Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Brownies: Fruits and Veggies Monday

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Yippie! It’s Fruits and Veggies Monday over at @lenasveganliving, and that puts a smile on my face. Christmas is getting near and I have yet to post any dessert recipes. Let me remedy that for you today.

My friends and neighbors are often the recipients of such sweet treats and this batch of goodies is no different. If I could send plates to my family I would too. One of my best Christmas gift giving experiences was last year when I sent my Great Grandma some chocolate chip pumpkin bread.

I went to rite aid, picked out the biggest tin I could find (something to house a loaf or 1/2, of bread), and got to baking. When I had the package all wrapped up and ready to go, I walked down to the post office and shipped it overnight. It was the best $38 bucks I’ve ever spent.

The next day my Mom sent me a video of my Gumba enjoying her treat. It was a priceless moment. Shortly after that Christmas my Great Grandma went on to rejoin my Great Grandpa in the best place. It was hands down the best gift I’ve ever given.

But today I’m not sharing chocolate chip pumpkin bread, I’m sharing something much more chocolatey…

63D31EA6-BBC4-4020-8A91-6297B4081E95.jpeg

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Coconut Brownies

I don’t think I could have fit another dang thing in these suckers.

75DDB346-4D4E-4C8E-BF20-2A8B1C7261C8.jpeg

I made two double batches, one was dusted in pumpkin spice and sprinkled with chocolate chips while the other was dusted in coconut flakes. Needless to say our neighbors were very happy this year :)

84B1EF32-79E4-48B8-B1AB-C11B1CD8224B.jpeg

Excuse the lighting, I had to start baking at 9:30 in the morning so Mr. Sun was still waking up.

Ingredients

1.5 Cup chocolate chips (Trader Joe’s brand is dairy free)
1/3 Cup virgin coconut oil
1 shot dark roast coffee (healthy shot)
1 Tsp vanilla extract
3/4 Cup coconut sugar
2 Tsp baking powder
1/2 Tsp sea salt
1 Can pumpkin purée (organic)
1.25 Cups flour (GF all purpose)
1 Tbsp pumpkin spice
1 Tbsp Cinnamon
Extra chips & coconut for toppings

Instructions

Preheat your oven to 400F and grease your brownie pan. I doubled this batch so ended up using a large lasagna type dish.

6CD2F4E4-2C24-4B34-B210-26A0C0524AF0.jpeg

If you have a double broiler then now is the time to bust it out. If you are a kitchen amateur, like muah, then just use a low heat to melt your chocolate chips and coconut oil. Stir constantly to avoid royally screwing up 😜

1D4EE7A1-407E-4772-8033-171437247847.jpeg

Once the chips are silky smooth take your pot off of the heat. Add your vanilla and coffee and mix around.

7FD5C6D0-0C70-4ACA-8F6F-014082A66D21.jpeg

Pour in your sugar, still mixing, then introduce Mrs. Pumpkin to Mr. Chocolate.

BA80C5BA-C379-4EE0-B760-D6B1AAF121E9.jpeg

Now, here comes your powders. Mix in your baking powder, sea salt, cinnamon and pumpkin spice saving your flour for last.

33BE5B34-C921-4B1C-A663-A075F35FB050.jpeg

I like to add my flour in sections to not overwhelm the chocolate with flour. Haha

203BB24D-5752-4A9A-B29F-667FCDAF0FE3.jpeg

Once everything looks as one, pour that goodness into your greased pan.

D0FE4634-1F2C-4D38-A37A-3B729F95D291.jpeg

I quickly got started on the double part of this double batch so essentially stacking bactches 🤷🏼‍♀️

EB0026EE-C598-450E-BC57-611EE8DEFF25.jpeg

My second go at it I wisened up and just made double of everything from the start. My fear was that my pot wasn’t big enough to do that but it proved to not be a problem.

Pop them in the oven for 22-25 minutes or until a clean knife comes out. (I don’t mean for you to bake the brownies with a knife in them. That would suck for whoever bit into that).

