Fruits & Veggies Monday {Meal Prepping like a Madwoman--Pumpkin Seed "Milk", Sauerkraut, Sweet Tater Apple Breakfast...}

Happy Monday my friends! I hope you are cozied up with a tasty beverage and a nice blanket because this entry for @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday is going to be an epic tale of kitchen adventures. Once again I have been slacking on the food posts, so I might as well play a little catch up by joining in on one of my favorite weekly contests.

IMG_20181027_100623187.jpg

Might as well start with a usual glory shot from the farmers market. I seriously cannot say "no" when making my weekly rounds. I think most of the farmers know I'm a sucker now, too, so they make sure to show me everything they've got even if it's not up on the table yet. I already had some butternut squash, but I figure it will last for a while so I might as well load up while I can get it. Most of what I am sharing this week is actually from the previous week's haul, so you'll have to stay tuned for what I'm doing with most of these beauties.

IMG_20181028_130557921_HDR.jpg

Next up is pumpkin seed milk! Yep, you read that correctly. I bypassed the usual vegan options of cashews or almonds and jumped right into pepitas. Nothing fancy, but it turned out to be so luscious and creamy!

IMG_20181028_124916618.jpg

Just soak the raw seeds overnight, then rinse and drain. I added them to my Vitamix with 3 cups of filtered water and a dash of cinnamon. Often you will see to strain the solids out or use a nut milk bag, but since it turned out so creamy I'm just using it as is. That way I don't have to worry about figured out how to use the leftover pulp (though I know @birdsinparadise has plenty of good ideas!).

IMG_20181028_130339072.jpg

I also took a page out of @buckaroo's fruits and veggies playbook and finally made some homemade sauerkraut. You can check out her instructional and wonderfully written post here. I switched up the seeds based on what I had on hand, so I used mustard and fennel seeds for a bit of flavor.

IMG_20181029_132806951.jpg

It was actually quite meditative to massage the cabbage in the initial prep stages, and after that the "hands on" work was pretty much done. We just took our first taste of it this afternoon. Definitely worth the wait! We'll see how long this batch lasts before being gobbled up...

IMG_20181023_151826653.jpg

I made these lovely eggplants turn into some baba ganoush to spread into vegan, sprouted grain pitas with chickpeas, mustard greens, cucumbers and a few olives. Doesn't get a whole lot easier for a weekend meal. We had some kale chips to go with.

IMG_20181026_180131822.jpg

I teased my sweet potato breakfast in my last post, as well, so I couldn't neglect to give that just a bit more attention. I can't wait to see @puravidaville's version of my original version with berries, but she also inspired me with her delicious apple crepes last week which made me want to try a slightly different take.

IMG_20181028_144812414.jpg

I chopped up about 3 good-sized sweet potatoes and sprinkled with an apple pie spice blend before roasting in the oven until soft. The apples I did similarly, but I cooked them separately to make sure I could get both to the texture I wanted. When they were done I divvied up into bowls (ok I may have snitched some of the apples...) and sprinkled with chopped raw walnuts. To keep the moisture I blended up a few soaked dates with water to make a bit of a date syrup. Nothing too sweet, but just enough to keep everything going down my gullet smoothly. 😋

IMG_20181023_153215825.jpgIMG_20181023_154341385.jpg

Alright, since we covered some staples, breakfast and lunch, why don't we finish out with some dinner? I had broccoli left at the end of last week that I just wasn't sure what to do with. Then I realized how much I drooled over @puravidaville's homemade pasta sauce not all that long ago, as well, and decided to do a veggie-packed version to scoop over some lentil pasta myself. This kept up sustained over the weekend, and @dksart just finished up the last bowl for lunch today. I don't remember what I put in it--fennel, onions, peppers, tomatoes, a bunch of herbs, and the broccoli that I blitzed in the food processor.

IMG_20181025_171215614.jpg

It turned out perfectly chunky and delicious. I did a combo of green and red lentil pasta to make sure I had enough to go with my big pot of sauce. Yeah, there wasn't any extra to freeze like I originally thought. No food goes to waste in our household.

The rest of the week I should have some budget-friendly rice and beans to serve up for @cookwithus, as well as a cauliflower and mushroom soup. The sage is looking excellent in the herb garden to go into that. That leaves lots of other goodies still left to figure out, as well, but I'm sure I'll manage.

