STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #11 : The "Carefree Cow" Veggie Burger - Original Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)


It was down to a cow called Molly that I became vegetarian. I'll never forget the poignant footage of this cow making a mad dash for her life through the streets of New York, chased by multitudes of cops, after her courageous escape from the slaughterhouse. Absolutely terrified so she was, but thanks to all the publicity Molly was granted clemency, and taken to an animal shelter on an organic farm.  You should have seen how the other cows there greeted her, running up to her and mooing... it was really delightful.  That was the awakening moment for me – wholly realsing that these animals want to live.  And that I don't need to eat them.  
  

So why is this called The "Carefree Cow" Burger?  Because dear old Molly's still chewing her cud, and gets to be a cow instead of beef.  I definitely prefer a happy cow to a Happy Meal. 


You may also be wondering why my burger bun is green?  Well, since this week's 'Cheeseless Burger' theme encourages vegetarianism, I thought why not colour the buns with wheatgrass, in a show of solidarity with our fellow grass-eating friends :-)  


Many of you will have seen my previous Veggie Burger recipe, in which I used a mixture of various beans, as I find beans give a great 'meaty' texture.  A satisfying texture is often what many vegetarian products lack.  In this recipe I've used chickpeas and green mung beans, as I love the light and nutty taste of both, and they compliment each other very well.  I've also used kamut grain (khorasan wheat) which I ground into flour instead of using wholewheat flour, as kamut also has a nutty flavour and so works well with my choice of beans.  These nutty-tasting ingredients combined with the light sweetness of butternut squash, along with the crunchy golden-crumb coating, makes for sumptuous burgers, both in flavour and texture.  


When cooking I always prepare in bulk wherever possible, so I can freeze some for future meals, and also save on gas & electric.  Bread is pretty quick to prepare so I've just made enough for 2 here (one for me, one for hubby).  But the burger mixture makes enough for 6-8 large 'quarterpounder' sized burgers, so if you want to prepare less, just divide the quantities accordingly.  I also recommend using as many organic ingredients as possible, to avoid harmful artificial ingredients and chemical residues.  


What you will need:
 

For the burger buns (makes 2 large):
  

175g strong wholemeal bread flour  

15g butter  

1 tsp salt  

1 x 7g sachet dried yeast  

1 tblsp wheatgrass powder  

300ml warm water

Egg + golden linseed to top


 

For the burgers (makes 6-8 large):
  

1.5 cups cooked-from-dried chickpeas + 1.5 cups cooked-from-dried green mung beans  

1/2 butternut squash  

2 red onions  

6 cloves garlic  

1 tsp salt  

2 tsp black pepper  

1 tblsp parsley  

1 tblsp thyme  

1 tblsp oregano  

1 tblsp turmeric  

1 tsp paprika  

1 tsp chilli flakes  

1 large free-range egg  

100g kamut grain 

100g breadcrumbs


Method:


In a large bowl, rub the butter into the flour using your fingertips.



Stir in the salt, yeast and wheatgrass powder.



Add the water and mix in with your hand.  Knead for 10 minutes to form a smooth dough.  Add a little extra flour if the dough becomes too sticky.



Divide the dough into quarters and shape into balls.  Roll out each ball using a rolling pin to roughly the size of a side-plate (the dough will shrink when rising).  Place onto baking trays lightly dusted with wheatgrass powder (instead of flour, as we want to keep the dough green), and leave in  a warm place to rise for at least 30 minutes.



You see the dough has risen and also shrunk quite a bit, but still nice and big to home our big burgers.  They won't rise much more than this when baking, which is my preference as I find large dome-shaped buns annoying to bite!  These are like half buns, half flat-breads.  If you want fuller buns don't roll them as flat as I did, and they will rise up nice and plump.



Brush two of the four dough-rounds with egg and sprinkle with golden linseeds, or seeds of your preference.  These of course will be the top halves of the burgers, so no need to do the bottom halves.  Pop them into a preheated oven at 200 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes until firm.



In a large bowl, half-mash the chickpeas and green mung beans.  For how to cook beans from dried please see my previous post here.  I like to prepare beans in bulk and freeze them in little portion-sized jars, so they are easy to defrost overnight for the next day, as I use beans A LOT in vegetarian cooking.



Peel the onions and garlic.  Roughly chop the onion and mince in a food processor or manual veg chopper, along with the garlic.



Peel the butternut squash and chop into manageable chunks to grate.



