You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #11 : The "Carefree Cow" Veggie Burger - Original Recipe

in #food8 years ago

@woman-onther-wing sorry for the late acknowledgement I was attending to something that might eat up my whole week, I may have a hard time catching up checking entries on time I can't even write a post.

I love your introduction and the fact that everything both buns and burgers are made from scratch, too. I wonder what it tastes like cause only today, yes TIL - kamut.
Good luck!

Sort:  

Thanks very much Ivy! Kamut is lovely, kinda like fat rice with a texture a bit similar to sweetcorn, and with a mild nutty flavour. Perfect with curries or just a simple kamut + cooked veg. You should definitely try some if you can buy it!

I hope some unexpected free time comes up during the week, giving you chance for a breather if not a post! :-)

@woman-onthe-wing I did look it up and would check out the organic store I buy groceries from if they really have it. Very curious :)

You'll have to let me know what you think! It takes about 45 minutes simmering to cook, but worth the time. I was also reading about a recent study on kamut flour vs regular wheat flour and the findings show bad cholesterol was significantly reduced, and blood levels of potassium & magnesium (minerals many people lack) were increased. So conclusion was it may be healthier. Really interesting!

@woman-onthe-wing first I will have to acquire it :D
I don't normally use flour - as you can see I barely bake
I have a gluten allergy
not that bad but I get atopic atsutsu tsu on my arms sometimes. Lasts 3 - 4 days but not that bad so I barely bake or eat anything with flour.
The bread I eat are always organic and made from other flour so I wonder what's kamut like. Would do!

Oh I see, sorry I must have missed you mentioning that in previous posts! Kamut is a relative of durum wheat so contains gluten... though I'm not sure if it causes reactions as bad or not. I want to increase my knowledge of alternative grains and flours and experiment with them in baking, so perhaps one of these days I will start posting recipes you can actually eat!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59622.00
ETH 2549.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53