The Malaysia Experiment - Welcome to Malaysia!

in #footballmanager6 years ago (edited)

I can't wait to hit the ground running, but first, Malaysia is actually ranked 164th here. Huge stadium capacity of 110,000. I've been there for a few events including a friendly between Manchester United and Malaysia. No points to guessing that the stadium was painted red (Manchester United's colors) instead of yellow or blue (Malaysia's colors). It ended an exciting 2-2 draw with a spectacular long-range shot from Amri Yahya which got the Manchester United supporters starting to cheer for Malaysia!

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.24.45 PM.png

I usually use my existing profile on all my saves and it had built up to be quite 'impressive'. Well, 2445 hours and counting - it has got to have some results to show for.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.26.11 PM.png

Interestingly, those skills aren't needed for handling Malaysia. A simple 2 clicks provided me with 'new' attributes suggested to manage Malaysia. Looks like they've just been reset! Sad, but this is the reality of football in Malaysia. :(

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.26.15 PM.png

Alright, I'm on board!

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.26.36 PM.png

Sorry Nelo Vingada. Looks like your services aren't needed anymore. Malaysia needs a local hero!

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.26.51 PM.png

Glad to have Tan Cheong Hoe on the team. A standard welcome but effective nonetheless. He's actually the current manager of Malaysia, as of August 2018 (in real life). I guess that explains the icy reception as he must have been vying for the top spot as well. He's had a good stint with Datuk K. Rajagopal during 2004-2013 where they won the 2009 Sea Games and earn all Malaysians a public holiday. Yes, we get public holidays for sporting achievements because they are hard to come by. And yes, that's how the coach got his 'datukship' in recognition of his success with the Harimau Malaya.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.30.24 PM.png

I had a brief tour of the trophy room, and indeed it was brief. 1 South East Asian Football Championship and 6 South East Asian Games Football Tournament. That's all. Well, let's hope to fill up the trophy cupboard in the near future (I do need to keep my job) and also dream the wildest dreams - Olympics or World Cup?

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.30.28 PM.png

A look into the record books we did place third in Asian Games Football Tournament, the last being also half a century ago. I've got a feeling our under 19 would fare pretty well pretty soon.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.30.55 PM.png

Nothing much on the history books but a few records that are hard to beat - 196 caps by R. Arumugam and 125 goals by Mokhtar Dahari. Did some cross checking with Wikipedia and the record for caps is actually 114 by Soh Chin Aun and Mokhtar Dahari only managed 50 goals. Almost all the information are pretty contradicting except for the highest FIFA ranking which was 75, achieved in August 1993, 25 years ago. It happened in my lifetime though! Suddenly feel very patriotic and I could hear "Negaraku", our national anthem, playing in the background.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 1.31.12 PM.png

Alright! My next match is a friendly against East Timor, 95 days away! I guess I could watch some games and scout some players. Did I mention that I'm paid £2,300 per week? That's more than RM12k a week, roughly RM50k a month, and 3 months before I actually meet up with my team and train. I could get used to this life!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by calebleejl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91