Fruits and Veggies Monday - Tamarillo & Guava Upside Down Carrot & Apple MuffinssteemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_20190420_104432.jpg

I'm still on the Tamarillo theme as our trees are bearing really nicely at the moment.

I shared a Tamarillo & Apple crumble with you last week, and am still satiating my sweet tooth, this week with Tamarillo & Guava Upside Down Carrot & Apple Muffins; yep that's a big mouthful and a whole lot of fruit and a veg thrown in as well :)

As I told you all about this unusual fruit in last week's POST, I will get straight to the recipe for these delicious and very fruity moist muffins.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Chia Seed Eggs - 2 tbs Chia Seeds + 6 tbs Water

  • 200 ml Brown Sugar

  • 200 ml light Olive Oil

  • 400 ml Stone-ground Cake Wheat Flour

  • 150 ml Bran flakes

  • 7,5 ml Baking Powder

  • 5 ml Baking Soda

  • 5 ml Cinnamon

  • 2 ml Salt

  • 250 ml Carrots - coarsely grated

  • 250 ml Apples - coarsely grated

  • 100 ml dried Prunes - sliced

  • 100 ml Pecan Nuts - chopped

  • 100 ml Sesame Seeds

  • Tamarillo - peeled & sliced

  • Guava - sliced thinly

IMG_20190419_152323.jpg

IMG_20190419_160652.jpg

Method

Beat Chia Eggs, Sugar & Oil together

Add grated Apples & Carrots

Sift Flour, Cinnamon, Baking Powder, Baking Soda & Salt together, add to Bran and stir.

Add to wet ingredients and stir till well blended.

Add Prunes, Nuts & Seeds and mix well.

Spray muffin pans with cooking spray, sprinkle a little sugar in base then line with sliced fruit.

Spoon muffin batter on top of fruit.

Bake at 180C for approx 25 min.

Turn Muffins upside down & cool on wire racks.

Dust with Icing Sugar and enjoy!

20190422_075724-COLLAGE.jpg

20190422_075753-COLLAGE.jpg

20190422_080053-COLLAGE.jpg

A gorgeous batch of Muffins that will delight all fruit lovers.

20190422_080258-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20190419_175604.jpg

IMG_20190419_180240.jpg

IMG_20190420_104439.jpg

20190422_075854-ANIMATION.gif

FAVM divider.png

A sincere thank you to the creator of #fruitsandveggiesmonday, @lenasveganliving, to our weekly host the lovely @plantstoplanks, both lovely ladies are such an inspiration with their kind feedback and of course the gorgeous food coming from their kitchens!

A massive shout out to @donkeypong for the generous sponsorship and of course that wonderfully talented artist @barbara-orenya for the gorgeous wonkies!

Thank you one and all for giving us this opportunity!

Check out this week's POST, follow the rules 100% and show us your fruits and veggies this Monday :)

FAVM divider.png

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Steem Kitchen.gif

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

There is simply no way on earth to describe how much I respect your and @birdsinparadise's creativity when it comes to food ... and innovative recipes. You two are simply amazing. Both your posts today are sterling examples of why.

You are so kind, this really touches my heart. @lizelle is such an amazing, creative woman, I have said many times I wish we lived near one another. She could teach me so much! I am truly so appreciative that you allowed me to be a part of this community, as I have met so many kind, caring and creative people just like you! Thank you ES, your sweet comment will stay with me for days.

My sentiments exactly in everything you've said here, you've put into words exactly how I feel! I am learning so much from you Mrs Bird, your creativity astounds me time and time again plus you always put a healthy twist on everything! ES I agree with Mrs Bird, your kind words have warmed my heart and will stay there forever!

Posted using Partiko Android

I would so love to be cooking in the same kitchen as Mrs Bird, but at least you've given us the opportunity to be cooking here for the Steemengine passengers and I really appreciate that!
Thank you for your lovely words ES:)

Posted using Partiko Android

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I'm very curious to see which one you chose!

Wow another creative healthy treat! I haven’t seen muffins quite like these before. Thanks for always sharing your wonderful recipes!

Thank you @crosheille, they were a real treat!
Appreciate your support :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 463 (04/24/19)

Sounds like a tasty treat - I'll have to try this out yum

I hope you do, it's really delicious @michelnilles!

Alright, @lizzelle, good one! After reading through your comments—seems like everyone already said everything, you’re a rock star, they held you on a pedestal and all of that so I don’t have to say ish! “What they said.” 😉

But the monkey talk is something I can relate to, here in Costa Rica, it’s the Howler’s you see on occasion and hear every sunrise.

I’ve recently educated myself about the taxi cab crisis imposed by the high fees on vans by Toyota after they promised to lower their prices once South Africa agreed to allow Toyota to manufacture their vans in Johannesburg. And the racism, too, and clash between skin colors in South Africa—shameful! Great entry, @lizelle, it’s a pleasure to be on the same blog with you.

