Travel Tip #12: How to Order Food in Thailand! In-Depth Look at What's Good! (16 food photos and descriptions)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Thailand is culinary paradise, that's if you know how to order. If you know what's good, if you know a few magic words, you're going to love eating in Thailand! The number one mistake many tourists and travelers make when they come to Thailand is they don't even order Thai food! They don't even try it! They order pizza, hamburgers, pasta, and fries; because that is what they know. Then they complain about it. What a tragedy!

Thai food is some of the most flavorful, exotic, and healthiest food on the planet. Their cuisine is full of natural herbs, spices, meat, vegetables, and more. Knowing how to order just makes it that much better. Two big tips for starters then we'll go plate by plate.

One, if you are in a touristy area you usually do not have to worry about this. If you are not in a touristy area, they often add MSG into their food, especially their soups. To make sure they don't add this addictive excito-toxin, the magic words are "No, Bun-Chu-Lote". No means no, and bun-chu-lote means MSG. So remember that, and you're golden anywhere in the country.

Secondly, if you do want western food, go to a place that is run by a foreigner, has a good reputation, or specializes in that specific western food. Many restaurants in Thailand will offer a big menu, ranging from pizza, to pasta, to even Mexican and French cuisine. Don't have high expectations for this food, as it's not what they know, it's not what they're good at. They often use cheap ingredients and just throw it together the best they can, often leaving you in disappointment.

Now lets have a look at what's good!

I led off with this dish as it's some serious Travel Pro ordering. This is my own request of Penang Curry with Shrimp and Bacon. Normally it's just the shrimp, but I asked them to fry up some bacon and throw it on top for an extra dollar! Penang Curry is a mild spicy coconut curry with your choice of meat with a slight fresh essence of lemon grass and lime leaves. Knowing bacon and seafood go together I had this masterpiece made with a side of rice. Delicious! Price $4.00

This is Spicy Chicken Tum Yum Soup with rice noodles. This is generally a clear spicy soup, but it doesn't have to be too hot. They use galangale (fresh Thai ginger), lemon grass, garlic, shallots, and tum yum paste for flavor, then they throw in whatever meat and vegetables they have to make it complete! Price $1.50.

This is Burmese Curry, a mild tasting meaty curry soup not very spicy. Sliced up steak goes well with this along with the potatoes that are traditionally part of the dish. Price $1.75

This is a traditional Thai Red Snapper freshly caught in the Gulf of Thailand. It's a very mild flaky sweet white meat, not "fishy" at all. You can find it at every beach front seafood restaurant. You want to choose the fish yourself, and always make sure to choose the fish with the clearest eyes, showing that it is the freshest. You can have it deep fried or steam grilled wrapped in a giant banana leaf. They offer several types of sauces to have with it. I went with the tradition Thai Chili sauce, which is a sweet and mildly spicy sauce with the juices of the fish and lemon. Fantastic. Price $14.00 800g fish with all you can eat salad buffet on the beach.

Traditional Minced Pork Stir Fried with Thai Holy Basil. A fresh and mildly spicy minced pork dish; a light soy sauce with the fresh basil and chilies really make this special. Always eaten with a side of rice. Price $2.50

Tom Kah, this is a traditional galangale and lemon grass soup in a coconut milk base. Super healthy and tasty. You choose the meat and they'll throw in whatever other vegetables they have lying around. Vegetarian is always an option too. This is not spicy but you can always add the spicy Thai condiments if you'd like. Price $1.75

Traditional Pad Thai. This is the most famous Thai dish. It's a rice noodle in a mild Pad-Thai sauce, a flavor hard to explain but it's mild and tasty. Choose your meat and they will stir-fry it with sliced cabbage, spring onions, an egg, and fresh bean sprouts. Every place makes this dish the same, but a little different and it's always fantastic! Price $1.75

