Fruits and Veggies Amazing Monday Created By Amazing @lenasveganliving submission.🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇 - Simple homemade bread deliciousness recipe. 🍞🍞

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

2018-02-19-16-53-53.jpg

I honestly love every Monday, not only because I love everything recently in my life, but rather is that I get to participate in this amazing challenge created by my amazing friend Lena. She is a true gem of Steemit, and she had helped me so many times in life, and she did not even have to help. We never met in person, and we do not have to because any person willing to help a complete stranger without knowing him is an amazing and good-hearted person. So guys, please do me a favor and show her profile some love she deserves, and even better get to know her. She is amazing, trust me on this. And, now that I am finished sucking up, I will actually share my recipe for today. lol jk This is a well deserved praise I just felt needed to be said. There should be more people like her in this world... Man, I am sucking up again. lol Ok, I am stopping now, stop it now Duro, recipe time? Yes, I agree recipe TIME.

My Choice of Music For Today

Just like in any of my editions I want you to have fun while cooking or baking. So go ahead and turn on some of your favorite music on and enjoy the adventure of cooking. Here is my choice to set that relaxing mood for baking today:

You got your pick for today playing? Great... Let's get into some homemade bread baking.

Ingredients

  • 250 g of chickpeas and 250 g of corn flour. ( You can use any kind of flower you want)
  • 10-15 grams of live yeast. Not powder one. Trust me it is much better.
  • Optional - Olive Oil
  • Optional - Add different types of seeds. - Sesame, pumpkin, chia, flax...

Collage 2018-02-19 17_01_49.jpg

  • Spices - Himalayan salt and cane sugar. You can use any sugar but I use cane sugar because it is less processed. Trying to keep it as healthy as possible or to my knowledge.

I actually did not have olive oil this time, but it is good to add as well. It adds more flavor to bread and makes the bread more tender. But, don't go crazy with it. Pour maybe 2 caps of your olive oil bottle. And, like in any recipes I write for this challenge I encourage you to experiment and make recipes your own. Have fun with it.

Preparation

You guys will love the preparation for this. Because it is as simple as it gets.

  • Activate the yeast.
    You do this by taking a little cup. Slicing off about 10-15g of live yeast and placing it in warm water with sugar and mix until it all blends together.
  • Let it sit for about ten minutes.

2018-02-19-16-58-45.jpg

  • In a separate bowl pour and mix the mixture of both flours. Add, some Himalayan salt.
  • After 10 minutes add the live yeast with water to the mixture. You will know yeast is ready to mix when you see the little white cover on top of the water. And, even little bubbles coming on top.
  • Add some more warm water and mix thoroughly until you get a nice solid mixture.
  • Cover the bowl with a napkin or a rag and place on the little source of heat. I used the central heating radiator in my apartment. Let it sit there for about 40-60 min. So the yeast does it thing and raises the dough.

Collage 2018-02-19 17_05_32.jpg

For those 40 minutes relax, catch up with your favorite TV show, or keep listening to music and sing along. Sing very loud so your family thinks you have gone crazy. lol

Finishing It Up

After 40 minutes your dough should have kind of fluffy texture. It means yeast has done its job and it is time to pour it out on the table and use your hands to prepare it for baking. Before you get your hands "dirty" turn on the oven and preheat it for baking. I never know the correct temperature. So put it on 150 metric or 300 F. But it does not have to be exact temperature like this. Now let's get our hands "dirty. lol

2018-02-19-16-55-06.jpg
2018-02-19-16-55-59.jpg

Pour some flour on the table and dump the fluffy feeling dough on the table. Pour some more flour on top of it. And start using your hands to mix it. It should be little sticky so keep adding more flour and keep mixing until it is almost not sticky for fingers anymore. That is how you will know it is ready for baking.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (14).gif

One hand making a video and the other mixing the dough. I am multitasking kind of a guy. lol

Shape it the way you like it. In a heart shape of or just like me in a boring normal circled shape. Way to use your imagination Duro right? I made little cross lines with the knife on top so the pressure can be released from the bread while baking.

2018-02-19-16-54-37.jpg

Place it in the oven and turn it up to 250C or 500F and you are done. It should take about 30 minutes to be done depending on how you like it baked. I like mine with the thick and crusty crust. But, this is entirely up to you. Baking and cooking are all about making it your OWN. Check it from time to time. The only thing you can mess up from this point is if you burn it. lol

2018-02-19-16-55-27.jpg

Anyways, when it is done it should look something like this if you did not end up falling asleep and burned it. lol Trust me, it has happened before. If you do feel like napping set the alarm or even better set 2-3 alarms. I slept through my alarm last time I cooked chickpeas and almost burned the entire apartment here in Italy. lol Learn from my mistakes, my friends. :)

2018-02-19-16-53-53.jpg

It turned out amazing for me. And, it tasted great as well. It should be heavy and very dense as well. And, it will stay fresh for 2 or even 3 days. But, please and this is IMPORTANT. If it looks delicious, don't let your lust to try it right away make you eat it hot. You will burn your tongue. Again, learn from my MISTAKES. I still have not learned this lesson. lol Maybe you can? lol If you don't want to burn your tongue wrap it on a clean rag and let it sit for 30 min.

