Pill. A 5 Minute Weekend #Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

He dressed carefully in his uniform, smoothing the known fabric and brushing spare lint away.

One last look in the mirror. Freshly showered, boots shined to a sheen, tight haircut.

He didn’t want anyone to fuss over his body so he created perfection.

His eyes drifted to the pill on the sink.

It didn’t even matter, all he felt was numb.

The flashbacks and images that played on repeat in his head didn’t even bring a response anymore. His heart rate barely raised. All the death and loss he had experienced was like a movie that didn’t involve him.

He ran the sink and filled a glass and set it beside the pill.

He was sure there would be nothing. If he couldn’t feel anything now, the afterlife was probably the same. Nothing.

He stared at the pill.

He stared at his reflection.

There was nothing left.

His phone notified him of an incoming text.

Let’s have dinner tonight. I still love you. And I am here for you anytime, I hope you know that. I miss you and want to work things out.

He felt a stirring inside. It caught him off guard.

He reread the text and looked at her photo.

A tear escaped his eye and rolled down his cheek.

He put the pill back in its container and shut it in the cabinet, then poured the water down the drain.

He typed a response

I’ll pick you up at 7. Its really good to hear from you.



This weekend #freewrite brought to you by the imaginatively illustrious @mariannewest. Join the Freewrite community today!

Help Bless @ArbitraryKitten with @Papa-Pepper CryptoJeep Challenge!


My real life horror- the accident and PTSD

Trigger warning- graphic and raw.



Image via Creative Commons

What if the last person on Earth was the person you hated most? Experience Dead i. A Steemit Original Fiction Series.




Thank you for your support, I love you guys ♡



signature_2.gif

With Love, Positivity and Good Mojo Light,
May Your Days Be Always Happy and Bright!

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314How to Write the Story that's in Your Head
~
Strange Science: Why Do Bees Dance? Plus Other Cool Facts
~
The Tao of Steemit
~
How to Write Well
~
How to Conjure and Practice Empathy
~
Tips for New Steemit Writers
~
What if Time Were Money?

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

Sort:  

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @sammosk.

What the hell ?
This story is awesome. Sort of reflects everyone's life. I'm amazed really.
While reading I was always curious about the next line, wanted to finish the story as quickly as possible.
Have to show this to someone. Can I copy ?

Yes, certainly you may share.

Thank you!

Wooow what a relieve short story, as I was reading i imagine it was me playing that role in a film. The best part i like is when he say the message and re-read it again and the smile came. Wonderful story @arbitrarykitten you one of the best writers I have known on steemit. I happy to found you and following your work. Your writing is different.

I am happy you enjoy it, thank you so much!

its like u describe me

Oh my. Hugs to you my friend. <3

Thanks for your post

So I was a little nervous about what was going to happen, as he was staring at the pill. I'm glad your freewrite had a better ending that I was thinking! And it is true that someone speaking to us at the right moment can totally change the direction of our day.

It reminds me of the story of the last who walked six miles to the bridge and jumped to get death. The police found a note at get home.

"If just one person smiles at me on the way, I will not jump."

A huge "WOW" to the freewrite . I just involved myself into the story and sad vibes started creeping into my mind when he is staring both at the pill and himself . My instincts told that he might take the pill and the story would end by sadly , but the ending came up like a miracle . A text saved his life , I'm glad that it came at exact time . Good write @arbitrarykitten

Very well-written and engaging. Thanks!

Very powerful story with strong message, @arbitrarykitten Wasn't expecting the ending - which I loved!

It is a sad truth that so many who take their lives think to worry on how their body will look when found. If only they could feel that there was someone out there who truly cares for them and wants to be there when they need someone! Kindness and a love can heal so much!
Thank goodness for the fortuitous timing on that phone call! This was a story, sweet lady, and I hope that your recovery is going well!

(Uggh, well is such a placid term even though I do hope that you are. I hope that you're having a great day filled with laughs and your family and that your pain is lessening.)

Today's prompt is being performed by the Freewrite Deku Choir! (They've asked that the citizens of Freewrite please extinguish all flames while they sing as they are a flammable species!)

Freewrite Day 157 - before midnight

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
There's chances to WIN something great!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57