This is the cousin of Pad Thai, Pat-Si-Ew. They stir-fry a wide flat rice noodle, meat, egg, mix of vegetables and a soy sauce to bring out the flavor. One of my favorite dishes. Price $1.50

Red Curry, this is a delicious coconut curry, mildly spiced and loaded with meat and vegetables including bamboo shoots and Thai eggplant. Very smooth fresh exotic taste, often had with a side of rice. $1.75

Green Curry. One of Thailand's most famous dishes; a delightfull mildly spiced coconut curry. Similar to the above red curry but with a slightly smoother more fragrant flavor. Price $1.75

Thai Chicken Spring Rolls. For a deep fried food this puts french fries to shame. Filled with chicken, shredded cabbage, carrot, and spring onions served with a sweet and spicy Thai chili sauce, you know this is going to be good! Price 1.75

Traditional Spicy Tum Yum soup. Same as before without noodles but instead a side of rice, ask for this spicy, and it will clear out your sinuses! Price $1.75

Here we have a little bit of everything, on wheels!

Not To be Missed!

Word Travel Report: Quito Ecuador

A Day in the Life! Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand

Real Life Captured on the Streets of Thong Sala, Island of Koh Pha Ngan Thailand (28 photos and historic description)

Travel Tip #11: Avoid Filler Food

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Delicious!

That's a seriously good list!
If I'm in a place for a while and what to have a "go-to" restaurant to fit around my meetings etc. I trial the restaurant by ordering Tom-Kha-Gai and Phad Thai. If they do those well, then I become a regular during my stay.

Thank you! Absolutely. I do a similar thing. The Rock Bar and Restaurant where i have designated my office has good food. They also own the resort I'm staying at, and the tour I did. I met the owner today and showed him the posts. He said I eat and drink for free for now on. Pretty cool!

Them travel-blogger perks :)

Nice to see your post doing so well fast!

Me too! Thanks Haas.

Excellent food photos, Dan. Keep doing these. You got good light. My food looks like prison food :)

Upvoted, resteemed, tweeting. I'm getting lots of retweets from outsiders on my travel for se asia and you are on that list generating traffic.

Awesome. Thank you so much Sharon. You've been a big help with my new found success on here. Incredible, I'm generating traffic on Twitter! Wow. Looking forward to hanging out in Bangkok!

Me too! Let's have some fun.

You are all over my twitter now with these good pics and text so keep up the good work!

First class, as always..

Thanks for your continued support. @Kayderross, you rock!

I just found you, so naturally following you now since i love to travel and eat around the world. I know they have many diffident kinds of peppers there, and knowing which ones to use and toooo avoid, tooo hot , is important, so perhaps a video on them would be invaluable for tourist. also upvoted you

I plan on doing a video of the market place next time I get a chance and talk abut the different....everything! Thanks for checking out my blog!

You are welcome

Thai food is one of my favorites! I love the red curry. My local Thai restaurant knows my order every time I walk in the door! I hope to travel to Thailand some day and experience the food and the scenery. Thank you very much for your excellent photos and explanations!

Thank you for sharing. Thai food is something to write home about, that's for sure!

Awesome post @world-travel-pro, i always love to read about travel and food - the perfect combination!;-) But something - in my opinion - is missing on your list; the amazing Thai hot pot! Have you tried it? If not, you shouldn't miss the chance to do so!;-) Some time ago, we also wrote an article about thai food, you find it here; https://steemit.com/food/@liflorence/eating-in-thailand-thai-hotpot

Yes, I've had many times overt the years. That's worthy of a post all for itself. I think you did a great job with yours. I'm going to be taking more food fotos and maybe that will show up. We'll see. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my work!

Your posts are so informative. I was thinking that if you haven't yet heard of it, you'd enjoy the smartpassiveincome.com podcast hosted by Pat Flynn. I think you may find the info right up your alley. I was turned onto it last month and I'm hooked.

With so much going on with steemit as I watch the sunset over the beach, I don't think I have time for much else. But thank you! Glad you enjoy my work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44