8B0ECE79-702E-41A2-B4D9-D1C5A805EB3A.jpeg

And badda bing, badda boom, you’ve got Christmas brownies.

I’ve been watching all of you Christmas baking freaks and you gotta know I’m drooling over here. Although these brownies are no @birdsinparadise Nut Truffles, they’ll look great on a plate full of treats.

Now, @plantstoplanks, I’m still looking out for your blue balls recipe (what did I just say?).

Since I’m on the shout-out train, big kudos to @jasmink and her gangster arse cashew cheese. I swear cashews are the new white meat. Haha

Anyway, thanks for hanging with me today. All proceeds from this post will be donated back to @lenasveganliving in the spirit of the holiday. I know things are slow but that doesn’t mean that our Monday’s have to be.

Pura Vida Amigas ✌️

Sort:  

Babe ya had me at Chocolate 🤪
I Love it!
Also Like totally random
u should put urself in more posts!
U look so pretty but u never are in posts!
Just a random idea!
U and the man should like document a date night out! That sounds so fun!
Out at a restaurant or just while u prepare at home it would throw in another aspect!

You saw this one, yeah @artgirlnyc? Or this one, dang, it’s a year old now!

I’m easy to find in a crowd, just look for the dude holding hands with a 10. 😉

She’s a hottie indeed 🥰
Lucky boy 😉

Thanks, I appreciate that @artgirlnyc. We make cameos from time to time 😉. Maybe in the future you’ll see more of us. Until then I have a plate of virtual brownies with your name on it.

I have to say, the story at the beginning moved me 😭 a little
I am convinced that cooking is a real art, check how many people comment on your art every time you post, it should give you an idea on how good it is!
Watching that dough being poured, all I could think of is adding few drops of CBD/THC oil in there, for some extra goodies...

Haha… that’s genius dude. I don’t know why I haven’t thought of that. I’m constantly saying I won’t make “butter” because I don’t want to aroma bomb our neighbors (we live in a very small building) but oil would be genius. The next batch will have some for sure 😉.

Thanks for reading @edprivat. My Great Grandma was such a lovely soul. I should have made her bread everyday and sent it to her. I think cooking is an art too. I think I also get my skill from my Great Grandma :)

Well thanks to great grandma for rocking the skills, please let me know what happens when you give out a batch of edibles to your friends. (Without telling them of course)

Haha… that’s evil Ed! I’ve actually been the girl to eat edibles without knowing that I was eating edibles. We got to my uncles brothers house (who is a H.A. biker) for a Halloween party and it was San Francisco at the end of October, so freezing. My girlfriends and I walked in and they headed straight for the liquor table. I didn’t drink at the time so I headed straight for the food table (after I said my hellos of course).

The table was equipped with trays of homemade lasagna, cheesy garlic bread, salad, cookies and a ton more of food that didn’t make it to my plate. I must have scarfed 4 pieces of that delicious garlic bread.

About 1 hour later my girlfriends and I were walking through the hallway, between two or three members huddled up talking. As my girlfriends parted the huddle, I turn around and say “EX CUUUSHHHH” so loud. Immediately, my friend Amy and I break out into a hyena laugh complete with tears and snorts. We laughed so hard that our laughing was making us laugh even more. She asked what the hell I was trying to say and I responded with “I tried to say excuse us but all that came out was a fog horn of EX CUSSHH”. Haha

Ten minutes later my uncles brother came in the room to see what we were so entertained by and I told him that the homemade garlic bread was bomb. I said I had 4 pieces. He goes, “you mean the wheat bread”?

I said “No, the garlic bread”.
He says “yea, the wheat bread”?
I’m like “nah dude, the cheesy garlic bread down there”.
He goes “I know, the W.E.E.D. bread”.

I made my girlfriend hang upstairs with me for an hour, to come down a bit before heading back into the party. Haha. It was good times for sure!

