๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸFruits And Veggies Monday Submission. lol Near cooking disaster and the Broken Calzone.๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

30546916_10215295923808318_1227408442_o.jpg

I am a bit late for the submission since today is Tuesday, but I missed last week with writing about near cooking disaster and I don't want to miss this week as well. I need to get this out there. Even if my post does not count for the challenge. If you know from my latest recipe submissions I usually post very detailed and success cooking stories. But, today you will find out it is not always like this with me. And, that is a charm of cooking as well. You experiment with trying to cook something new and sometimes you fail, and like me end up laughing at yourself. Win-win situations either way for me. lol So let get into my almost cooking disaster recipe for Italian Calzone. lol

As always put some music on people to create that relaxing and amazing cooking atmosphere. My choice for today was a soundtrack of Avatar movie as I was going on an adventure while trying to make this Italian calzone.

This is also built on the bread recipe I shared a few weeks back and you can find out how to make by pressing here. I used this exact recipe to make my dough for this recipe as well.

P.S. - @enchantedspirit this was also part of my dumpster diving recipes. As I used scraps from the back of my fridge for the ingredients. lol

Ingredients

  • Mushrooms

  • Zucchini

  • Tomatoes

  • Onion

  • Eggplant

  • Red Pepper

  • Spinach

  • Spices- Pepper, Himalayan Salt, Parsley, Cumin, Olive Oil...

As always my advice to you is to add ingredients you like and make the recipe your own. Have fun with it. :)

30185312_10215295925568362_2043422354_n.jpg

Preparation

STEP 1

We are first going to prepare the sauce for this recipe. Cut the onions, parsley, and tomatoes and place them in your blender. Add little olive oil. Blend it well. I add little water to the mixture so my blender mixes it easier.

30421915_10215295925488360_904336160_n.jpg

After it is all blended nicely place it on low heat and cook it for about 10-15 minutes. Stir occasionally.

30180743_10215295925088350_1514125260_n.jpg

Looks good right? Not a bad start. Soon you will find out the near disaster part. lol

STEP 2

Cut all the veggies you are going to stuff your calzone with into smaller pieces. And make sure your sauce has enough water so it does not burn. Stir it every once in a while.

30118561_10215295925048349_1551641684_n.jpg

STEP 3 (near disaster lol)

The sauce should be done by now. Turn it off and let it sit there.

Time to prepare the dough for the recipe I provided above. This is where all my troubles started. First I wanted to make two smaller calzones and realized I don't have enough dough for it. So I decided to make one big calzone from it. I spend a lot of time preparing and making it big enough to try and fit all the veggies stuffing.

30185116_10215295924728341_61562983_n.jpg

30118581_10215295924568337_1115438625_n.jpg

So one disaster avoided but another one comes right along with it. So I took all those amazing veggies and put them on top of the dough I spread over the table. I started with putting the sauce first and veggies on top of it with another layer of sauce on top as well. It looked amazing... lol

30118505_10215295924368332_1440929829_n.jpg

30180010_10215295924288330_1019432045_n.jpg

It may have looked amazing, but this is where my trouble started. First I realized I did not put enough flour under the dough so it does not stick to the table. So when I tried to flip the dough over to close it out the parts which did not have enough flour under them stayed glued to the table. There were holes everywhere guys. I mean everywhere. lol So I picked up the glued dough and just tried my best to patch the holes. I thought it was ruined. lol

STEP 4 (dough disaster continues)

So when I patched all the holes I thought my troubles were over. O how wrong I was. lol The part I did not flip over to close all the ingredients with the dough was glued to the table as well. hahah It was impossible to get it off without making additional holes at the bottom. Which would be a disaster as all the juice would run out my failed attempt to make a calzone. But, I did not want to give up. Not my style guys... lol

So I first cut it a big piece in the original two pieces I wanted to make and used a spatula to get it off the table without creating additional holes on the bottom. lol And, I finally got both pieces on to the baking pan.

30120696_10215295923968322_1977355009_n.jpg

I preheated the oven to 200C/400F and I just dumped it in and hoped for the best... I laughed at myself so hard. The dough got the better of me no doubt. lol So you are probably wondering how it all turned out? Well, let see...

The Near Disaster Results

With all the trouble I had with the dough I think it turned out good actually. I was very pleased with how it looked when I took it out of the oven. It had a very odd shape from my "fight" with the dough. We went all 12 rounds. It was a close fight and the decision had to made through scorecards. lol

30422084_10215295923928321_1054390460_n.jpg

So did I win? Well, I will leave that decision up to you? You are my judges.

I was actually pleased how it all turned out considering the trouble I went through with the dough. It tasted very good as well.I think next time I will use a different type of flour as the texture was not right with the chickpeas flour. Next time I will try with different type of flour. I was happy how it turned out, but it can be better. I will improve next time.

30546916_10215295923808318_1227408442_o.jpg

Cooking is all about experimenting and having fun with it. Listening to some music and "fights" with the dough, or some other ingredient. I am proud of myself for not quitting. Is it similar to life right? As long as you never quit there is always a chance to make something great in life. Well, this is not one more of my motivational posts so that is all I am going to say. lol

30173805_10215295923728316_596150271_o.jpg

Final Words

I can definitely improve and do better next time. This was one great experience for me and first time trying to make Italian calzone. I am already getting ideas on how to improve next time and I am sure it will be even better next time. Either way, it was a fun cooking adventure for me in which I created a "Broken Calzone." Yes, I made that name up... lol

So what do you guys think? Did I win on the scorecards? Let me know in the comment section.

