You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #11 : The "Carefree Cow" Veggie Burger - Original Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I see now, it is sad that people eat so much meat, but on the other hand animals eat animals too. I try to eat less meat, but it doesn't always work out. I think they meat should cost a lot more than it does, at least here, veggies are sort of expensive and meats on the other hand are way cheaper, it should be the other way around and perhaps it would encourage people to have a more healthy diet too.

Sort:  

I agree! I think the value we put on the lives of animals is atrocious, and I hope I'd be worth more than that if ever I was sold for meat haha! And yes, also health issues too as some people literally eat meat for every meal. It appears our bodies genuinely need some nutrients from animals, so I still eat eggs, butter, milk, yoghurt and cheese. I think vegans can encounter health problems if they don't take supplements, though some people contend we don't need anything from animals. Each to their own, though I will never agree with how poorly we can treat animals, and it's not worth it for a nice slab of steak (or whatever) no matter how sumptuous it is!!! :-)

I don't know if I could ever stop eating meat, so embarrassing to admit to a vegetarian... I do love animals and it hurts my heart to see them suffer, but when I don't think about it I eat meat without a second thought :(. Where I'm from nobody is a vegetarian, or rather nobody I know and meat does cost way more than veggies compared to America, their prices are like next to nothing when in season, this is one thing i like about crimea haha. when I lived back there I think I didn't eat as much meat as I do here, I should really reconsider my diet.

I think each of us just has to pay attention to what our bodies are saying, as they usually complain if we feed them something disagreeable, and they feel good when we give them nourishment. I guess the same is true for our personal sense of ethics. We're just not very good at paying attention to either our bodies or our moral compass, because our thoughts are full of consumer cravings and tasty menu options and our brains are temporarily hijacked by flavourings and sugar and excitotoxins!!! And then it's funny what we start to notice about our bodies and true ethical stance when we pay attention :-) But just because you eat meat don't be thinking I as a veggie think less of you! It's not my place even to have an opinion about anyone else's choices... we all know deep down what's right and wrong

You are very right about cravings and food ads that surround us. There's another thing, all meat is already sliced up and cut and packaged in the stores, the factories/shops seem to remove any reminder that it comes from actual once alive beings, have you noticed that meat is called "NY strip" or "T-bone" whatever even the names of it are some dishes, you won't even begin thinking of an animal at a slaughterhouse, it is sad. But yeah, here's to eating more veggies and cutting down on flesh for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56