We-Write Partner Up!

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

We-Write Partnering Up Is Back!


It's time for some fun!

If collaborating with another creative mind is something you love, then step up and find a partner!

What is a We-Write?


A We-Write is a fun way to write a story with a partner using the daily prompt given by @mariannewest.

The idea is to find a partner either by your own contacts or through the comment section, then come together to write a complete story.

How Do We Play?

Written by: @brisby

There are three ways to do this. They require correspondence through comments, Discord, Steemit Chat, email, or a shared document. Google doc is a free option. @snook wrote a terrific post explaining how to share a document if you have never made one. Here is her post. To work out any kinks, @snook and I beta tested the We-Write process and our story can be read here

Helpful tip: Plan how post payouts will be shared with your partner beforehand to avoid any misunderstandings.😁

Option 1

  1. Pick a partner and open up a shared Google doc.
  2. Decide who will begin writing.
  3. Prepare a timer for each writer. Alternate writing for 1 minute each.
  4. Use the word “Go” to let the other know that it was their turn.
  5. Use the prompt provided.
  6. Put the word/phrase at the top of the page.
  7. The first freewriter sets a timer for 1 minute and begins writing.
  8. When the minute is up, type the word “GO” to let the next writer know to begin.
  9. Carry on, alternating turns, until 10 minutes have passed (each has written for 5 minutes).
  10. Combine the sentences (cleaning up the formatting and removing the “Go’s” if you wish).
  11. Place the “cleaned up” version of the story below the exercise.
  12. Submit the link and then enjoy reading that day’s freewrites!

Option 2

  1. Pick a partner and open up a shared Google doc.
  2. Decide who will begin writing.
  3. Set a timer for 10 minutes.
  4. First freewriter writes one sentence.
  5. Then, the other freewriter writes one sentence.
  6. Switch back and forth until the 10 minutes are over.

Option 3

- This option is especially good if you can't find a time which suits both writers

  1. Each freewriter writes a 5 minute freewite.
  2. Exchange the freewites (This can be done in comments, through Discord, Steemit Chat, or email)
  3. Write 5 more minutes on the partners freewrite and finish the story.
  4. You can both publish the freewrites and if you want, add a bit on how that kind of writing felt to you. Was it fun? Difficult? Want to do it again?

Rewards!


We'll be giving away a total of 2 SBI shares! Each pair will be entered in together, and then each winner will be given one share! Plus a 100% upvote from the Freewrite House!

PLUS

We are still being sponsored by @curie! This means that one more pair will win 2 SBI shares each! Thanks @curie!


We are using the prompt from today which is…

bulb


Deadline is August 29, Midnight Pacific Time.

Like always, I can't wait to read your stories!

Love,

Stacie D


Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

My entry last part along with @carolkean. She writes an amazing twist. I laughed and laughed. Thanks @freewritehouse for this amazing contest.
https://steemit.com/wewrite/@sarez/a-we-write-short-story-the-lost-weapon

For once, I stopped freewriting at the 5-minute mark, then added links to related stories. Thanks for tagging me, @sarez, and thanks for the fun of the freewrite, @freewritehouse!
A we- write Short Story- The lost weapon Part1 by @sarez
A we- write Short Story- The lost weapon Part 2: Eat the Invaders!by @carolkean
Part 3 by @sarez

I like a good WeWrite if anyone is interested. Option 3 is best due to time difference. I don't mind who does Part 1 or 2.
😀

I'd like to try it again, too! How about if you start it? If you set up a shared google document, I now know how to add on to it. (Proof that you can teach an old dog new tricks! Ha ha!)

Let's do it. I'll try and get a Part 1 done later today.

Ok, here is Part 1
Link
I hope it works. I've only done that once before.
Once finished, feel free to make the post. Good luck.

I finally got around to checking this out....sorry it took me two days! And it says I need permission to open the link. I sent a request.... no idea how long it takes to get it sorted out. Oops.

No worries, I have given you access. Feel free to post the story when are done. Enjoy. 😎

I finished the story. You should be able to copy the whole thing from the shared document and paste it into your compose-a-post page. Thanks for writing with me! You gave me a great story to finish!

Thank you too. I'm back at work so I've been ultra busy. I will have a look soon and post it. Don't forget to do the same yourself.

edit: I just read it. Brilliant :-D

I'll do a couple with a couple different people. Let me know if you are interested below this comment. If the mood strikes you to go first, do so or I will. 8-)

I am interested. Later when my sons nap, I will write it out for you to continue. Or if you do it earlier than me, then I will continue yours. Hehe.

This was fun! Here's the link to the one where I wrote the beginning, and @ntowl finished it: https://steemit.com/wewrite/@zeldacroft/my-first-we-write-bulbs-of-summer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34