That Night in the Shed - Freewrite (Day 88)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago my friend, @omra-sky, wrote a story featuring some of the freewriters living together! With a few minutes worth of words, he built a home in a world that we couldn't resist! Since then, a group of his friends have shamelessly moved in and are running wild!

Our designer rebuilt the house, ripped down the wallpaper and put a skeleton in the kitchen. A friendly cat with her top hat dances to a fish song in the most beautiful library and our front door has a smart-ass sign. A darkness wrought by a terrifying deity threatens the home but its residents stand strong with their Goddess of the Prompt. It's an adventurous example of something unexpected and wonderful coming from a circle of friends who love letting their imaginations run unchecked!

If you haven't read any of the stories yet, I highly recommend that you do. While each freewrite can stand on its own, there is a grander story arc developing. None of us know exactly where this is going, and that's what's frightening fun! The links to each (click the images) are located at the bottom of the page.


I had slammed the shed door shut behind me before my nose registered that foul sewer odor. Like ozone but, with something else to it. A horrible scent from weeks ago, from under the garden's trees...

"@Brisby!"

The shout of my name yanked me out of my reverie. Seeing @Deaconlee and @F3nix struggling to keep the squirming mass contained in the rug put motion back into my legs as I rushed forward to help keep the damned creature contained. The thing was clearly insulted that its prison wasn't oriental and began to add a warbly line of screeches to its bucking and thrashing. A fresh wave of sulfur and char slapped my nose before my hands registered the heat. It was burning its way out! The look on Deaonlee's face told me that he had smelled it too. Keeping the wretch under wraps wasn't going to work much longer.

@Omra-sky was already across the room, unlocking the door to the cellar stairs. The moment the bolt snicked open, there was a hum and then the door exploded! He yelled, his body flying back, arms raised in front of his face. He hit the floor on the other side of the benches, covered in wooden splinters.

The wretch in the rug took that same moment to act. I felt a tingle of energy and then fire as my hands spasmed with pain! My muscles threw me back and down went F3nix, down went Deaconlee, and down went the rug, rolling with all the fanfare of a red carpet and revealing the monstrous magician. It rose, reaching high and spreading its limbs out, showing off for its audience. Ta-da!!

For its next trick, it wanted a couple of volunteers.

Long, mottled limbs reached out, snaring my and F3nix's legs and dragging us forward. Something sharp bore into the flesh of my calf and I screamed, kicking as my blood flowed, painting both limbs and floor a deep red. My arms were ignoring me and all I could do was scream as I was lifted off the floor. Hanging upside down while being twisted wildly was making me want to vomit. I hoped I got the bastard's face! Where was it's face? My calf was burning with coldfire and what was squirming up my thigh?!

As I was spun, I could see Deaconlee pull Omra-sky up while the younger man frantically searched his pockets. Where was the cellar fiend?

Spin... F3nix, pulling against the limb, something shining in his hand...

Spin... The squirming magician, it wasn't that big earlier...

Spin... Omra-sky's hands coming up...something yellow...

Spin. Shake.... There! The second one's in front of you!

Spin... F3nix with a gun? Where did he get a gun? ...My drill! Yes!!!

Spin... The gorge rising in my throat. Oh God....

Spin .... Omra-sky with a ... banana? What the FU...

Spin ..... A bright FLASH of yellow light!!

The grip on my leg loosened and I slid free, landing hard onto my workbench with a sharp CRACK.

Then there was nothing.


I was stranded on the sofa like a whale with a plankton's indigestion. Better just lie here... Hmm..for a hard sofa, it wasn't bad. Uh oh, someone spilled paint all over it! I giggled to myself. @Snook was going to be pissed! My arm was red and brown. Oops..was I the paintbrush? Was that why everyone was yelling?

There were shoes dancing in the air. Silly shoes, you're for the floor! My sofa was vibrating. I'm a bloated whale in a cheap hotel bed...

The shoes that I knew kept dancing, a cute bicycle move. Go on then shoes, dance like your butterflies!

Something warm and heavy was on my shoulder. Whales don't have shoulders silly! The lights were dimming. Uh oh...was it my turn to pay the bill?

Everything was almost black when there was a bright FLASH of yellow!

Then F3nix fell.


This went WAY beyond 5 minutes. Monsters take time to fight and it takes time to die.


