Vegan Sweet Potato and Berry Breakfast Bowl

It may not be Wednesday anymore, but every day is still a good day to share the plant-based love!  @heart-to-heart is kind enough to accept posts for her #veganwednesday challenge any day, so the fun keeps rolling in all week. :)  Whether you are vegan or not, it is a great group to be a part of with lots of delicious recipes shared!  I always tell people that's the great thing about vegan recipes--they are always a great base no matter what type of diet you follow.

I know sometimes people get hung up on certain types of foods for each meal.  Eggs and dairy tend to make up a large portion of most breakfast ideas, which leaves some new vegans wondering what to eat to start out the day.  While I adore oatmeal and do smoothies a lot of the time, there are times when I want something different to break my fast.  Enter the nutrient-packed sweet potato!

I try to incorporate all colors of the rainbow into my diet, so starting out the day with this colorful spud checks off all of the benefits of orange foods.  Sweet potatoes have a good amount of beta-carotene and vitamin C, as well as fiber to keep you full and protect your colon health. ;)  I always keep the skin on mine to make sure I am maximizing those benefits.

Berries are another great food to add to your daily dietary intake.  They are also high in fiber and antioxidants.  Blueberries especially have been linked to a lowered percentage of cognitive decline with age.  They can help hit the mark on the blue/purple/red range of the rainbow wheel of nutrition!  The fat from the nut butter I use in this helps with the absorption of some of the nutrients, as well as adding that nutty and creamy factor to put it over the top as far as taste and texture.

I love that this lifestyle has continued to make me think outside of the box with meal planning and coming up with fun new ways to get all of my fuel in for the day.  I think I mentioned in a previous post that when I transitioned to a plant-based diet I started to recover faster from my workouts.  This type of meal is exactly why.  All of those bright colors generally mean a lot of antioxidants that keep the immune system working well and can also help fight inflammation.

Ok, enough talk, more recipe.  It really is simple and delicious.  I hope you guys enjoy it!

Vegan Sweet Potato and Berry Breakfast Bowl

Makes 5-6 Servings

  • 4 medium sweet potatoes, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 3 cups berries, frozen or fresh, any combination (this particular time I used half raspberries and half blueberries)
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2-3 tablespoons maple syrup or other sweetener of choice (optional)
  • Nut or seed butter of choice for serving

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Place your chopped sweet potato on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone liner and sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, stirring halfway.

While your sweet potatoes are cooking, place your berries, chia seeds, spices and optional sweetener in a medium saucepan over medium-low heat.  I usually add a few tablespoons of water to get my berry mixture going.  Simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until the berries reduce down to your liking and the chia seeds soften and thicken up the mixture.

Once done, split your sweet potatoes up into serving bowls or your containers for leftovers.  Top your sweet potatoes with a tablespoon of nut butter in each bowl, then divvy up your berry mixture between the servings.  Enjoy straight away or keeps well for the week ahead!

Sort:  

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This is an amazing idea my dear, definitely must try 🌸💖🌸

Looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!!

Thanks for commenting! It is delicious and very easy to make!

Excellent vegan breakfast ideas! Thanks for sharing! upped and followed!

Wow girl! I don't get surprised often anymore since it seems I spend most of my day getting into nutrition but I can honestly say, I haven't ever considered mixing berries with sweet potatoes before! Very interesting and a great way to get a different, heavier start! Some people are very attached to a big breaky so this is a good one to suggest :) Thanks for sharing this with us and I love the nutritional info <3

Yay! I'm happy to give you a new idea! I do love a filling breakfast. So much so I think I might share another breakfast recipe this week! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37