Cashew Spinach Cheese Filled Cannelloni with Panna Cotta-ish Dessert

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Good morning, my dear friends!

It's Fruits and Veggies Monday again and it's time to share our latest creations before all the Christmas treats will be filling our plates. For dinner, I wanted to make cashew cheese and spinach filled cannelloni with a coconut panna cotta dessert. This dinner was a lot more fancier than anything I'd normally prepare, but totally worth it in my opinion! I basically used the same Cashew Ricotta & Spinach Stuffed Manicotti -recipe that @puravidaville shared with us a while back, but with a little changes. So, I'm going to share the recipe in this post, but if you wish to try this, you'll get visual step-by-step instructions from her blog!

Cashew Spinach Cheese Filled Cannelloni

IMG_20181214_142239.jpg

Ingredients:

2 cups cashews
1 big lemon / 2 little ones
1 tsp salt
400 grams frozen spinach
½ tsp garlic powder
1 tbsp dried basil
1 tbsp dried oregano
pinch of ground pepper
cannellonis
1 jar (approx. 600 grams) your favorite tomato pasta sauce
breadcrumbs

Instructions:

If your pasta needs to be precook, start by doing that. I had precooked cannelloni, so I skipped this step. Defrost the frozen spinach and place it in a sieve. Try to get the spinach as dry as possible by pressing it against the sieve with paper towels.

In order to make the cashew cheese, you can either soak the cashews overnight or boil them for 20-30 minutes (thanks for the tip @puravidaville, it was really practical!). Once the cashews are nice and soft, drain the cashews and place them into a blender along with a juice of one lemon and 1 tsp of salt. Blend until you have a smooth spread. Put the cashew cheese into a bowl and add the spinach, herbs, garlic powder and a little bit of pepper.

Turn your oven on to 175 °C (350 °F). Spread a layer of pasta sauce onto a baking dish (I used a pie pan since it was the only thing I had in hand). Fill your cannellonis with the cheese using a knife or a teaspoon. Don't overfill them or you'll also feel stuffed once eating them! Place the cannellonis onto the baking dish and spoon the rest of the sauce on top. Spread some breadcrumbs on top, if you feel like it. Bake for approximately 30 minutes, according to your cannelloni package instructions.

IMG_20181214_134905.jpg
IMG_20181214_142440 (1).jpg

Enjoy! 😋


So, I also tried to make coconut panna cotta for dessert, but it didn't turn out quite as expected, I didn't use enough agar agar, so here's the final product:

IMG_20181215_131036.jpg
😂

The reason why I wanted to share this with you is that we all make mistakes, and there's nothing to be ashamed for! And hey, at least the panna cotta tasted really nice! I can share the recipe once I find the right amount of agar agar.

Now I'm off to last bits of studying this year, tomorrow I'll have my last exam and then the holidays may start! Remember to fill your body with nutrients, even though it's holiday season! If you have any vegan recipes to share, also remember to participate in Fruits and Veggies Monday by @lenasveganliving!

Have a great week everyone! 🎅


-Jasmin ❤

Sort:  

This looks amazing, congratulations, I'd love to have some :)

Thanks @erikah! I'd love to share some with you :)

Very nice of you, thank you :)

Nice looking dishes. The desert looks still looks nice even if you didn't get the consistency you wanted.

Thanks @steven-patrick! The panna cotta didn't look that bad, that's true, and in the end, it's all about the taste, right? :)

I don't care how food looks as long as it tastes good.
Sooooooo hungry now.
Because of you.
Gotta go eat.
:D

Haha, exactly! Hope you had a delicious meal. :D

I think I ate leftovers. Perhaps siskonmakkarakeitto. And no desert. Oh well, Christmas is coming so that means one of those days will be all desert and no maincourse. So that balances things out a bit. Deserts for the whole year in one day. :D

Haha, "desserts for the whole year in one day", that's quite true! Merry Christmas to you! :)

Merry Christmas to you too. :)

Everything looks delicious, even the panna cotta. I would not have a problem eating it, lol. Well done Jasmin and good luck with your exam 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you Lena! 😊

Hooray for the last exam! I hope you get to enjoy some nice time off from your studies. And hooray for yummy pasta! I was looking at that fantastic dish from @puravidaville when she posted her version, as well. Now I've got a few different ways to try it! Looks so comforting and delicious. I would love to sit down to this meal for dinner. :)

Thanks @plantstoplanks! I was planning to make this meal a few weeks ago, and when I saw @puravidaville's recipe, I knew I had to try this. The exam also went well, so I've happily started my Christmas break. :)

oh yummy, this looks so good, I love this kind of noodles!

Thanks @proanima, these noodles surely taste great!

This looks so good @jasmink! I truly do love pasta and who can pass up some cashew ricotta stuffed pasta? I like how the noodles look a little brown. Everything looks cooked to perfection. I wouldn’t mind splitting that dessert with you either :). I’d say good luck with your studies but you don’t need luck, you got this!

Thank you @puravidaville! This tasted really nice, thanks for encouraging me to try it, your Cashew Ricotta Stuffed Pasta post truly was inspirational! The dessert tasted really nice, despite the consistency, and I'd love to share some with you. :)

😋 I’ll be over for dessert stat.

One of my favourite dishes! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe @jasmink. Now I can make my own spinach cannelloni

Yay, I'm glad you liked this @buckaroo! :)

what is agar-agar @jasmink, I thought that agar-agar is something similar to gelatine or jelly powder, because we have it here in Indonesia, and off course the result of cooking the agar-agar and jelly powder or gelatine is really different. do you mean taht your coconut panna cotta not really set its shape, right?

anyway... your recipe always awesome and I missed out your recipes because I'm busy with the monsters lately, But I hope I could spare more time to enjoy your recipes at least every monday. I love it!

Hey @cicisaja, it's nice to hear from you! :) Agar agar is a vegan alternative to gelatin or jelly powder, it's from algae. I just didn't use enough of agar agar powder in the panna cotta because I was afraid that the dessert would turn out really dense. It turned out to be the opposite, I didn't use enough so the panna cotta didn't set completely, haha.

I think everyone has been quite busy lately, I hope we all will have more time to spend on Steemit in the future! :)

Congratulations @jasmink! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84