by preheating your oven to 400 F and chop those potatoes. We are going to bake them for 25 minutes so they have a nice crunch.

B58218D7-265E-464F-BD09-E70CE1D18F12.jpeg

Then pour your black beans (juices and all) into a small pot of medium heat. Bring those to a light boil.

59CC4DF3-9D03-48A9-9E86-BF7F4A8173B1.jpeg

While those are heating, dice your onions and set them aside in a big dish. This is going to be your salsa.

3FBB72B1-9D2D-4990-B152-CD53B01CA382.jpeg

Once the beans get going add in your spices, plus salt and pepper.

FC7C4AFB-0499-442E-AFA8-B2983E298D2F.jpeg

Mash them like you would potatoes (I used a fork but a potato masher would do best) and continue mixing until you get a refried bean consistency…

8E4814DD-A409-42CE-81AA-5F3AA9FBB7C8.jpeg

… like this. Set aside and keep warm while we finish the salsa.

78CD7BCD-D1A4-4ABC-837D-1226B947F566.jpeg

Add salt, pepper and lime juice to your onions and mix well. Then add a tomato and chopped jalapeño to the bowl.

17E88AC1-3493-457B-88F0-36138A2C90ED.jpeg

Finish it off with your cilantro and green onion and mix well. Set aside in fridge so we can work on the Garlic Aioli.

101B354B-1A37-4218-9A83-B8365A646E1C.jpeg

Here is the start up. Make sure to cook your cauliflower through by putting them in the microwave for 4 minutes or steaming them on your stove top.

91DD2E8E-30B2-41E2-B752-6523D26A3599.jpeg

Throw your garlic in your blender and top it with a cup of cauliflower, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar and your white beans.

32F3F4C4-21E0-47FE-A81B-6A52948102BD.jpeg

Adding a little water at a time blend that sucker until nice and smooth. Taste test to add more salt to your liking.

B7669FB9-B03C-423C-A18F-8D6D5F5A6C11.jpeg

Now, I got the bright idea to blend my perfectly good salsa forgetting that the blender would make it frothy. Feel free to leave this part out if you want 😉

4A96774C-3641-4CD5-987F-0BCB89310B26.jpeg

Lightly blend your salsa…

00C3DAE4-311C-46C6-92D9-E7010EB37988.jpeg

… super frothy but still yum!

Don’t forget to wash your lettuce.…

E8889A46-17D7-4237-9E31-070FAE84F3D2.jpeg

… and quickly nuke your corn, then viola!

46CBDB8E-B9C5-49CA-883C-785B5ACABEF2.jpeg

Check out that spread. I mixed spinach with my romaine for even more nutrients and chopped up a bowl of jicama for some extra crunch. Because I made garlic aioli and salsa, I opted for no dressing. Sometimes I make a green goddess dressing that is to die for but this spread didn’t need anything else.

395F1A93-F6A6-468E-8AB3-92DF71CB4AF1.jpeg

Top your bowl off with a few corn chips and you are well on your way to detoxing all of Thanksgiving’s treats right on out of your system. 😉

Remember, summer bodies are made all year round!

Thank you for visiting today. I’m looking forward to everyone’s dishes (not the dirty kind).

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

You and @buckaroo have managed to get me drooling over salad today. Bravo, ladies, bravo. @dksart would totally be all over this one. He loves some "re-fried" beans. I'm all about the purple potatoes. And that aioli?? Come on. I can see why absolutely no dressing is needed with that drizzled on top of everything to pack that flavor punch. And ✋✋✋ to @dandays for the help with the clean up. That is definitely my least favorite part of cooking.

I’m a dishes doin fool! Wash, rinse, put away, dirty up, repeat, never met a dish I can’t throw away if necessary. 👍🏿 But she’s not giving me enough credit, @puravidaville, what about my time clock skills??

@plantstoplanks, on any given day of the week, I’ve been known to run two timers at the same time, commonly known as “dual-timin.” I’ll drop whatever it is when I hear “will you set a timer at 35 minutes?” ..doesn’t even matter if I already have one set at 10 minutes, nope! I set two.

‘Got this!’

Well, you made me laugh :)

I need to start writing these things down.. ok, which part did you think was funny?

The dual timing, time setting fool part :)

Haha, perhaps we need to start the "men behind the ladies" series of #fruitsandveggiesmonday? Give a little credit to these hard-working fellas who support us in the kitchen. @dksart helps me out with dishes, too. He is also the official toaster oven-cleaner-upper.

