Day 80: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Awakening

in #freewrite7 years ago

Giphy.com

The news broke worldwide within just a few short minutes, and instantly citizens everywhere realized that everything that they thought they knew about the world and their existence in it was all wrong. What they had always understood to be real and self-evident, was reduced to nothing but lies and hearsay. Hundreds of years of learning and discovery were instantly cast off in the mother of all "Duh" moments, and it was seen live on every form of mass media all around the world and all at the same time. The event would simply be dubbed "The Rude Awakening" due to the manner in which the new revelation had been disseminated, and also because of the humiliation that befell those who were considered to be, or had considered themselves to be intellectuals. The only group that had not been surprised or caught off guard when the announcement went viral was the residents of "The Old Steemians Home" near the town of Freewrite, who had said all along in many blogs and commentaries that the rest of the world had everything all wrong. Reporters had flocked to that location to get a reaction only to find a note on the door that read "We told you so!"

.
.
.
**Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.
.
.
Graphics by: Giphy.com
Footer by the fabulous: @topkpop
.
.

Prompt: Awakening
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Introduction to freewrite

Thank you @mariannewest

topkpop

Sort:  

I laughed so hard that I scared my cat! I'll have to start referring to you as our "Namer of Things". (The event, the town, and the door...all in one story!) The town of Freewrite, nice! I was wondering where the heck we were living. 😏 Thank you for joining in! tip!
And your sign! Bwahahahaha!!! LOL! I Love it!
😂 😂 😂

Thank you so much, this was such a great way to start off the day! 😊

You're welcome! Happy to give a smile!

HAHAHAHA!!!! I love the town of Freewrite! And the ending was hilarious! Tip!

Wow, you're awesome! Thank you for the nice tip! 😮

My pleasure...well deserved! : )

bitcoin and in general crypto, haters are waiting to say those lines - I told you so but hope they are wrong

I now have to go clean off my keyboard...........I laughed and soda went flying LOLLL

Thank You for making me laugh so freaking early in the morning! :D

Oh, and I LOVE this :D

You are too funny, good morning! 😊

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Ha ha, I loved the ending. Thanks for sharing!

Love this! I think i’ll Give it s try also 👍
Your writing is interesting and thought provoking !

You should definitely give it a try, these freewrites are so much fun! My advice is to take the prompt and write what you want to how you want to, by doing this we have created a very diverse group of writers with different styles and genre interests. The good part is that if you are having fun then it is not work, and if it is not work then any money that you receive is not income but a gift. 👍 🙂

hahaha - I think that should be our slogan!! LOL

Which one "The Rude Awakening" or, "We Told You So" lol.😃 👍

Very clever and creative! I need to get my creative writing juices flowing and jump back into Freewrite. Thanks for the inspiration, never too late to start or start again, right? :)

That's the spirit!

They were all raptured, I assume.

That sounds like a good plan to me, but I'll let you write that part in. 👍 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44