The Malaysia Experiment - First Cut Is The Deepest

in #footballmanager6 years ago (edited)

"It may look like I'm doing nothing,
but in my head, I'm quite busy."
- Anonymous

So what should a national manager do when there are no international matches? Watch football I suppose. That's what I got on doing. Picked the Asian Confederation Cup (second-tier club competition in Asia) match between Johor DT and Quang Ninh from Vietnam. Flew all the way to Quảng Ninh, Vietnam; but boy I was in for a treat. The match served up 8 goals and players from Harimau Malaya did pretty well. Mohd Yusop had a good rating of 8.4 while playing on the wing!

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 12.47.54 AM.png

Too bad Shahri couldn't keep a clean sheet. Bumped into John Herdman as well. He was keeping tabs on Corbin-Ong. Strangely in real life, he represented Canada for a match, and then represented Malaysia afterward!

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 12.48.43 AM.png

Picked my squad for the upcoming friendly against Hong Kong (154th), as well as our toughest fixture in Group F, against Jordan (82nd). I didn't spring too many surprises, with Che Mat replacing Harun, as well as potential first caps for Muhd Syahmi Safari, Zhafri Yahya and Saiful Ridzuan Selamat (3 of them still yet to represent Malaysia in real life). I just love handling out debuts. I would say it's also a better spread among various clubs, with only 6 representatives from Johor DT this time around. They've been showing interest in Brendan Gan for the longest time, but no contract has been offered or signed yet.

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 1.04.15 PM.png

Oh, and we've been rising up the rankings. We moved up 22 places in April, and another 19 places to 110th in May. Let's hope there won't be too many changes after the Jordan match. :/

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 1.19.43 PM.png

Alright, before flying to Jordan, we've got a pit shop at Hong Kong. My U19s manager, Mohd Nizar Zakaria gave me a text about their 4-0 against Syria U19s (hope do they even find the players to form the team). Man of the match goes to Muhd Juzaerul Jasmi again. I think I should monitor his progress closely from now on.

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 1.22.58 PM.png

The U19s are actually full of potential, with more than half the team 5 stars on PA! We've not even reached July, when the newgens appear (this is when the experiment really kicks in). This is getting me very excited! :)

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 1.27.19 PM.png

I've decided to give debuts to all 3 of them while filling the rest of the first team with our younger players. Playing Mohd Yusop on the right wing since he plays that role for his club.

The match started off with Hong Kong being much in control, but we slowly grew into the game. Selamat repaid my faith with a beautiful pass over the top, Raaj Baarathy controlled it with a good first touch, turned around and scored! Halftime came and I decided to pull out Brendan Gan as he was performing poorly, making 2 mistakes. We weren't doing too well in the second half, and sure enough, they equalized on the 68th minute. I was pretty enraged. Just have a look at the heat map! :/

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 1.45.36 PM.png

They scored in the 82nd minute. We suffered a loss. I have no words to say. Not to the team. Not to the press.

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 1.49.14 PM.png

I have no idea what these boys are thinking. Let's just hope we improve soon, in time for the match against Jordan.


If you enjoyed this entry, do check out my previous posts
from where it all started, right up to now.

The Malaysia Experiment - The Setup
The Malaysia Experiment - Welcome to Malaysia!
The Malaysia Experiment - Getting to Know the Players
The Malaysia Experiment - Why Wan?
The Malaysia Experiment - My Managerial Debut
The Malaysia Experiment - The First Step

Sort:  

ooooo. Wow i was never a football game kinda guy. but this is interesting nontheless!

ya. it's very geeky lah. last time they didn't even have 3d. my then girlfriend was asking why am I playing a game with just numbers. hahaha!

hahahah.. But i can imagine the allure of being a boss of your dream team. Myself I too sometimes play Rome2 Total War (the new DLC is cyka amazing) and pretend I'm the emperor of an empire spanning from Britain to Pakistan. feels good.

wow! you're like Genghis Khan or Alexander the Great! pretending is the first level. next level would be dressing up for the occasion. hahaha! will want to check out that game you mentioned.

Your post has been manually curated by elizacheng 💖

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94