So that is about it, my friends. This is a recipe my father used to bake bread, and his father before him, and probably my grandma. Grandma recipes are always the best. And, this is a way better version of bread that you buy in the store. It is more healthy no doubt as today's bakeries are most about profit. Profit often make bakeries use too much baking powder so the dough rises faster. It is not the healthiest bread to eat to say at least. Not to mention all additives and other stuff they add.

2018-02-19-16-52-44.jpg

I actually fasted for one entire day until dinner time and I only ate this bread with tomatoes and olive oil on Sunday. And, I loved it. It reminds me of my grandma and how the whole house would smell after she would bake this type of bread. Great memories no doubt. Make some memories like this for your kids as well. It is a great memory I cherish greatly from my childhood days and a great way to remember my grandma.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoy this recipe, have an amazing day all, much love,

dbjegovic 💓💓

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

Sort:  

I would burn my tongue too! Looks great, I love dense bread.

hehe did that multiple times. Now, I just take it out and go for a walk for 30 minutes. lolol :)

I love it as well. My favorite kind of bread no doubt.

Look delicious! Going to have to pass this along to my husband because he loves to bake 😊

@anarchojeweler thank you. The times changed haven't day? The man does the baking now. hahaha jk I think it is great your husband enjoys it. Not every guy is man enough to bake a bread. :P

Glad you like it. Have an amazing day and if your husband tries my recipe let me know what you think about it? :)

Have an amazing day. :)

Hahaha I guess they have! 😜 I bake a little myself, but you won't hear me complaining if he wants to do it instead lol.

Yes! I surely will if he does, hope you have a beautiful day as well. 😊

Durko, you are a genius, this is an amazing bread!!! I have to make this one for sure!!! I am pining it to my Pinterest board for later. It looks soooooo delicious and it's gluten free, wow.

By the way thank you so much for the beautiful sucking up, That is the nicest thing anyone said about me. You are re so sweet my Friend and I really appreciate it XOXO

Thank you my amazing friend. :)

And, it is so simple to make. Little time consuming or waiting for the live yeast to do its thing, but is worth it. It is really delicious. If I did not forget to buy little olive oil it would be even better. But, I am very pleased how it turned out since this is maybe 3rd time I am tried to make bread like this. But, it really is simple to make. Not much to it. Anyone can do it. :)

And, you are more than welcome for the praise. It is very well deserved because every word I said is true. You are an amazing person and I hope you know it. If not I will keep sucking up like this until you do. lol

Amazing I tell you. XOOXOXOOXOXOX

Always a pleasure Durko and thank you so much again. You are a really an exceptional young man.............lots of XOXOXOXOXO back at you , lol.

Wow! I love making my own bread, I have try your version for sure! Thanks for sharing!

Hi, there @maruharraca. :)

I am glad you liked it. Do let me know if you do try it. Interested to know how it turns out for you. :)

You are a Very Nice person by sharing Your activity baking bread and Thanks for the complete tutorial.i think I Will try This recepis. Best of luck@awakentolife

@marlenny you are more than welcome and thank you for your comment. :)

Have an amazing day. : )

very nice instructions and methods, used to bake a lot but not in this style
b.a.

Thank you @battleaxe. I am happy to see you in my comments. We kind of lost each other since The Unmentionables. :)

This is an old recipe for baking bread from my family, and the times of how people bake have evolved since then. Maybe you should get back to baking and share some of your recipes as well. I would read them no doubt. :)

Have an amazing day. :)

So you just mash up the chick peas and turn them into a flour type consistency? 500 is REALLY hot! Wow!!

Awesome. I see you have special talents. That is where the smile comes from. Really cool giphy in the middle. You worked hard to make all this so we can try the recipe. You worked so hard you fell asleep. Thank you so much for showing the process complete including your failure. This is so rich that baking bread can teach us a life lesson.

Special no. Because anyone can do this, my friend. Even you if you tried. It is simple to do. :)

I think you misunderstood the post. I did not fall asleep on this one. I fell asleep the other time when I was cooking chickpeas. This bread looks exactly how it should look. It did not burn. :)

When I burned chickpeas I sure did learn a lesson. I was lucky I woke in time before all burned down. lol

Thank you for your comment. Have an amazing day. :)

I got it. That's why the bread looks nice. Sorry. I missed the chick peas. You are right. Thank you always for your positive encouragement.

That looks delicious and it is gluten free - such a bonus in a world where so many are sensitive to gluten!!

@marannewest thank you for dropping by and commenting. :)

I am glad you like it. I don't eat much bread really unless I bake it myself. Today bakeries are really "health" conscious when it comes to the ingredients in their bread. So I make my own. And, it truly is easy to make. :)

Have an amazing day. :)

This was a great post. It looks very tasty! As promised I am upvoting this post because I used your suggestion in my most recent post. Thanks for the info and for pointing out the extension I covered. -@bozz

I actually got a notification on Gina about it, but just did not find the time to go back answer it. Will do today no doubt. :)

Thank you for keeping your promise and liking my bread recipe. :)

Have an amazing day, brother. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42