Did you know my response was going to be this long? I didn’t—see, I wasn’t aware of that! Sure, I typically have long responses but I didn’t plan on talking about Toyota’s taxi cab capitalization during a food competition. I mean, look at me know, I’m still going......

Gosh and I honestly started thinking I was reading a post written by @dandays but remembered it was actually a reply to my fruits and veggies post ;)
I did not even know about the Toyota story, will have to read up about that!
As for the racism, sadly the international press blows that out of proportion giving us bad press by focusing on the odd racist incident, something that actually happens all over the world by the way, but because of that ugly Apartheid, the world blindly accepts or believes that those kind of things happen here all the time, NOT TRUE! Yep, I'm very passionate about this as we all live and work and play side by side in perfect harmony, all the colours of the rainbow, and we enjoy our differences!
What is very worrying though, is Xenophobia which is taking place; Zimbabweans and other African folk who've come here as refugees, fleeing the violence in their own countries to the land of milk and honey, are now being persecuted by local black South Africans, note again that not all black South Africans feel this way, it's more the uneducated and unemployed people. Has anything been written about that I wonder?
So why did I end up replying so long? Because I'm proudly South African and love my country and its people, so get really upset to read about the perception of people elsewhere that South Africa is a country divided by race!
But thank you for stopping by.

Rightfully so, stand your ground, @lizelle—you go girl! Didn’t mean to get under your skin—promise. I must admit, however, the ugly Apartheid you referred to is another one. Sorry for another long response but I think you and I are talking about two different South Africa’s. 🤔

I’m going on what my friend Ed Privat and I talk about regularly. His wife is from SA and he’s been there for 7 years now I believe. He’s white, his wife is black and now that they are starting a family, things like store owners disrespect their kids and even school teachers call them slow and stupid.

He’s hosting a gofundme page as I type and offering wallet addresses asking for any and all help possible to get him and his family out of SA, by God’s grace, before August when their daughter is born. Here, I’ll let him explain.

I’m guessing you’ve never used public transportation? Just a guess, good for you if you haven’t—you’re blessed! Because there’s articles like this all over the place. I rabbit holed some YouTube clips not too long ago, too, explaining how the SA government is working hand-hand with Toyota to drive out the use of personal vehicles.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @dandays, just read @edprivat's post, he has a gorgeous family and I'm sad to hear what they're experiencing! I can understand his fear as a non South African as we grew up with hearing about the violence that goes on in places, have we become desensitized? Perhaps, until it affects us directly which it did a couple of years ago when my dear uncle was murdered in Johannesburg by homophobic foreigners who are still free! Yes they were not South Africans.
We run a bnb and have many couples of mixed races coming here with their family and one lady's comments in our guest book was that we restored her faith in humanity, I only read that after they were gone and wonder if they're experiencing the same treatment as @edprivat and his family? Racism is still bad in many of the small towns, but that's not restricted to South Africa only, it sadly still is a worldwide problem!
I have used public transport by the way, we do have buses and trains, but will never use minibus taxis as they drive like lunatics! As for them and the taxi owners who make these demands, we're used to hearing all of those ridiculous demands that's instigated by forces who want to de-stabilize our country, greedy people like the Guptas. The normal man in the street is tired of unemployment, striking etc etc. Nelson Mandela would be so ashamed of the current government and the scale of corruption within that government!
So dear @dandays, I'll stick to baking and cooking and trying to improve the quality of life for the people I come into contact with and continue to pray that those people who still live in the apartheid mindset of racism catch a wake-up sooner rather than later. I'm just thankful I don't meet too many of those types in my little world!

Posted using Partiko Android

Amen, @lizelle. Well said.

@lizelle, what healthy and beautiful fruits and vegetables. I like idea of putting the fruit in the bottom of the muffin pan, they look so nice when finished. Another great recipe.

Thank you so very much for your lovely comments @paleotwist! They did look pretty when turned upside down and were really delicious.

Fabulous recipe Lizelle and stunning photos too. I love how colourful everything is. I bet it tastes as delicious s it looks too. Well done my Dear 🥭😍🥭
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much for your kind words @lenasveganliving, they were really delicious, ideal for breakfast and teatime. I based it on my favourite carrot cake recipe but added all the extra fruit and seeds for FAVM :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Always a pleasure Lizelle 😍

It really looks delicious, I don't know tamarillo's, where did you get it??

My uncle gave me a couple of young trees, he can't remember where he got them from. They do very well here in Durban, it's a delicious fruit, aka the Tree Tomato. It tastes almost like a granadilla mixed with guava flavour.
Thank you so much for your lovely comments @rynow!

Posted using Partiko Android

What wait stop... omg these look amazing!!!!!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah thank you @riverflows, they were really delicious and very filling :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely photos!
You always find great things to cook for fruits and veggies Monday! ♥

I'm learning a lot here from the vegan foodies, loving it! Thanks for your feedback @squishysquid :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62