The Malaysia Experiment - The Mundane Friendlies

"It's better to be absolutely ridiculous
than absolutely boring."
- Marilyn Monroe

I'm still living in the high from our U23s boys winning the Asian Games Football Tournament. I must say, it was pretty unbelievable. Too bad it was time to get back to work, with the senior squad. We'll be having 2 friendlies in the month of October; first at Uzbekistan (41st) and after that, a trip to China (68th).

To be honest, I have no idea why on earth did I schedule these friendlies (or maybe it was my assistant - Tan Cheong Hoe that made the arrangements). Our Under 19s and Under 23s announced their squads before I submitted mine, so I decided to let the players good enough for my senior squad to stay there and play their respective friendlies. This also allows me to explore other options. Hopefully, some debutants would come good.

Screen Shot 2018-08-21 at 1.07.16 AM.png

We had an afternoon 3pm kick-off but thank God it wasn't too hot in Tashkent. I'm giving debuts to my front 4 - Benjamin Ibrahim (18 years old), Syafiq Hossain (17 years old), Muhd Hafizuddin Shaari (17 years old), and Azwan Abdul Wahid (17 years old). Our boys had a pretty commendable performance in the first half and kept it at 0-0 going into halftime. They had a lot of shots on target but at least we had equal possession.

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 11.09.47 PM.png

I sent the boys out for the second half hoping to gain a respectable draw. We defended like mad but our tired legs gave way in the last 10 minutes. Eldar Yo'ldashev broke free and sent in a pass for Po'lat Sarimsoqov to make a simple tap in. We lost 0-1 but I'm proud of the boys for defending well.

Next up is China, on my birthday. ;)

Screen Shot 2018-08-21 at 1.29.44 AM.png

I had no natural DL so I had to slot in Lucas Tari there. This time I put in my strongest attacking line available, welcoming back Lee Jinxiang and the experienced Brendan Gan. Some of the players that had fussy club managers (only allowing 45 minutes of playing time) were dropped. I was shocked when we arrived at the stadium in Dongguan, not too far from Guangzhou. I wasn't expecting a lot in attendance but the fans came in droves and filled the stadium close to capacity. I feel like I'm throwing the boys to the wolves but it'll be good training for them.

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 11.33.47 PM.png

Well, it was a terrible match, for us in particular. Not a single player managed a rating of 7 and above! :/ What's worse is that Amirul Azahan Aznan suffered an injury to his kneecap as well. Let's hope Joseph Jacob, his club coach at Negeri Sembilan, isn't too upset about it, considering he's not his first option at right-back. Let's hope next year, the boys from Harimau Malaya can present me a better birthday gift.

Screen Shot 2018-08-21 at 1.53.36 AM.png

At least our Under 23s (2-1 against Uzbekistan Under 23s and 2-0 against China Under 23s) and Under 19s (5-1 against Uzbekistan Under 19s and 3-1 against India Under 19s) won all their matches.

Screen Shot 2018-08-21 at 1.53.47 AM.png

This time, I'll be calling the players from Under 23s and Under 19s for the upcoming South East Asian Football Championship at Thailand. We've been grouped alongside Philippines (81st), Vietnam (89th), Singapore (144th), and Brunei (175th). I guess we're situated right smack in the middle after the latest rankings, dropping 19 places after the losses, to 106th place. I hope to emulate the 2010 team that won the tournament.

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 11.43.43 PM.png

Now I'm off to take a short break, before clocking in to pick the 22 men squad for South East Asian Football Championship.


If you enjoyed this entry, do check out my previous posts
from where it all started, right up to now.

The Malaysia Experiment - The Setup
The Malaysia Experiment - Welcome to Malaysia!
The Malaysia Experiment - Getting to Know the Players
The Malaysia Experiment - Why Wan?
The Malaysia Experiment - My Managerial Debut
The Malaysia Experiment - The First Step
The Malaysia Experiment - First Cut Is The Deepest
The Malaysia Experiment - David vs Goliath
The Malaysia Experiment - A New Malaysia?
The Malaysia Experiment - Here Comes The Doubters
The Malaysia Experiment - Qualification Wrapped Up?
The Malaysia Experiment - See You In United Arab Emirates in 2019!
The Malaysia Experiment - World Cup 2018
The Malaysia Experiment - The U23s are Gold!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by asherlee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92