The Malaysia Experiment - Asian Nations Cup | Group F

in #footballmanager6 years ago (edited)

"I eat football, I sleep football, I breathe football.
I am not mad, I am just passionate"
- Thierry Henry

I've been at the helm of managing Harimau Malaya for slightly more than 2 years. Football Association of Malaysia has paid me about RM1.35M in this period. I'd like to think that my employment is value for money as I have recently delivered a trophy. We've played 24 games so far (14W, 6D, 4L) and I've won 58% of them; most importantly the ones that mattered. Deep down I know all good things must come to an end, but I'll still try my very best to keep this good run going.

Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 11.37.19 AM.png

In the upcoming Asian Nations Cup, we have been drawn in Group F, along with Iran (58th), Oman (91st), and our final opponent in the recent South East Asian Football Championship - Thailand (134th). Our ranking has been boosted to 89th. Iran would be favorites to advance from this group while we will be fighting with Oman for the other remaining spot that qualifies for the second round. Thailand would pose a threat as they'll be hungry for revenge after that particular 5-1 bashing and 7-3 overall win.

Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 12.56.30 PM.png

It is the time of the year where individual player awards are given out to players who performed well throughout the year. Last year, Abhishek Pannirselvam (DC) won the Asian Young Footballer of the Year award with a total of 187 voting points. This year Lee Jinxiang did one better and won it with 198 voting points. He had an average rating of 6.96 over 9 appearances, contributing 2 goals and 2 assists to our team.

It is also at the beginning of the year whereby we appoint our team captains for our national teams. Last year I appointed Mohd Safiq Rahim as captain but I rarely called him up due to better players available for selection. This year, I appointed Matthew Davies (23 years old), even though he's not one of the team's star performers, but he's still my first choice right back. Pannirselvam (19 years old) will take up the duties as vice-captain. So far the reaction from the squad and public has been good.

Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 2.30.34 AM.png

My 25-man preliminary squad has a huge chunk of Johor DT players. It's an example of how the rich get richer as they recently bought Armuhum Gurusamy Govandar from Terengganu II for RM110k. They also called up Gonzalo Gnanalingam from their feeder club - Johor DT II for free! After the final cut, I still had 10 out of 22 players from Johor DT. :/


Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 7.13.32 AM.png

So this is it. Iran the favorite. We're in the hot climate of United Arab Emirates. I'm glad our players are accustomed to this weather. My back five and attacking trio picks itself. As for my midfield, I decided to give Hafiz Azman a run in an attacking role while Gnanalingam sits in front of the defense.

Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 7.15.59 AM.png

The first half was nerve-wracking for me. They attacked us right from the get-go and bombarded our goal. Thank God Saddam El-Hafedz Shahri was on top of his game and saved four shots! I encouraged the boys and told them to keep it up. A draw is as good as a win for us.

I noticed that Azman wasn't being effective so I swapped in Gurusamy Govandar and played him in the center of the pitch. In the 76th minute, we had a free kick at the edge of the box. It seems pretty harmless but as Hussain passed it back to Gnanalingam, that's when the magic began to happen. The midfield trio of Gnanalingam, Ismail and Govandar played some 'triangle' passing and Govandar complete the beautiful play with an unstoppable shot. I couldn't believe that we were 1-0 up! Against Iran! The favorites in the group! This was completely unexpected. Against the run of play. There were 20 minutes left on the clock and I was going to get the boys to 'park the bus'!

Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 8.15.48 PM.png

In the end, we persevered to record a famous victory! Oman won their match against Thailand. Our next match against them will pretty much determine who tops the group.


Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 12.16.51 AM.png

Oman is playing a very interesting formation - 4-1-3-1-1. It looks very narrow. I'll be playing my usual tactics, utilizing my wingers. To be honest, a draw would be a great result for me.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 12.18.35 AM.png

It couldn't have been anymore dull in the first half. There were no highlights at all! All I did was tweak things a bit and check out the heat map. Oh well, this does play into our hands.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 12.28.03 AM.png

Our match ended 0-0. Zero shots on target for our side. We did have a good chance create by Irudianathan (AMR) but Abidin (ST) blew it.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 12.27.18 AM.png

In the other match, Iran beat Thailand 4-0. Thailand will be facing us in the last match. Let's make sure they remain rock bottom, with no points to show for. ;)


I realized that my squad is slightly imbalance, with only Hussain being the only player that can play on the left wing. There are at least four players that can play on the right. I decided to change things up a bit, playing a 4-2-1-2 to keep my wingers fresh. I could do well with an extra right back. I guess I'll just have to learn from this experience, sometimes versatility is better than specialization.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 12.42.25 AM.png