Add the veg to the bowl, along with the salt, pepper, thyme, oregano, parsley, turmeric, paprika and chilli flakes, and mix well.



To prepare the kamut grain we need to grind it into a fine flour.  Some of you I know already have flour mills.  I don't, but what I do have works just as well - a coffee-grinder attachment for my blender.  (This is a great little gadget as you can grind nuts easily too).  Simply put the kamut into the grinder cup, and turn onto full power for about 30 seconds until it is finely ground.  Alternatively, if you don't have either kamut or a grinder/mill, you can use a different kind of flour or even ground nuts here.  



Add the ground kamut plus an egg to the bowl (for binding) and mix thoroughly.  I use my hand for this, squelching it through my fingers... Feels nice and getting messy is always fun!  The mixture should be pretty 'wet' and sticky.



Prepare the breadcrumbs using a manual veg chopper, a food processor or even a cheese grater.  The best breadcrumbs come from good quality bread (not that awful stretchy sliced processed bread), so I like my Wholewheat Irish Soda Bread for this as it really does make great crumb for coating things with.  Pour the crumbs onto a plate ready to coat the burgers.



Get a large handful of the burger mixture, about the size of a 'quarterpounder' and drop into the breadcrumbs.  Get your hand underneath it and quickly flip it over to coat the other side too.  They're pretty fragile at this stage, but firm up lovely when baked.



Place onto baking trays, and pop into a preheated oven at 200 degrees Celsius for 30 minutes until golden-brown and crunchy.



Slice up some veg to go inside the burger, such as onion and courgette.



Put the cooked burgers into the buns and leave the rest to cool... You can wrap them in greaseproof paper and freeze to eat another day (cook from frozen in a preheated oven at 200 degrees for 30 minutes).



Serve with homemade fries and a nice glass of fresh milk/milkshake!  



As usual, much appreciation to @englishtchrivy for hosting this challenge and giving us all a good reason to get creative!


Many thanks also to this week's judge @felixxx, and sponsors @smooth, @sirwinchester and @knozaki2015, and to everyone else involved in this challenge.


For more healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!  Thank you!


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

looks good!! up and resteemed**

Thank you @homeartpictures! Much appreciated!!!

@woman-onthe-wing
Congratulations!
You bagged the 4th place for the SCC #11

Find the new theme here!

Groovy :-) Thanks very much!!!

@woman-onthe-wing, see you on the next round? Congrats again!

I'm hoping to get chance to do it today :-) Thanks again @englishtchrivy!

Thanks for this! My wake-up moment (though I was heading towards vegetarianism) was being parked next to a truck of pigs on the way to the slaughterhouse. They sounded human - crying, frightened, doomed.

Ugh it's awful isn't it? And so often people say they're just dumb animals with no feelings comparable to those of humans :-( Thanks for commenting!

If people REALLY thought about that fact that pigs are as smart as dogs...perhaps they'd reconsider the whole meat-eating thing - along with, of course, knowing how the beef industry is contributing to global warming, that chickens are bred from chicks to full-size in 5 weeks, etc. etc. But, when we preach, no one listens, so I just try to gently persuade by my behavior, and when people as why, I will tell them.

I agree! People hate preachy veggies, though I suspect it's because deep down they know it's true, they just don't want to face the truth otherwise they'd be compelled to give up meat. Most meat-eaters I know won't even spend a little extra on free-range and it drives me crazy! I just sometimes post pictures on facebook of animals in their horrible captive environments, but of course no-one comments. In fact I think a lot have 'hidden' me on FB due to this ha ha!

I know what what you mean - esp when they are pet owners / animal lovers. When the story came out a while ago about some FDA regulation so that horse meat could be imported here (think that was it), there was an uproar. And people are generally appalled that dog meat is consumed in China. But somehow there is a disconnect between cows/chickens/fish/lobsters and other sea creatures/pigs and those other critters.

I like your food post. Good luck.

Thanks very much @shady! I saw your post but they won't allow it due to the cheese? It's a shame as it looked tasty!

It was my mistake.

Wow, amazing post! I know some vegetarians that would love it if I made this for them. Thanks so much for the inspiration

Thank you, I appreciate that! Perhaps you should do a veggie series, maybe based on some of your non-veggie recipes and link back, so people have a choice??? Just an idea as I think you said recently you weren't sure about the next step?