You also just made me think about what one of my former clients used to call the "man parade". We used to laugh about how her husband needed ego stroking every time he helped out with something around the house. So often she would take out two pot lids and clang them together for his personal parade to pay homage to his hard work. 😂

You had me at men behind the ladies!

It was actually fun making a salad bar. We both got to make our own bowls with as much or as little goodies as we wanted, and it made for easy storage when everything was already displayed in individual containers. I’m so glad you liked it, I wasn’t sure how a salad would go over. Sometimes I think if it’s not a big to-do then it’s not post worthy. I forget that simplicity is just as appetizing. Yep, Dandays is the best 🥰.

Thank you for stopping by today @plantstoplanks.

That is a great way to do it. When I do meals like that I tend to steal all the good stuff before @dksart has his turn. 🤣

Simple is always good in my book. It's interesting, too, because sometimes the most basic of my posts have gotten the best feedback. I think we all see the value of getting a delicious meal on the table in whatever way we can, even if it is just a jam-packed yummy salad!

I couldn’t agree more :)

Delicious meal and presentation spot on my Dear Puravidaville!!! Absolutely love it, especially with those purple potatoes. I wish we would have them here, but unfortunately we don't 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks @lenasveganliving!! I’m not even sure where these potatoes come from- I should probably figure that out before buying again. Stop by for a build your own salad any time my friend :)

Oh my word this looks amazing! All you fruitsandveggiesmonday folk are still going to convert this carnivore ;)

Haha… I’m glad you like it @lizelle. Thanks for stopping by :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

If I had celebrated Thanksgiving, this salad would've been perfect afterwards. I can only imagine how stuffed people must feel after the holiday, haha. That garlic bean aioli sounds interesting, I've never seen anyone using beans in it, so creative! (Or perhaps it's a common thing I'm not aware of, haha) Anyhow, everything looks super delicious, who wouldn't want to eat that colorful bowl of yummy salad? 😋

Thanks @jasmink! Most holidays we are used to stuffing ourselves but this year was different. We were very controlled this year and left Thanksgiving feeling great! I always love a great salad too! I don’t know why some people can’t appreciate them 🤷🏼‍♀️ The Bean Aioli was a quick after thought to try and emulate a healthier, tastier sour cream or Crema. Dandays could have done without it but I liked it. Although, I made wayyy too much so had to find creative ways to sneak it into my recipes throughout the week. Haha

I'm so glad to hear that, it's so easy to go overboard with the food on holidays, it's almost like a norm these days. However, you feel so much better when you don't try to stuff yourself with everything you see, haha.

Totally! A little of this and a little of that and I’m happy as a clam. It’s much easier to behave this way when you’re celebrating a more intimate style holiday rather than being surrounding by many people. I tend to mindlessly and socially munch while distracted in conversations.

I tend to mindlessly and socially munch while distracted in conversations.

Exactly, I think this is the problem for the most of us!

yummy, yummy I wish I could have this bowl full of delicious ingredients in front of me now, it looks so delicious. Good job @puravidaville!

I’ll whip you up a plate then! It made for good left overs too, just sayin. Thanks for stopping by @proanima :)

I had this brilliant idea of making a salad bar a few times.. another great idea is making your own fajitas.. but the dishes.. you're lucky you have your own personal 'slave' to do them :D

I love your aioli but you made so much! I hope you have some leftovers ;)

Oh yeah.. great idea with salsa :D BUT the taste is more important!

Thank you for sharing another great recipe!

Thanks @delishtreats. Fajitas would be a great build your own station. The Aioli was yum and I did have a ton left over so i needed to use it creatively for the rest of the week. 🤦🏼‍♀️ Always nice having you over my friend!

Your hubby was telling me that he knows he can expect me with every curie upvote, lol :D I try to visit you as much as I can but you usually post when I'm sleeping and I happen to miss your post from time to time :(

That’s okay! All of our schedules are on different times and I know some of my followers follow curie so also know who to expect if I get a curie visit. I love engaging with each and every person I talk to. That’s what makes Steemit so great, we all set our own thing. Both, @dandays and I thoroughly enjoy your blog and your comments. It’s all good @delishtreats- I’m always happy you stop by.

Looks really good, I like the colours too

Yum, colors 😋. Thanks @gguy773!

What a delectable spread! Another tour de force from you two, amazing!

Thank you @creationofcare! Looking forward to your presence in the ring again :). I hope you and your family had a wonderful holiday.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85