Previous Old Steemians Home Stories

Images linked to post


The Old Steemians Home by @omra-sky


Flash! Day 66 #freewrite by @snook


Old Steemians Home Christmas Eve by @brisby


Old Steemians Netflix Ep 12:
The Waiting by @snook


Just a Pillow by @f3nix


Children's Games by @f3nix


The Old Steemians Home:
Omra's Tale (Part 1) by @omra-sky


The Shed by @brisby


The Old Steemians Home:
Omra's Tale (Part 2?) by @snook


The Fish Song by @simgirl


The Library by @whatisnew


Awakening by @deaconlee


Image ceated by @snook
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Day 88 by @mariannewest.
Thank you for bringing us together and for all that you do Marianne!

The #freewrite group is filled with creative and supportive people! Click the link to join in!


Title GIF by my friend 👊 @omra-sky

GIF gift by my friend @snook 💚


Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Hi @brisby! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

You are such a trip @brisby! Or should I say you were on such a trip! Really, it is so hard to describe what you described! Now I am tripping! LOL! I loved where your mind took you here. But, we now have monsters in the house? OMG! : ) Tip!

I trip all the time IRL!! (Constantly slipping in parking lots and falling because of cracks in a sidewalk...😂) Thank you so very much for your comments! I'm thrilled that you liked it! 💕 Thank you as well for the tip! 🌻
As for the monsters, sorry. 😢 On the bright side, they were only in the shed... (And, honestly, don't you feel a little bad for any monster that ends up fighting against us?)

HaHa! Those cracks can be tricky. : )
Oh, I forgot the monsters were in the shed; I feel so much better now! Yup, they don't stand a chance against us! LOL! Like I said...you are a trip! : )

I forgot to thank YOU for the tip. : )

That is sweet of you, thank you! And you're welcome! Have a wonderful day @whatisnew!

I want what you guys are smoking. I'm glad I don't have a shed at my house.

I keep forgetting to check the label before I light up! That's okay @wonderwop, we don't need a shed to have fun!

Come play with us @wonderwop!!! 🤣

This story is BEYOND BEYOND! YOU, my dear friend, should be SO F'ing Proud of yourself!!!!!!!!!!!!!

there is nothing, NOTHING I don't love and admire about this!!!!!!!!!!

WoooooooooooooT!! :D soooooooooooooooooo COOOOOOL!!

WOOOOTTT! (I love your woots!) I've the @snook stamp of approval!!! 😍 I am feeling damn good right now (but that's because my friends liked my story 💚). Thank you so much @snook! Now I can go snuggle up in my basement coffin and dream of vampire squirrels.....

YOU make me smile every day!!! and that is funny about the woot but thinking about it you are correct LOLL hehehehe learn something about myself every day! <3

That was great!!!! And the banana ha ha ha....

Thank you @simgirl! I was cracking myself up (as well as making myself dizzy...

Can I say the truth? I don't know a lot of the words you use hahaha .. your writing style is very detailed and I envy you lady Brisbielle. Your freewrite gives me the idea that we've all been put inside a washing machine..my eyes have spirals! 🤯😵🤓 I love it for its concentration of visual flashes, dynamics and of course because once again we're part of a crazy adventure! Tip!

If there is ever a word or a phrase that I've used that you aren't familiar with, I'll be happy to tell you its meaning. You've always been very patient with my stumbling attempts in Italian and have made suggestions so I would love to be able to return the favor.
I'm shocked that you would envy my writing! you, who are able to tell fantastic and beautiful stories with few words! I've always felt that I needed to use less words in my writing and have been told that my style is similar to a student's book report. (Which ends up with me reading everything I write and in my mind I see myself standing with a paper in front of a classroom. 😂)
I was dizzy while I was writing it! On the bright side, our banana lightsaber made its debut!

Yeah the banana fish light saber! I forgot to mention the unique artifact due to the dizzyness that got me too.. may the banana-force be with us!! I can prepare good plots but it's true I'm amazed by your creativity and the way you describe things

You're making me smile again! Grazie, @f3nix! 💙

Absolutely amazing! I particularly love the way you wrote the spinning section.

Thank you for that! (I made myself dizzy when I was writing it...😵)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Hi @brisby! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @f3nix!

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91