You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 159: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: Think

in #freewrite6 years ago

Welcome to steemit @mirrors ;) I met you over at @simplymike's post! This is a great free-write...there's nothing like it when you've got a mental block right? :) I taught high school English for years, and can see that you have a talent for using words to provoke some beautiful imagery. Very nice. Your comment worries me:

She is about to give up. Maybe steemit is not that as easy as she thought it would be.

Please don't give up! But I can tell you that you wouldn't be the first, and you won't be the last, but if you put in the time and effort to creating your community here, trust me, you will LOVE it. I would love for you to read an old post of mine about the importance of commenting. I KNOW it will help you understand WHY it is so important to look outwards and not at your own posts, especially in the beginning. Don't upvote it though because, just so you know, any post over 7 days old, if you upvote, the money does not go to the author. Think of it like every post on here has a 7-day expiration date. I just want to help you and I think my post will.

I joined steemit in mid-December and am enjoying it, although there has been a steep learning curve for sure! I belong to several groups here who welcome, support, and mentor new people like yourself. They each have a Discord channel as well, which if you don't know, is another place that we connect, chat, share ideas, contest, problems, share your posts ...whatever you need actually. The groups are @newbieresteemday, @asapers and @greetersguild. We overlap a bit, but that's a good thing because you can get to know so many like-minded people who are really interested in selfless, community spirit. We purposefully go looking for new people to connect with, because truthfully, it can all get a little overwhelming in the beginning, and I've found it's best to really try and make some good connections and develop a genuine community here.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I'm also going to come back here as @newbieresteemday and resteem your post to give it more exposure :)

Here are the Discord links for each group too! I hope you come and join us there ;)

Discord channel invite for @newbieresteemday
Discord channel invite for @asapers
Discord channel invite for @greetersguild

You will find them all to be very welcoming! They each have a "start here" channel that will get you going. Please let me know if you get stuck!

I know this is a crazy long post chock full of way too much information haha But take your time, ask me a million questions if you need to, and we at @newbieresteemday, @asapers and @greetersguild will get you settled and up and running here like a superstar ;)

Again, welcome to steemit ;)

Sort:  

Now what more do i need to hang on, to survive as i learn and acclimatize, and eventually thrive, if not all these you here say of?

I am sincerely very glad, very happy for your words of encouragement. I will definitely follow your advice here.

First though, let me pronto join the discords. Thanks for the invites.

Hey @mirrors, I would love to curate this through the @asapers, so if you are happy for me to do so, just follow us, as all our posts are curated from our followers and we share 10% of the profits from the post with the authours we curate. Hope to see you soon as today's issue will be out soon.

That, @insideoutlet, is a generous way to build community. I am definitely in. Let me quickly follow.

Much obliged to join.

Wonderful, you have been curated now, keep on steeming on, it takes time and perseverance but its worth it. See you around Discord soon :)

Nice job @insideoutlet!! You beat me to it haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65