Batch Cooking & Freezing Beans (from Dried)- The Easiest and Most Efficient Method

in #food8 years ago (edited)


I was always reluctant to cook beans-from-dried on the hob, as it takes 1 1/2 - 2 hours, and that's a lot of gas/electric.  Of course there's the easy tinned option, but since most tins are lined with BPA - even organic - I don't really fancy eating them myself or feeding them to my baby.  As a vegetarian I really need the option of beans in my diet, so now I cook dried organic beans in bulk and freeze them in little portion-sized jars I save (mustard & pesto jars etc are the perfect size for one person).


I buy different types of beans each time I use up the last lot, for variation in taste and nutrition.  This time I have black turtle beans and pinto beans.  I know the colour from the black beans will stain the pinto, but that doesn't matter, unless for some reason you need to maintain the original colour (for blog photos perhaps).  I get the 500g size packets and do two different types at once, so that's obviously 1kg in total.  I find this quantity fills about 18-20 little jars, and that keeps me going for quite a while.



Most if not all types of beans contain a toxin called phytohaemagglutinin in varying amounts.  Kidney beans, for example, are particularly high in this toxin and so you must be careful to ensure they're cooked properly.  They can make you really sick, even from eating literally four or five improperly cooked beans.  So, although many people wouldn't be quite as thorough as I am, since I'm feeding these to my baby I figure I can't be too careful.   


Method:


First I empty the packets into a colander/sieve and rinse thoroughly under cold water.



Next I empty the rinsed beans into a large pot and cover with plenty of water.  They need to soak overnight for 12-24 hours.  This decreases cooking time dramatically, and with some beans is also an important step in removing the toxins.




The next day, empty the soaked beans into a colander again to rinse thoroughly and drain off the water.  You can see the colour of it in the tub underneath!  You can also see how they have increased in bulk now they've soaked up the water and softened up a bit.



Put the rinsed beans back into a large pot, and cover with fresh water (if you use boiling water this step will be quicker). Boil rapidly for 10 minutes - this is especially important for kidney beans.



I don't know if this is necessary, but I pour away the water again after boiling the beans (like I said I can't be too careful with a baby).  Transfer the beans to a suitable large oven pot, such as this cast-iron one and cover with fresh boiling water.  The beans will double in size during cooking so they need plenty of water and plenty of room to expand.  Pop into the oven at 200 degrees Ceclius for about 2 hours.  



The last thing you want is undercooked beans after all this effort, so make sure they're ready.  You can tell when they're properly cooked as they will 'smush' easily if you squeeze them between your fingers.  If they are still quite firm when you do this, cook them for a while longer.



When you're sure they're done, drain in a colander/sieve or they will carry on cooking if left in the water.  You can see they have doubled in volume now they're cooked, and I have to use 2 colanders!  Allow to cool before putting into jars.



If, like me, you intend on feeding a baby with these, I recommend sterilising the jars by first washing them in hot soapy water, rinsing, and then heating in a hot oven for about 10 minutes or so (lids as well as long as they're not plastic!)



Using a spoon or simply scooping the beans into the jars, fill them up and screw on the lids.  You can now put them into the freezer and they'll stay fresh for about 6 months.  In the refrigerator they will stay fresh for up to 3 days.  



To defrost I simply take a jar out of the freezer the night before if I want to use them in the morning, or take them out in the morning to use them for my dinner later on.  They are great to use in all kinds of dishes as an alternative to meat or simply as an extra bit of nutrition.  I like to use them in my Vegetarian Curry, homemade Falafels (for these I mostly use chickpeas, but you can use any kind of bean), Easy-Peasy Crunchy Chickpeas, Sweet Cinnamon Crunchy Chickpeas, veggie burgers (recipe coming soon), homemade baked beans (recipe coming soon)... just to name a few!



If you enjoyed this post, please follow me and you can look forward to more yummy and healthy recipes, amongst other things!     


Many thanks.  

 
For extra tips on health, weight loss & information about natural foods you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/ 


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper


All photos in this post are my own original

Sort:  

Great post! Now I know how to prepare all my black beans that I grew in my garden.

That's brilliant @trosnelli, I'm so pleased you found my post helpful!!! :-) I don't suppose you've done a post on your homegrown beans have you? I'd be so interested to see!

Congratulations another post very practical and didactic explanations magnificent, beautiful photographs, excellent recipes, brilliant work @ woman-onthe-wing, beautiful logo congratulations

Thanks very much, I appreciate all you said there!

Hiya. Very useful recipe, as there are lots of vegetarians here. I want to put you on my list of recipes for consideration by SteemTrail today, but I need you to put in a line about the pics first. Although I can see that they're all your own, SteemTrail still needs you to specifically say so. Just a line at the end is fine.

Hi @kiwideb, I have just updated with a line about the photos. Someone else mentioned it too and I just keep forgetting to say! Thanks very much :-) Also, I'm a little confused about what Steem Trail is... I read both posts on the Steem Trail profile and to be honest I'm not really any the wiser!?

basically, it gives people who haven't been voting the opportunity to "give" their voting rights to SteemTrail to vote on their behalf. As curators, our job is to find suitable posts, especially from new members who might otherwise be hidden. And to help newcomers to the categories we curate with how to present themselves.

Ah, okay, thanks. Good idea!

Wow, that's what I need! Can you believe it, it has never occured to me that I can freeze beans and keep them in stock in that way, instead of keeping stock of canned beans (which are expensive).

I have a pressure cooker and it's such a great thing for cooking beans, literally takes 2-3 times less time! So with that cooking beans is relatively easy, but if I forgot to do soak - than no beans. This will solve the problem =)

I change the water after soaking and rinse thoroughly, but I don't change water while boiling... I hope it's ok...

The harmful toxins are highest in red kidney beans and much lower in others. As I understand it the toxins are released through soaking dried beans for about 12 hours, so once that water is poured away I don't think it's really necessary to rinse them again after boiling... I was just being very cautious when I wrote this post as my baby was still a baby and didn't want to risk it! I'm really happy you found this post helpful @steemitbaby, and now you can prepare in bulk for much less cost, hooray! :-)

yaay))) Next time I pressure-cook beans, I'll put in 5 times more)))

The thing is, I also have a baby, he's just 6-months-old, I don't give him beans yet, but I will in 1-2 months, and I've never heard about such precaution, I'll probably need to do it as well.

Can you please see my post about introducing first food to a baby? on the top of my page. I really need some advice on that :) (not asking to upvote, just genuily looking for support)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05