Day 159: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: Think

in #freewrite6 years ago

Think. You heard me right. Think. That is about everything life asks of us.
In the classroom exam, there with the question paper dangling in one hand, he scratches is head with the other hand, as though to claw out something, anything to write, lest the supervisor collect a blank answer script!

A cyclist works himself up the whole day to make a living, to make a cent. It is a deserved way to earn, he muses to himself, proud of the weight of coins in his breast pocket. He spats on the pavement of the City building, disgusted at the bald head sat on a rotating chair. That idiot earns millions, hundreds of times more than him, and for what? Apparently he is paid to think. The world is unfair, he tells himself, touching his breast pocket just to make sure his coins are secure. It is swat earned, and more valuable.

It is a cold evening, out in the grass field, two shy hearts having sat and talked for hours, finally look at each other, the boy of 18 abruptly looks away shakes his head as to say it is time. But of course he still wants to hear. Why can’t she just speak? What is there to think about? It is either a ‘yes’ or a ‘no’, period.

Evening comes, and her account has just been approved by steemit. She has been reading through the tags the whole day. What is she going to be writing about? Travels, photography, poetry…..whatever. The head is blank. Think, she tells her self, think of something to write. You need to post today. But for hours, nothing. How will the upvotes come? The first post, her introduction collected only $0.03, and now..well. She is about to give up. Maybe steemit is not that as easy as she thought it would be.

But wait, something, a post about #freewrite looks, what? Okay, aparrently you just have to write anything. No need to think.
And she just about writes anything, without thinking in five minutes of rumbling…

My first #freewrite. Glad to join. Here is a post explaining more about it.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-159-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-think

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @mirrors ;) I met you over at @simplymike's post! This is a great free-write...there's nothing like it when you've got a mental block right? :) I taught high school English for years, and can see that you have a talent for using words to provoke some beautiful imagery. Very nice. Your comment worries me:

She is about to give up. Maybe steemit is not that as easy as she thought it would be.

Please don't give up! But I can tell you that you wouldn't be the first, and you won't be the last, but if you put in the time and effort to creating your community here, trust me, you will LOVE it. I would love for you to read an old post of mine about the importance of commenting. I KNOW it will help you understand WHY it is so important to look outwards and not at your own posts, especially in the beginning. Don't upvote it though because, just so you know, any post over 7 days old, if you upvote, the money does not go to the author. Think of it like every post on here has a 7-day expiration date. I just want to help you and I think my post will.

I joined steemit in mid-December and am enjoying it, although there has been a steep learning curve for sure! I belong to several groups here who welcome, support, and mentor new people like yourself. They each have a Discord channel as well, which if you don't know, is another place that we connect, chat, share ideas, contest, problems, share your posts ...whatever you need actually. The groups are @newbieresteemday, @asapers and @greetersguild. We overlap a bit, but that's a good thing because you can get to know so many like-minded people who are really interested in selfless, community spirit. We purposefully go looking for new people to connect with, because truthfully, it can all get a little overwhelming in the beginning, and I've found it's best to really try and make some good connections and develop a genuine community here.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I'm also going to come back here as @newbieresteemday and resteem your post to give it more exposure :)

Here are the Discord links for each group too! I hope you come and join us there ;)

Discord channel invite for @newbieresteemday
Discord channel invite for @asapers
Discord channel invite for @greetersguild

You will find them all to be very welcoming! They each have a "start here" channel that will get you going. Please let me know if you get stuck!

I know this is a crazy long post chock full of way too much information haha But take your time, ask me a million questions if you need to, and we at @newbieresteemday, @asapers and @greetersguild will get you settled and up and running here like a superstar ;)

Again, welcome to steemit ;)

Now what more do i need to hang on, to survive as i learn and acclimatize, and eventually thrive, if not all these you here say of?

I am sincerely very glad, very happy for your words of encouragement. I will definitely follow your advice here.

First though, let me pronto join the discords. Thanks for the invites.

Hey @mirrors, I would love to curate this through the @asapers, so if you are happy for me to do so, just follow us, as all our posts are curated from our followers and we share 10% of the profits from the post with the authours we curate. Hope to see you soon as today's issue will be out soon.

That, @insideoutlet, is a generous way to build community. I am definitely in. Let me quickly follow.

Much obliged to join.

Wonderful, you have been curated now, keep on steeming on, it takes time and perseverance but its worth it. See you around Discord soon :)

Nice job @insideoutlet!! You beat me to it haha

I know everything about having no idea what to write about. It happens to all of us. Don’t force yourself, because it will make it a chore. If you can’t think of something, then don’t post and put efforts in commenting.
We’ve all gone through this: when you arrive to SteemIt, you have high hopes. They promised you that you could earn by blogging. There was no one to tell you the truth: earning money on Steemit takes hard work, dedication and patience. That’s why focusing on building a network is so important. Make friends, and they will look out for your posts. Don’t forget your competing with thousands of other new people. But from what I’ve read so far, you are great with words. You’re a good writer. My gut feeling tells me you will do good on SteemIt.

