Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #68 | The “Honey We’re Having Leftovers!”

DSC_0091 (2).jpg

Thanksgiving is over….now what to do with the leftovers!


Good day my Steemit Sandwich friends! Here we are with another week of sandwich fun! I don’t know about you but we certainly had quite a bit of food left after the big holiday meal! What a great opportunity to make a sandwich for @jaybird’s Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #68!


I want to give a big tweet of thanks to @jaybird for hosting this contest. It has been so fun to see the creative entries each week. Clearly the King of sandwiches has established himself on Steemit with his daily breakfast creations.


With Steem being low, we all need to tighten our belts and keep making those sandwiches!


Don’t you love it when the family asks “what’s for dinner?” and you say, “ leftovers” and then you hear “oh” from the next room. Little did Mr. Bird realize he would be singing a different song when he takes a bite out of this bit of Bird food!


todaysjourney.jpg

The “Honey We’re Having Leftovers!"


If you still have Thanksgiving leftovers, just follow along and feel free to substitute with your leftovers! You’ll love this easy sandwich!


My leftovers

  • Herbed Chicken Breast (1)
  • Thanksgiving Cranberry Sauce
  • Goats Cheese
  • Sriracha Sauce
  • Fresh Spinach
  • Puff Pastry

  • I had a couple of puff pastries in the freezer so I took one out and let it defrost. Then I made diagonal sizes on each side of the pastry.
    DSC_0056 (2).jpg
  • Shred that chicken breast- turkey would sub in nicely right about now!

DSC_0060 (2).jpg

  • Luckily I had a little bit of Goat Cheese in the fridge. You can use any favorite cheese you wish. I like the tangy flavor with Goat Cheese! I crumbled the cheese on the center of the pastry.
    DSC_0063 (2).jpg
  • Now layer the spinach and the shredded chicken. Drizzle the Sriracha sauce on the chicken!
    DSC_0065 (2).jpg
  • Grab the cranberry sauce and liberally spoon over the chicken. I shared this recipe just the other day!

DSC_0067 (2).jpg

  • Braid the pastry, brush with egg whites and sprinkle sesame on top!
    DSC_0075 (2).jpg
  • Now bake on a parchment lined baking sheet at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. It should be golden brown!
    DSC_0079 (2).jpg

Slice it up and Enjoy!

DSC_0080 (2).jpg

Yep, after one slice, Mr. Bird was asking for "More Leftovers!"


DSC_0098 (2).jpg


I hope you’ll try this one! Think of the leftover combo’s you can make! Your family will love this!
Thanks again @jaybird! I hope you’ll enjoy!


Thanks for stopping the the Bird’s Nest today!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Holy Moly. That's freaking beautiful and looks incredibly tasty. Now I'm not just hungry I'm ravenous.

I certainly agree with the Currie voters. Richly deserved,

lol, you are too sweet, thank you! You definitely made me smile :) I had fun making it, at least after I fought with the dough for a while! It's all good now! Definitely surprised with the Curie vote, so honored!

Omg please send one of those my way... in fact, I’ll order enough for the whole family. 😍

hehehe, I would love to make them for you! Actually it was soooooooooo easy to make, I'm sure your family would love these. The ingredient options are endless! I had this pastry in the freezer for a while and didn't know what to make...it came to me when I had sooooooo many leftovers lol Thank you so much @katrina-ariel!

Oh wow my Birdy friend, this is just fabulous! I still have not had breakfast, yep had a lazy start to my Monday, but now am hungry but you're too far away to give me a slice of this deliciousness!
Congrats on the curie, very well deserved, you just keep on amazing us with gorgeous food!

What a nice surprise for me to wake up too! Glad you stopped by....you've been a very busy kitchen elf yourself my dear @lizelle! Thank you for your sweet words, you're the best!

For some reason I thought that you were vegan :) Probably your posts gave me such impression. Obviously I don't have any leftovers like you but generally I love leftovers. However it doesn't happen very often that I have any leftover around as my husband is very good at finishing whatever I cook :)

Anyway, I like that you prepared a new meal from your leftover and that you didn't waste anything ;)

hehe, actually I eat almost all plant based foods but Mr. Bird loves his animal protein. We try to eat it very infrequently :) I know how that is with the leftovers...Mr. Bird generally cleans it up too lol I appreciate your kind words, thank you for stopping by :)

Very creative of you @birdsinparadise, it look delicious even it was a leftover. Although I was not celebrate ThanksGiving. By looking at your sandwich, now i am hungry. I love bread so, this sure in my recipe. And need to get the herb chicken breast done hehehehe..

You would love it I'm sure! I hope you get a chance to make it and let me know how you change it! Thanks for your kind words!

I definitely will try it. i love your idea so that there were no waste. Hope i won‘t gain weight after this because i sure will eat a lot since i am a bread lover😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You are so dope! The braiding of this pastry is a pro move and I’m over here thoroughly impressed. I showed Dandays with my phone just how gangster you are with your fancy bread braiding! Haha… best left over fish I’ve ever seen.

Hehehe, you are amazing, I should have shown a video of the 10 times I tried to braid it....the dough was constantly snarling...and started getting gummy...I kind of streessed a bitttttt. But whew, I made it! You too could easily do this! Thank you my West Coast kitchen elf!

We couldn’t see you sweet a bit. Although I do know the feeling of getting down to a part, where all previous steps have been successfully documented and struggling, not knowing if you’re going to pull through, with the final product. It’s a nail biter for sure :). You killed it.

This is the nicest looking Thanksgiving leftovers I have ever seen. I can see the goat cheese pairing really well with the cranberry compote. So creative @birdsinparadise! Mr. Bird is truly lucky to have those leftovers.

Thank you so much! I love goat cheese so ...it was nice to use it with the cranberry! Looking forward to seeing your sandwich this week! I'm sure it will be amazing :)

I'm so busy with work that Steemit is on pause but I will be back soon. Meanwhile I will have to drool over your creations.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 322 (11/25/18)

Thanks so much! Love the Daily Whistle Stop! Appreciate being featured with my fellow passengers!

Mmmm that is an incredible flavor combo! Goat cheese is delicious. I’d love to give this a try

Thanks so much! I appreciate your kind words, love to hear your feedback if you try making this one! :)

Hi birdsinparadise,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much! I am so surprised and truly honored!! Wow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49