The Malaysia Experiment - AFF Championship Kicks Off!

in #footballmanager6 years ago (edited)

"Call me bro." - Syed Saddiq

I still remember I was making myself some Milo when I got a phone call from YB Syed Shaddiq. First thing I heard was, "Bro! Wassup?" At first, I couldn't recognize the voice on the over end, then it struck me that I was speaking to our newly appointed Minister of Youth and Sports. Seriously, the guys from Football Association of Malaysia could've given me a heads up. Well, YB called to inform me that he expects Harimau Malaya to have a good showing at the upcoming South East Asian Football Championship, and possibly win the whole lot - gold medal. Talk about pressure! Hadn't he seen the latest world rankings? We're placed at lowly 106th! I was too shocked to even drink my cup of malt. :/

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 1.30.24 AM.png

The first match is against Philippines (81st), the team that the press has predicted to provide us the stiffest challenge. I'll be good to get that out of the way as soon as possible. I had some issues with Frank Bernhardt as he wanted to call up the top players eligible for his Under 23s team and it seriously affected my senior squad. In the end, I managed to put up a decent squad, strong players up in front, but pretty weak at the back with both goalkeepers never even pulling on a Malaysia jersey.

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 1.46.19 AM.png

Just check out the response my assistant, Tan Cheng Hoe, gave during the press conference. Way to go in boosting the morale of the squad. Perhaps I'll just confiscate their phones until match day.

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 12.34.03 AM.png

Philippines set up to park the bus at home, which was oddly strange, considering that they were the stronger team. That really helped with my team talk and the boys went out ready to win this match!

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 1.54.17 AM.png

I couldn't have hoped to a better start to the match. By the 25th minute, we were 2-0 up, thanks to my left winger - Luqman Hussain. First, it started with Lee Jinxiang starting a fast break with a pass to Jamaludin down the right. He then picked out Tay Kok Fann, who is on his debut for Malaysia, in the center. The disorganized Philippines defense crowded Kok Fann with four to five players and failed to notice Hussain making a run on the left. Hussain received the pass and all that was left to do was to calmly slot it past Cristituto Abadia. The second goal was created by Jinxiang; having great vision while he was running down the flank, and whipping in a Beckham-esque cross. Hussain beat the offside trap again and scored!

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 12.47.53 AM.png

We ended the half 2-0 up and Philippines failing to register a shot on goal. So far, so good. Abhishek Pannirselvam was complaining that he was tired so I subbed him out with Lucas Tari. I sent to boys out after the break, warning them to not let their guard down. Then came a set piece for Philippines in the 66th minute, and Joseph Simpron sent in a bullet free kick. Our wall was literally stuck to the ground. I don't blame Jasni as it's his first international outing. A minute later, Simpron who was already booked, got too enthusiastic and earn himself a second yellow card after a tackle on Hussain. Philippines had their work cut out for them from then on. We then scored our third goal after the two substitutes (Thomas Irudianathan and Ibrahim Salleh) connected through a cross from the right. That should've sealed the game for us.

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 2.13.04 AM.png

In the 89th minute, Mohd Zulkifli Mazlan who was already on a yellow card, was caught ball watching. Enrique Azanes then played a through ball to Marjo Mangangey; and even though Mazlan tried to chase him down, I'm glad he didn't tackle from behind. They scored and that set up a nervous last few minutes of injury time for us. We couldn't have been any more relieved when the referee blew his whistle and we secured a momentous win, and off to a good start in this tournament.

Here are the goals from the match. Next, we welcome Brunei (155th) at home. They've so far sprung a surprise 3-0 against Vietnam (98th) and currently top Group B.

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 2.21.50 AM.png


If you enjoyed this entry, do check out my previous posts
from where it all started, right up to now.

The Malaysia Experiment - The Setup
The Malaysia Experiment - Welcome to Malaysia!
The Malaysia Experiment - Getting to Know the Players
The Malaysia Experiment - Why Wan?
The Malaysia Experiment - My Managerial Debut
The Malaysia Experiment - The First Step
The Malaysia Experiment - First Cut Is The Deepest
The Malaysia Experiment - David vs Goliath
The Malaysia Experiment - A New Malaysia?
The Malaysia Experiment - Here Comes The Doubters
The Malaysia Experiment - Qualification Wrapped Up?
The Malaysia Experiment - See You In United Arab Emirates in 2019!
The Malaysia Experiment - World Cup 2018
The Malaysia Experiment - The U23s are Gold!
The Malaysia Experiment - The Mundane Friendlies

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92