Healthy Snacks--Kale Chips {Running Nutrition}


Hey there runners!  I hope everyone is doing well this week.  We have reached the end of the corporate run training that I have been a part of for the last month as tonight is the race we have been working toward!  It’s always fun to see how some of the folks I’ve had the pleasure of working with end up doing. :)

Since it is another one of those busy weeks, I am popping in for a quick nutrition post with a little snack to incorporate into your rotation.  If you other runners are anything like me, then hopefully you enjoy a good snack, as well.  Though snacking can get a bad rap, it is a great way to add even more high quality whole foods into your day and load up on extra nutrition if you plan it well.



This past week I may have gotten a little bit too excited at the farmers market and bought way too much stuff.  Not one to let any of the beautiful local produce go to waste, I realized I hadn’t made kale chips in quite a while.  As much as I talk about how good dark leafy greens are for athletes to include in their daily intake, even I have a hard time sometimes wanting to munch on leaves all day.  Roasting kale with a little seasoning totally transforms the vegetable, though, and turns it into something crunchy and totally satisfying as a healthy snack.

It is really so simple to make kale chips at home.  They do tend to be better fresh out of the oven, so I would only recommend making what you want to eat in one sitting.  Don’t be afraid to make a whole pan, though, as they will get gobbled up quickly.  Use whatever seasoning combination you enjoy.  They are kind of like popcorn in that you can toss on a different spice combination any time based on what you are in the mood for.

They are so simple to make I’m not even going to go recipe-style.  We’ll just walk through step by step.

1)  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2)  While your oven is heating up, rinse and pat dry your kale of choice.  I used dinosaur (lacinato) this time, but curly kale works, too.



3)  Remove the tough stems and tear the leaves into bite-sized pieces.

4)  Spread out onto a lined sheet pan, making sure to not overcrowd the pan.



5)  Sprinkle with your favorite seasoning.  I used nutritional yeast for a cheesy flavor and Fox Point seasoning (a blend of salt, dried garlic, and onions).

6)  Pop in the oven and cook for about 15 minutes or until the leaves are dry and crispy.  Be careful not to overcook as they will burn. 

7)  Remove from the oven, cool and devour!



If you have a tendency to overdo it on crunchy snacks like packaged chips or crackers, then this is a great alternative to still get that same bite but with a whole lot healthier of a nutritional profile.  I know a few kiddos who really enjoy these, as well.  I know not everyone loves salads, so getting creative with your greens can help keep you taking in all of those good nutrients!

Anyone else enjoy making their own veggie chips?  What are your favorite seasoning blends to use?

For more information about @runningproject please see the latest status report: https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/the-steem-running-project-10th-status-report-the-holidays-have-finished-back-to-run

Or a few ways to support your favorite initiative:  https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/the-steem-running-project-are-you-planning-for-a-steemit-and-running-rest-reminder-on-how-to-contribute-passively-to-the

How running a marathon impacts your body:  https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/how-a-marathon-effects-your-body-with-the-runningproject

The latest gear update:  https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/nike-a-name-that-needs-no-introduction

Posted by @plantstoplanks on behalf of the @runningproject 

Sort:  

Wow as easy as that, will definitely make my own, thank you for sharing!

Ridiculously easy, right? I hope you give them a try. 😆

I use to eat kale as it is: RAW!

Did you try it?

The inner leaves are sweeter, the outer ones more bitter: I love them both! YUM

A raw hug from @amico!

Hey there @amico! I do enjoy kale and lots of other veggies raw, as well. Especially really fresh from the farmers market! I had mustard greens, garden cress and the radish and beet greens from my haul this week all raw, so I figured it would be a nice switch to roast the kale.

A nice green hug back to you! :)

💯 You do well breaking the monotony: good appetite! 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have to admit that years ago I reached into a plastic bag that read “chips” and put the contents in my mouth. I immediately was alerted to the knowledge that “these weren’t regular chips, these say kale chips” on the bag. “What in the hell is a kale chip” I thought. I never touched them again. Maybe it’s time i give them another shot, now that I’m fully prepared for the taste difference. Haha

Haha, yeah I think it's time to give them another shot now that you know what you're getting into. 🤣 Of course they are not as decadent as regular chips out of a bag, but if you season them well and get them crispy they can be pretty darn satisfying. I definitely need to remember to make them more often.

Seasoning is probably the key for me. I’ll let you know when I have a go at them. :)

Definitely! The one I used was another of my beloved Penzey's spices. ;) It kind of had a French onion dip kind of flavor, so a great way to jazz up those kale leaves.

Yum, French onion dip kinda spice… love it.

LOL, it’s a pretty fun experience! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will give them a try. Next time I go to grocery store I know what to buy and "cook" :D

Thank you!

Let me know what you think! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63893.57
ETH 2528.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65