Thank you all for reading, have an amazing day, much love,

dbjegovic ๐Ÿ’• ๐Ÿ’ž ๐Ÿ’“

P.S. If you have not heard about the new amazing discord group called The Steam Engine you should definitely take a look. Amazing group of people helping each other become better Steemians and succeed on Steemit. Plus, of course, have some fun doing it.Take a look, maybe joining this success train will be one of the best decisions you made in 2018.

The STEEM Engine

DQmW6fh9cqKCrho7uH4GjUo17xhNLb2A3NvzBMmHvJBunRq.jpg

Sort: ย 

Glad to know I'm not the only one who fights with bread dough! Also, it looks like you pound out your dough with a mallet. Have you tried rolling it out with a rolling pin like pie crust? If it didn't "mash" well enough with fingers, etc., I think that's how I would do it.

I'm thinking of trying calzones made with pie crust, in fact -- like a hand-held pot pie sort of thing. I didn't like all the thick bready-texture of the ONE calzone I tried. So ... naturally, I'm thinking how to do it my way. I want something lighter, flakier, airy-er. (If that doesn't work, maybe I'll write a post about it like yours. It could happen. The Weasel says I'm incapable of ruining food. I could maybe show him he's wrong.)

Besides, I make terrific pie crust!

The-STEEM-Engine

Well, I fought as well. lol I did not have anything to roll it with but I don't think that was the problem. The problem was in the dough. It is different texture when you use chickpeas flour. It is really not a calzone type of dough I think. I will have to do research on it when I try again next time. :)

I think Pie Crust is a way to go for sure. And, yes you should make it your own as I suggested in the post. That is the fun part of cooking. :)

And, you should definitely write a post about it. I would love to see it. Well, either Weasel just eats everything or you are just that good of a cook? hahaha. :) I think you are just a great cook. :)

Thank you my amazing friend for such an amazing comment. You truly are amazing. And, I am catching up on all comments, post, and TAGS tomorrow. I have been slacking off on my friends on here and thank you for reminding I did. :)

Have the best day ever. :)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.3$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Thank you, my amazing friend for the prize. Awesome challenge and it is my pleasure to participate when I can. :)

Have an amazing day. XOXOXOXO

This looks soo tasty! OMG. All the best for the contest! ๐Ÿ˜€

I had so much fun reading this post and I am sure I would enjoy the taste as well. I can also totally relate to your disaster, because I was close to it many times myself. You would be surprised if you know how many of my recipes had near death experience, lol ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡
1 Collage.jpg

hehe well, it did taste great honestly, and that is, in the end, all it matters really. hehe I am sure everybody who cooks for themselves every day had those moments where things do not go as planned. lolol

So nice to see a "real" food blog, like people making stuff that seems real food and real cooking :) I'm a bit sick of "my-food-is-so-much-perfect-than-yours" blogs... Have you ever thought those bloggers actually eat their food already cold since they took so much time decorating and taking photos?

hahaha I do agree with you. I do spend a lot of time to write my post but I am not too concerned with taking the perfect photos. In the end, it really only matters how it tastes right? And, that it does not get cold. hahaha

It sure does not have to look perfect to taste good.

Thank you for stopping by my post and leaving a great comment brother. And, I totally agree with you.

Have an amazing day. :)

I love Italian food, maybe the calzone did not work out as expected but you just invented the broken calzone you should share a little with me ๐Ÿ’š!. Next time try to put the vegetables on one side only, leave a part free and fold in half. Do not put as much sauce and add a little more flour. I have no doubt that it was delicious!

Italian food is awesome. Even though they eat little too much pasta. hehe But, they do have some great pasta here so I don't blame them. :P

Next time I am sending some over no doubt. Where are you from? You might get it little cold though. O wait here is an idea? Would I love to see you make it? And, tell me how it turned out? Maybe you can help me out to change the name of this recipe to normal Calzone and not the Broken one.. hahahha

In the pictures, you actually don't see it but I did later move it to one side only, but it did not help as the dough would not get on the same page as me. Not by a mile. lol And, yes add more flour as well. :)

Thank you for stopping by @paolapaopoly and for the tips. Have an amazing day. :)

I wrote you for discord. Have an amazing day, too!

Your "Broken Calzone" may not have the perfect looks but I am sure it has the best taste. I too sometimes mess up, BADLY, but my mess ups are taste related :D I have come to the realization that as long as the food tastes good, I do not care how it looks :D :D :D

We all mess up I guess, and things sure don't turn our perfect. But, it is our "Broken Calzone" we made and as long as it tastes ok it is all good. Even if it does not taste as good, we can always try again right? I actually laughed at myself after. 201cm Croatian going 12 rounds with the dough. lolol

Good one! One suggestion - it looks like you shot food pictures with HDR on - there's just something wrong looking about it. Go for additional soft lighting (dyi lightbox, etc.)

It does look tasty though :) I'm happy you did not give up =)

I am happy I did not quite as well. It actually tasted very good even though it did not look as great in the beginning. :)

Next time I will do a better job and hopefully dough will work with me a little. :P

It's all about Learning =) trial and error over and over. I did a failed layered overnight oats. There was no color in it at all so I just need to go at it again Another time :D It's only in your fails that you will learn something :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:49:23
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 62.60/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43