Oh crap! Eh, you know that was funny right? Well cheffin writ.. Wait! Well wreffin chet! No, that’s not it... Well written, chef! That’s what I meant.

@edprivat, it’s better than that, let me brighten this painting up a scuuuuuush!

She says “Uncles brothers house...” and H.A Biker loosely. Ok, now you know who’s at this “house.”

Uncle as in Pura Vida can’t even be looked at wrong, she hangs out at the club house regularly and not one angel can so much as look at her. You with me?

10’s hang out with 10’s, right? Now there’s three of them dressed all slutty like hot chicks do, one can’t be looked at and the other two are infatuated by angels.

That’s how it really went down in the hallway. 😉

OMG hanging out with the H.a for real? That's crazy!!! And you are a bit of a biker yourself right?
Have you ever been there with her?

I grew up on bikes, I love to ride, even built one of my Harley’s myself but I still wouldn’t consider myself a ‘biker.’

I just like to ride without a patch on my back with anyone, whenever, regardless of the patch on their back.

Actually, both of my mothers brothers were Angels in San Diego, California aka Dago Mob. I’m not a 10 who dresses sexy but I was The Doctor’s nephew. I went to their club house twice. Not my thing.

Nah, never been to the club house Pura Vida was talking about, don’t plan on it. It’s just not my thing.

I would totally consider you a biker, and now that I know about your connection to the San Diego drug cartel I would even extrapolate and call you an OG biker, and what gave it away it when you said "Not my thing"...Sure Artie...
That dude build his own bike!!! I can't even build one with Lego :D

Oh wow it got me thinking... You guys should cross South America by bike... Or it might be the most unsafe journey ever, but imagine the good content we would be fed with!

That's the most compelling story I've heard so far hahahah
Well, you seem to know the right people, and from what @dandays was saying, you were in good hands too...
Eat "wheat" everyday!!!

Hahaha… “eat wheat” everyday… haha. It is a funny memory. I was always the girl in the group doing stuff like that. Oddly enough, I didn’t even party so it makes it funnier in my (and my uncles) opinion. 🤷🏼‍♀️

It's always funny when someone "serious" get intoxicated with weed.

THere's a story going on , that the afro beat phenom Fela Kuti did a gig in the US (I am not sure about that part but I can't find the article), and brought a large amount of weed with him, but got advised by the security and organizers the be more discreet about the use.He must have had large bags of weed with him, and the smell attracted the attention.
He got pretty upset with the incident and crushed a whole bunch of his sinsemilia inside the food buffet and got everyone(crew,roadies, event organizers, security, sound crew) high AF that night.

Dude, that would be so frikken awesome to be a fly on the wall during that fiasco. It’s always comedy when people who don’t smoke get high.

Yeah, I don’t drink or do anything else either so it’s a snort laughing, belly hurting kind of night when puravidaville does one of her pura-isms :)

This flavor combination sounds divine, and the brownies look amazing! 🤤 My mouth just started watering and it's way too early for me to have any sweet treats, haha. Your neighbors are very lucky people! Great post @puravidaville! :)

That’s always my problem when I start reading the posts on fruits and veggies Monday; I immediately become famished. Haha. Thanks @jasmink, it’s always nice having you over :)

nice interesting combination, certainly will give this a try!

Thanks @claudiaz! I hope they satisfy your houses tummies as much as they did mine. Merry Christmas :)

Same to you and thank you @puravidaville

@puravidaville, I was wondering if you had seen my initiative to put together a recipe book from all the wonderful recipes being posted on steemit? I am looking for contributions to towards the book as well a photograph - and everyone who contributes a recipe will receive a free copy of the book when I am done. I was wondering if perhaps I could include this particular recipe as everyone loves chocolate? here is the link to my original post about this initiative - https://steemit.com/food/@claudiaz/recipes-collection-free-recipe-book-give-away-to-each-contributor

This is the first I’m hearing about the initiative. I would love to have these brownies featured in your book. It’s such a great idea @claudiaz and can’t wait for it to materialize as my new favorite cook book :). Let me know how the progression is and if you’d like any more pictures or anything :)

@puravidaville if you like you can join the discord and follow the progress and see the other recipes I have so far. https://discord.gg/8yYKktn
and thank you so much for the contribution :)

You did it again, congratulations. The way you’re super personable in the beginning and end it with a donation—gangster chef cooks a lot. Yup...