The first couple of weeks can be a struggle. But you’ve taken your first steps towards creating your network. Don’t give up. SteemIt needs people that create quality content.
And we’re here to support you.

Personally, my big turnaround was when I realized that the big value of SteemIt was not in its financial rewards, but in the community. The social interaction and the genuine support have become more valuable to me than money could ever be. These months on Steemit have not only made me a better writer, but also helped me to grow as a person and deal with my personal struggles.

I haven’t been here so long that I don’t remember how it all looks from here you’re standing. I can relate to how you’re feeling. But from your writings, I can sense you are strong, you are a fighter. Fight your way through those first weeks, we’ll be the supporting cheerleaders, right @lynncoyle1?!

Soon, you’ll find your way around here, and I promise you, you will be glad you didn’t quit. I’m prepared to offer you my full support, whenever you need it. Because I can see you have what it takes to do good here in SteemIt.
Try to forget about the financial rewards for a while, and focus on the community.
We’ve got your back... ;0)

Best response ever @simplymike ;) Listen up @mirrors, because she know what's she's talkin' about!

Personally, my big turnaround was when I realized that the big value of SteemIt was not in its financial rewards, but in the community.

Mine too!!! It's so hard to understand in the very beginning, because we are told @mirrors, that you can post blogs and make money, so we all come into steemit with the focus on me. Once you turn that around, it really is a truly beautiful place to be, and you can't even begin to compare it to other social media platforms like facebook for example.

Please trust two people here who have got your back! :)

You are terrific @simplymike -simply terrific. I am glad, and very fortunate to make your acquaintance. Thanks for the kind words, the encouragement and support.

That value is in the community is as true as its gets. You and the @lynncoyle1's have more than just say, demonstrated that to me.

There was no one to tell you the truth: earning money on Steemit takes hard work, dedication and patience. That’s why focusing on building a network is so important. Make friends, and they will look out for your posts.

No truer words than these, that events following from my meeting you, have vindicated, and to which i can now testify.

I am grateful. Very.

I’m very grateful you crossed my path too. I’m really eager to see more of you. But hey, no pressure! It is taking each of us to find our way around here, small steps at a time ;0)

Congratulations @mirrors, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 27

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Hi @mirrors! Nice to meet you 💖
You have managed to come accross some super awesome and keen steemers here already! I can see through the comments on this post!! Congratulations on being selected by the @asapers!!! Another win!!!! Now, i am not a math guru but if your first post made .03 and this one is already at .36, i do know that is a huge % increase!!! Yay!!!! If you enjoy writing and social media-ing then just keep swimming!! Have fun and enjoy the ride! And, try out alllll STEEM has to offer! Dlive, dtube, steepshot, busy.org!! Heed the advice given and please never be shy to connect!

I am a member of the @asapers! Here to offer support and encouragement! Happy Steeming!!! 🙏🌸

I have met several awesome friends. Their support, and encouragement has been more than i can be grateful for.

Just know i am having a good ride. Increase in everything from earnings, (yes, 0.03 to 0.36 and thereabouts is more than phenomenal.), increase in friends, increase in reputation - increase in just about everything else. . in All thanks to you'all.

What seemed a rough start turned in one single moment of meeting one awesome steemer, @simplymike. And then it was a free ride!

And now, i am too, a proud member of the @asapers, and @newbieresteemday and @greeters.

I am glad, and very happy to meet you too. Happy Easter.

That's great news!! Take good care! I imaging i will be seeing you plenty now around these parts. Have a wonderful weekend 🌸👯‍♀️

Welcome to steemit @mirrors ;)

Congratulations you have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thanks for filling me in @newbieresteemday. And thanks for the good cause supporting my kind.

Brilliant freewrite! You said a lot in this one small piece! Welcome to Steemit and we're so glad you chose a Freewrite! It sounds like you have a lot to write about and this is a great way to dig in on the platform and meet like-minded people. I love the bit about the young boy and his girl and the disparity of the cyclist making pennies and the businessman who makes millions! That's a huge topic itself. I hope to see much more of your thoughts! Following!

You are kind, @wandrnrose. Thanks for the encouragement. And the support. I will say again - you are worth a million follows!

Dedication and interaction can get you very far. I would like to add that the value of your post is not mainly the money, it is the discussion, friendships, clash, interaction that it opened. You might inspire someone, you might not. It doesn't really matter. Just have fun and write.

Keep the freewrite spirit! All posts from the awesome community #freewrite get an automatic sponsor vote from @lablockchain ;-).

True. I have made as many friends as any can possibly make in only a couple of hours since i joined, and ventured to comment on others' posts. There are many a constructive and community building conversations out there, i finally have an idea of what the platform is, beyond the allure of money. Thanks for the guidance, and support.

Welcome to Steemit and the Freewrite Community @mirrors! You are going to love it here. I love all of the different scenarios and this was a great freewrite, especially for your first one. Just remember that there is no right or wrong...just have fun!
Resident cat here, just a small tiger having fun delivering today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-160-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-tiger

Thanks for delivering the prompt, @whatisnew. I an going for it. Thanks mob.

Good for you! I will check it out later tonight. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65