Another goalless first half. As long as we can avoid defeat, we're through to the second round. Meanwhile, Oman is leading 1-0 against Iran. To be honest, with an eye on the next game, I subbed out Ismail (MC) and Gnanalingam (DM) in the 50th minute. In came Benjamin Ibrahim (MR) and Ibrahim Salleh (ST). I played a whacky, out-of-sorts formation, a central midfielder and a right midfielder, an attacking midfielder, and three strikers! The whole team was literally leaning to the right and Thailand really exploited it.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 12.53.25 AM.png

In just a matter of a few minutes, Prasopchai Chanboon (AMR) ran down the right (which is our exposed left), and sent in a cross for Wattanachai Pisitthabannakorn (ST) to head in. We were down by a goal, but somehow I wasn't too worried. Over in the other game, Farhad Nourollahi (DR) got himself sent off and Iran was down to ten men! A comeback would seem impossible now.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 12.57.53 AM.png

Back in our match, the boys were passing the ball around and keeping possession. Mohd Shafiq Zarul Nizam passes the ball to Ibrahim, who found the space and time to pick out Salleh up front. He scores and we are level at 1-1.

Now drama was about to happen in the other match. Iran managed to level through Mehdi Taremi (ST), a 53rd-minute substitute that subbed in for another substitute, so he was literally the 3rd choice! If the current result stands, Oman still tops the group on goal difference above us. Then Ashkan Dejagah (MC) got sent off and Iran was down to nine men with 10 minutes to go! Iran gave all they've got and Taremi doubled his tally for Iran to complete the most miraculous comeback!

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 1.12.17 AM.png

In the most unlikely fashion, Iran topped the group as predicted. I wasn't too upset over the draw with Thailand as we still progressed to the second round. Now, all we had to do was to wait for Group E to finish their matches and wait for the draw.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 1.16.11 AM.png

When the draw was out, I breathed a sigh of relief when I found out that I avoided the powerhouses and will be playing against Hong Kong (China PR) (119th). If we won that, our potential opponent would be manageable as well, Yemen (97th) or the hosts - United Arab Emirates (96th).

I noticed Oman was still in the tournament as well. It seems like I missed a tiny detail.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 1.23.46 AM.png

Good for them, I suppose. Philippines (92nd) also managed to squeeze through with this rule. It's good to have another representative from ASEAN. They'll be facing Japan (61st) though. As for ourselves, we'll take it one step at a time. We've already met the minimum expectation set by the FAM (Football Association of Malaysia) for us, which is to reach the second round. :)


If you enjoyed this entry, do check out my previous posts
from where it all started, right up to now.

The Malaysia Experiment - The Setup
The Malaysia Experiment - Welcome to Malaysia!
The Malaysia Experiment - Getting to Know the Players
The Malaysia Experiment - Why Wan?
The Malaysia Experiment - My Managerial Debut
The Malaysia Experiment - The First Step
The Malaysia Experiment - First Cut Is The Deepest
The Malaysia Experiment - David vs Goliath
The Malaysia Experiment - A New Malaysia?
The Malaysia Experiment - Here Comes The Doubters
The Malaysia Experiment - Qualification Wrapped Up?
The Malaysia Experiment - See You In United Arab Emirates in 2019!
The Malaysia Experiment - World Cup 2018
The Malaysia Experiment - The U23s are Gold!
The Malaysia Experiment - The Mundane Friendlies
The Malaysia Experiment - AFF Championship Kicks Off!
The Malaysia Experiment - Top of the Table Clash!
The Malaysia Experiment - AFF Championship Group Stages
The Malaysia Experiment - Melayu Derby
The Malaysia Experiment - David vs Goliath

1lItVpYw.png

Sort:  

Where I have been, why I only see this post now.... hahaha
I love your post man. I’ve been playing FM since it was CM 01. FM is the only game I have on my PC. I love your formation btw, offensive one, but need a tireless winger like mo salah. Haha.

oh my! you rock man! CM01 is old. it is gold! I don't really recall playing CM01 but I had fond memories of CM03. good to know someone that followed this franchise for so long as well. what save are you currently on?

I which I had choices but being an international manager, it's like you always try to patch things up. I guess I've got to make do with my national pool that's loaded with strikers. :/

I always manage Liverpool since CM01. Lol.
Btw I remember FM2003, where there was a little hack to buy great players with 0 amount of money. Ah, Good old day.. the times when Zlatan was still considered as wonderkid :)))

oh my! you're like one of the oldies. I assume you can't wait to get your hands on FM19? I seem to have some recollection about the hack. transfer and harder and harder nowadays :/


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by calebleejl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92