Yes! It was a success than. As long as you like it then I’m winning. It would be really cool to see all of the Fruits and Veggies participants donate their earnings this week. Who knows, maybe they will 🤷🏼‍♀️ Thanks for always supporting me babe.

Good thinking! I can manage that! You totally got me tearing up thinking about your sweet Gumba! Best. Gift. Ever. For sure. And can I get a pan of these sent to me? Totally a delicious holiday treat my friend! 😊

Yay! Choo choo here comes the giving train :) Love it. You can get a holiday plate stat. My bad for taking so long. Thanks for reading @plantstoplanks, my Gumba was an amazing person.

Haha, love it! I'll be waiting for my package. 😉 My grandmother always loved the Harry & David pears, so that was one thing I always sent her for Christmas or her birthday (which was December 29th). I sent my mom a box this year for Mom Mom's birthday in her honor because I know my mom still struggles with her absence this time of year.

Your brownies look delicious, I wish I could enjoy one for breakfast now.
I love to eat chocolate sweets but I do not do them that often, My husband does not like chocolate cake LOL

No way… I wonder what chocolate tastes like to him for him not to like it. So interesting to me because I’m with you and will eat it for breakfast :). Thanks for coming over @proanima. Enjoy your week.

Can we be steemit friends for life @puravidaville? I'm not a cupboard love or anything .... but .... chocolate?!! These brownies touch all the right buttons! Chocolate. Healthy. Chocolate. Gluten free. Chocolate.

Hey, Hell yes we can! I’m always down for anything chocolate. I give plates away to my neighbors with a little card that says what they and says what they aren’t. :
*Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Processed Sugar Free, Nut Free, Still Fun. Haha

I’ve got a plate headed your way sista!

Awesome Pumpkins!!... did I say pumpkins.. oops? I'need to try this too.. we don't celebrate chrismast, but I think my customerswould love to try this kind of brownies sometimes. I love that kind of chocolety cake! thanks for sharing and I'm so proud of you, Your Grandma should have talked about the cake with your Grandpa up there.

My husband says my pumpkin bread with chocolate is his favorite but these brownies were delicious. I’m glad you liked them @cicisaja. If you end up making them for your folks definitely let me know what they thought :). My Great Grandma told my Great Grandpa everything every night before she went to bed. I’m positive they’ve talked about the pumpkin bread 😉

I will absolutely inform you about their thought once I really have a chance to re-bake your recipe, but I'm gonna adjust some ingredients because I don't think that I'll find anything like your around.

I always adjust recipes too. 😉

Such a heartwarming story about your grandma Sweetie. It was the perfect timing to bake that delicious treat for her 🌸💖🌸

Using pumpkin puree is an excellent idea and adding pumpkin spice even better. These brownies must taste absolutely heavenly and I can smell the aroma of Christmas trough he screen. Well done my Dear Puravidaville 🎄🌟🎄
1 Collage.jpg

Awe, thank you @lenasveganliving. Christmas definitely has that certain smell to it. I could go for anything with cinnamon, pumpkin spice, pumpkin, chai, allof those flavors are my favorites. Sending a plate to your household stat. 😉

Yes my Dear Puravidaville and always a pleasure. I will be waiting for the delivery, lol.

omg! yeeesss

me want the whole tray hahahah

I have a ton left over so shooting you over a care package immediately. Merry Christmas @thekitchenfairy 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61164.79
ETH 2416.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63