I hope you all find lots of inspiration around to start your week off happy and healthy!



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

Awesome, chef! It’s so cool you mentioned Pura Vida. Each week the group of you showing off for #fruitsandveggiesmonday continue to raise the bar.

We're just one big happy family drawing inspiration from each other! Throwing it down with all the fruits and veggies around. 😝

Well if I didn’t stop back by and say “congratulations on the @curie trail!” That would’ve just been ride. 👍🏿

What a gentleman! You and your lady are quite the wonderful and positive pair! 😊

The pumpkin milk looks great! Never heard of it before but I can imagine it would be wonderful tasting.

I was originally going to try to enter milkshake week for @cookwithus with a pumpkin entry, so I thought making pumpkin seed milk would be a perfect base. I ran out of time on putting together the shake, but the milk was a winner anyway! 🤣 I'm glad I tried it because it is a nice variation to the usual suspects.

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You.

contest banner.gif

Cool! Thank you as always for supporting the cooking community on here. :)

Hello i love the idea of pumpkin seeds milk i never thought about it but it sounds lovely:)

Happy to share a new idea with you all! I will definitely be making it regularly as I am really enjoying it. :)

Everything looks and sounds amazing and I will be making that baba ganoush for sure. The milk is quite something as well; I had no idea it was possible, but before I can make it I have to get Vitamix. Well done Katie, I only wish we could have food sampling, lol 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

It was about time to break out a really jam-packed, meal prepping post for Mondays. 😃 As always I wish we could all share our creations with each other to sample! The milk especially! It's so nice when you take a chance on something and it works out so well. Now I just have to figure out some fun ways to use it!

I will be waiting for what you come up with! I am sure it will be awesome 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

I saw some good looking capsicum there🤤🤤

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes indeed! Those went into my beans and rice that I made yesterday. 🙂

Wow, this post is just filled with beautiful veggies, tasty recipes and inspiring ideas! The pumpkin seed milk is especially intriguing, how is the taste?

I do have to make some sauerkraut myself soon, juggling with this idea for a while now, I think you gave me the needed push to start the massaging action soon. 😁

Aren't Mondays the best? The milk is definitely not as sweet as cashew or almond milk, but I kind of like that it is almost a little more savory. You could probably add a date or two if you wanted a sweeter version, but I like that I can use it in either application. It's a great nut-free option!

I am so happy I finally made the sauerkraut. I mean my boyfriend is Polish, so it's kind of a necessary skill for me to pick up. 😋

Oh yes, although Monday's were kind of painful in the past in my office jobs, I now can embrace any day of the week and a new start is always something I enjoy!

That sounds pretty good, I am not a big fan of sweet milk, so I think I would make great use of it in some of my dishes. So true, sauerkraut then seems to be a fundamental skill in your set. 😄

Oh My God @plantstoplanks.. Now I know Why I couldn't viewed your post from my Phone since yesterday...Look at those meals, looks like you're having a party there and everything looks so delicious and amazing, I don't mind if you don''t invite me to taste it.. because I'm afraid I'd bring my tuppy to take everything home..LOL. I think I'll try the pumpkin seeds milk, instead of roasted it with salt and eat it while watching football game. I need to get away from your post this time...I''m hungry (but it is already 1. am here)

Haha, yeah I added lots of pictures on this one! I just couldn't decide on one to share, so I had to include it all. ;) That's how my family does things. We all bring containers and divvy up any leftovers to go!

Oh my goodness, can I have a little bit of everything? That pasta, that dessert, baba ganoush, sauerkraut, pumpkin seed milk, I don't know which one is the best, I'm sure I'd love everything! 😍 I've always loved sauerkraut, however, I'm a bit doubtful about making it myself, even if I had good instructions... Anyhow, I'm going to save @buckaroo's sauerkraut recipe for later, I have to get over this insecurity about not being able to succeed!

p.s. Those onions in the first picture are enormous!

I would love to share a little bit of it all with you! Well, except for the pasta because that is unfortunately gone. ;) I was a little hesitant about the sauerkraut, as well, but @buckaroo's method was so approachable and made perfect sense.

Would you believe those aren't even the biggest onions I've bought from the market recently??

Mutant onions? haha. Have you prepared/thought about preparing onion soup? You probably would need only one onion (okay, perhaps two) that size for it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24