My next step,... yeah I don't know. I will consider your ideas though

Surely a recipe book is in the plan somewhere down the line :-)

@woman-onther-wing sorry for the late acknowledgement I was attending to something that might eat up my whole week, I may have a hard time catching up checking entries on time I can't even write a post.

I love your introduction and the fact that everything both buns and burgers are made from scratch, too. I wonder what it tastes like cause only today, yes TIL - kamut.
Good luck!

Thanks very much Ivy! Kamut is lovely, kinda like fat rice with a texture a bit similar to sweetcorn, and with a mild nutty flavour. Perfect with curries or just a simple kamut + cooked veg. You should definitely try some if you can buy it!

I hope some unexpected free time comes up during the week, giving you chance for a breather if not a post! :-)

@woman-onthe-wing I did look it up and would check out the organic store I buy groceries from if they really have it. Very curious :)

You'll have to let me know what you think! It takes about 45 minutes simmering to cook, but worth the time. I was also reading about a recent study on kamut flour vs regular wheat flour and the findings show bad cholesterol was significantly reduced, and blood levels of potassium & magnesium (minerals many people lack) were increased. So conclusion was it may be healthier. Really interesting!

@woman-onthe-wing first I will have to acquire it :D
I don't normally use flour - as you can see I barely bake
I have a gluten allergy
not that bad but I get atopic atsutsu tsu on my arms sometimes. Lasts 3 - 4 days but not that bad so I barely bake or eat anything with flour.
The bread I eat are always organic and made from other flour so I wonder what's kamut like. Would do!

Oh I see, sorry I must have missed you mentioning that in previous posts! Kamut is a relative of durum wheat so contains gluten... though I'm not sure if it causes reactions as bad or not. I want to increase my knowledge of alternative grains and flours and experiment with them in baking, so perhaps one of these days I will start posting recipes you can actually eat!!!

I love the story of Molly @woman-onthe-wing! As always your photos are incredible. I particularly like the before and after shot of the kamut grain, from whole kernel to finely ground. Well done!

Congrats for placing in the contest. I knew this was a great entry!

I see now, it is sad that people eat so much meat, but on the other hand animals eat animals too. I try to eat less meat, but it doesn't always work out. I think they meat should cost a lot more than it does, at least here, veggies are sort of expensive and meats on the other hand are way cheaper, it should be the other way around and perhaps it would encourage people to have a more healthy diet too.

I agree! I think the value we put on the lives of animals is atrocious, and I hope I'd be worth more than that if ever I was sold for meat haha! And yes, also health issues too as some people literally eat meat for every meal. It appears our bodies genuinely need some nutrients from animals, so I still eat eggs, butter, milk, yoghurt and cheese. I think vegans can encounter health problems if they don't take supplements, though some people contend we don't need anything from animals. Each to their own, though I will never agree with how poorly we can treat animals, and it's not worth it for a nice slab of steak (or whatever) no matter how sumptuous it is!!! :-)

I don't know if I could ever stop eating meat, so embarrassing to admit to a vegetarian... I do love animals and it hurts my heart to see them suffer, but when I don't think about it I eat meat without a second thought :(. Where I'm from nobody is a vegetarian, or rather nobody I know and meat does cost way more than veggies compared to America, their prices are like next to nothing when in season, this is one thing i like about crimea haha. when I lived back there I think I didn't eat as much meat as I do here, I should really reconsider my diet.

I think each of us just has to pay attention to what our bodies are saying, as they usually complain if we feed them something disagreeable, and they feel good when we give them nourishment. I guess the same is true for our personal sense of ethics. We're just not very good at paying attention to either our bodies or our moral compass, because our thoughts are full of consumer cravings and tasty menu options and our brains are temporarily hijacked by flavourings and sugar and excitotoxins!!! And then it's funny what we start to notice about our bodies and true ethical stance when we pay attention :-) But just because you eat meat don't be thinking I as a veggie think less of you! It's not my place even to have an opinion about anyone else's choices... we all know deep down what's right and wrong

You are very right about cravings and food ads that surround us. There's another thing, all meat is already sliced up and cut and packaged in the stores, the factories/shops seem to remove any reminder that it comes from actual once alive beings, have you noticed that meat is called "NY strip" or "T-bone" whatever even the names of it are some dishes, you won't even begin thinking of an animal at a slaughterhouse, it is sad. But yeah, here's to eating more veggies and cutting down on flesh for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58271.24
ETH 3134.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22