Nose Hair - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

Imgur

This is a freewrite - freewrites are timed pieces of writing without much editing. They can be great - or not.

Click here for the prompt and write with us!

Nose Hair

Nose hair - is there anything in the world more fascinating than nose hair? Maybe hair growing out of an old man's ears. Isn't it funny what is happening as men get older - or not funny. However you want to think about it, I think, if you are the old man, it is not funny at all. But did you know that ears and noses don't stop growing? As men get older, their noses grow. It could be that the Pinocchio story is true!! Every lie and a tiny part of a millimeter is added to the nose. Oh, there are lots of lies in a lifetime. Sometimes, because we are polite. "You look great," we say when we really mean that you look awful.
From personal experiences, I can tell you that I do prefer those kinds of lies unless I asked someone for their true opinion. Then, I want the truth.
But one time, when I visited my hometown, a friend looked at me and told me that I look like shit. I had lost a lot of weight and the wrinkles were showing. Definitely a good thing about being round - fewer wrinkles and such.
That kind of honesty was so not welcome and so not necessary.
I do have a mirror and look into it once in awhile. and we are raised, conditioned to not like the signs of aging. Now, old people are obsolete. Push them aside. Get rid of them as fast as we can.
Elders used to be the wise, the ones everyone listened to.
But that wasn't always good either if the elders held on to the things they learned when they were 20.
That they could do a few hundred years ago. Now, we can't afford that. Keep on learning or we are missing the boat.
Today, everything is done on a computer. And many elderly people decided at one point that they had learned enough for one lifetime. And stopped. That I can't understand. I understand even less when young people are only wanting to be entertained and not learn anything.
Speaking of entertainment. Seeing the mighty nose hair sticking out of a mighty nose makes it really hard to look at anything else.
It becomes the center, the focus point, the thing that is so much more interesting than anything the mouth beneath might have to say.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Freewrite Prompt Nose Hair

The Garden Knight

A freewrite prompt

Garden of Fragrance - Market Friday

Dackel and Friends Planning a Jailbreak

Buddha’s Hand

I won a Silver Piece - Thank you so much @coolbowser

Sad - A poem

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Totally agree with you on the learning thing. We should always be learning and growing or we'll be stagnant and what's the fun in that?

Great prompt today!

I loved your wandering thoughts in this how you were kind enough to show us the flow of your thinking. I also happen to agree with a lot of your thinking too!

Thank you so much :) yes, wandering..... hahaha

Oh, snook, did you see the discord? I would love for you to spread your loving presence if you can...

I couldn't agree with you more. It is funny how you can't stop looking at those weird nose and ear hairs that seem to grow wild. LOL! Tip!

Thank you so much!! And a tip!! yay!! Glad that you are back!!

My pleasure! I am soooooo happy to be back...Thanks! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64356.37
ETH 3512.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54