The Blub (We-write with @scribblingramma)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: bulb provided by @mariannewest

We-Write Partner Up!

Pre-story waffle

There's only one thing better than a good we-write; and that is a brilliant we-write. Yes, I'm blowing my own trumpet as well as the horn of @scribblingramma.

The Story

The Bulb (Part 1) by @mr-neil

Switched off. The light has gone out. What the bulb doesn't realise is that it is for the last time. The next time the switch is pressed, the bulb will pop.

We didn't expect such an obvious bang. It didn't go with a whimper, that's for sure, but I didn't know bulbs did that.

Buildings with high ceilings are fantastic in many ways. Spectacular and beautiful. Try listening to some music, how the sounds reverberates without the use of modern technology.

However, changing light bulbs is a challenge.

image

We need light; rather than borrow a stepladder on another day, we’ll use the sturdy kitchen chair. However, I’m just a few inches short.

We could add the Yellow Pages to give us more height. We also have the standard blue phone book lying around somewhere. We'll have to try it. It's lucky that we are still in the 1990s whilst these books exist.

I'm the tallest, it is my job. Next, I'll try the chair with the yellow pages. I'm close, very close. Must be a millimetre away now.

“I'll have to stand on tiptoes.”

End of Part 1

The Blub (Part 2) by @scribblingramma

The light is very bright now, brighter than it has ever been before. This is very puzzling to me. Wasn’t I using a standard 60 watt bulb? Yet this light is now glaring in my eyes. I squint a little, and realize it’s not quite in focus. Why is the light directly above my face? I must by lying on the floor. I try to turn my head, but it seems to be stuck in a vise. Perhaps I should just pull myself together and figure out what’s going on. Let’s see….I was standing on the yellow pages, on a chair, and I was stretching on tip-toe to reach the light fixture…..what happened next? I’m not sure. The bright light is really bothering me now, so I blink several times. Suddenly I hear a familiar voice next to me. It’s my brother. He’s shorter than I am, so he wasn’t changing the light bulb. “Dude, you really took a tumble!” he exclaims. “You’ve been out for an hour! How’re you feeling, man?” I find my voice, and tell him, “Not so good. What’s with the bright light?” “You’re in the hospital,” he explains. “You broke a few things. They say you’ll be fine in about six months. Hey, next time let’s get a step ladder, okay?”

image

Post Story Waffle

Thank you @scribblingramma for a great part 2. We-writes are the best. Find a partner, join in and have fun. Thank you for reading.

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Banner created by @ameliabartlett.

Pictures copyright free from Pixabay

Sort:  

Good thing that can't happen anymore since we have not more phonebooks LOL Who knew that so many people are being saved by this simple omission. All everyone always talks about are trees being saved! Don't they know? 🤪

That reminds me, I'm looking for a Sarah Connor. There's 3 in this phone book.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mr-neil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35