Travel Tip #11: Avoid Filler Food

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Going out to eat in just about every country in the world the money is made on soda, alcohol, and cheap filler food. Filler food is the mashed potatoes next to your steak, it's the french fries next to your burger, it's the rice next to your stir fry, It's the pasta in your shrimp linguini.

Filler food is basically your low nutrient cheap carbohydrate. A plate of 80% white rice two tiny pieces of meat and few vegetables is not what I'd be looking for in a quality meal. I try to eat at places serving lot's of meat and vegetables and I sometimes discard the filler food especially if it's really junky.

Every country has their filler food. In Central and South America it's plantains, yuca, rice, potatoes. In the US and Western Countries it's bread, french fries, pasta. Asia it's all different types of rice and noodles.

I'm not saying all filler food is bad. I believe in having a balanced diet; but see what the restaurant is dishing out and avoid those who offer a huge plate of filler food with not much else going for it.

World Travel Pro Flashback!

What is "Backpacker Paradise"?

World Travel Report: Ecuador

How to get the Best Deal on Airline Tickets?

World Travel Report: San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit to internationaltravellers.com

Sort:  

It's rather challenging to eat healthy while traveling, at times. However, there are a lot of ways to address the issue. For instance, you can purchase an electric steamer that can easily steam vegetables in a hotel room. If you must eat out, avoiding simple carbs is definitely a pro tip!

Beep beep. Hi @d-pend!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

Thanks brother! I appreciate the compliment...it a pro tip isn't it! Wait for my next travel tip...how to order food in Thailand. It's gonna be like a super post of all the incredible food I've ordered and why I didn't order speghetti with some crap sauce on top. All you need to know for your next trip to Thailand! If you've never been to this country it's a must go! Incredible food, culture, beaches and more!

I totally agree with you on this one. I'm upvoting and will promote on twitter :) BBQ meat and greens for the win!

Nice. I thought you'd like this one

Hi !
Please follow , voting and reply me

Filler food is something that is value for money. It's just to keep people full if they are on a tight budget :)

Of course it's a great value, when you buy it yourself and cook it at home. My whole article is about traveling and eating out, how you can pay restaurant prices and just get a pile of rice with a little nothin' next to it. Especially in south and central America you can run into this often.

Ya, unfortunately, that's how restaurants increase their profit margins.

Thanks for letting me know! Appreciate that ;)

The problem with filler food is that the proportions are huge, these days. So difficult to eat enormous plates of food! Great post, @world-travel-pro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65