VEGAN TIPS🎆 Monday motivation on healthy living- tips and tricks for everyone!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Hi dear friends! It's Monday and time for a new week filled with opportunities and a chance to do whatever you desire!

I want to start this week with an article about simple and healthy living and how to make the RIGHT choices.

In this article I will share some tips and tricks that you can use for yourself, your family and especially for toddlers!

This post is my contribution to @lenasveganliving and her wonderful contest, the #fruitsandveggiesmonday .
If you don't know about her challenge yet, be sure to check out her latest post about her contest!

BREAKFAST INSPIRATION

Breakfast porridge is all about the toppings. Add fruits, seeds, nut/coconut butter, something sweet, something crunchy, berries, cacao nibs, and some flax seeds or chia seeds for the omega 3. Sometimes I even add blue sprulina for the B12 vitamins.

Breakfast for children

For my toddler I also add some berry powder or frozen berries to make it sweeter but also to get in the extra vitamins for him. I also love to add some natural protein powder to our oatmeal.
To make a breakfast even more nourishing, try to add some more flavour with cinnamon, cacao or cardamom!
Our breakfast contains probably all we need in nutrients for one day.

SOUP


Soup is always a great choice when you need something warm and healthy.
When we were sick last week, we enjoyed soup a lot and added all the veggies we had at home. And also some chickpeas and lentils for the carbs and nutrients.

Healthy food for CHILDREN

The trick with small children is to offer healthy high carb meals, based on legumes and wholefoods.
I always make sure to have some legumes in our food, nuts or seeds and a lot of veggies.

Children tend to love carbs and sweets a lot, and they actually need it to grow and to keep a high energy level. So always offer the best carbs (legume pasta, nature rice cooked with lentils, oats with flax seeds, cold potatoes with a dip sauce made of avocado, seeds, nuts or legumes, nut and seed butter.), and the healthiest sugars (fruits, berries or berry powder, dried fruits and berries, cacao nibs instead of chocolate, and so on).

My child has never tried any food with refined sugar, no meat, no fish, no dairy products and no eggs. We don't give him dates or any other sweetener at all.
99% of the time we don't eat gluten. This is very simple to do if you are used to it. It is all about the habits.

I also add herbs and spices to our meals to get that delicious taste and also for the benefits from nutrients. No to sport for my child though, than he doesn't like it.

SIMPLIFY

SIMPLICITY is the keywords when it comes to healthy food for our children. And than let them decide what and how much. We always give him the same food as we eat, no difference (only not THAT spicy for him). Children want to do and eat everything we do and eat, so just be a good example and your child will do the same.

Grocery Shopping - Food

When we do our grocery shoppings, we buy at least 90% wholefoods (veggies, fruits, nuts, seeds and legumes) and not more than 10% procceced food (oat milk, dark chocolate sometimes, legume pasta, virgin oils). We don't buy the cheapest products, we focus on quality rather than quantity. To choose organic products is to make sure your food is healthier and made without the use of poisons as pesticides and GMO. Even with a low income you can afford organic food. You just have to make your priorities.

Make a Plan

If you want to make healthy eating to a habit, make a simple plan.

✔Meal plan for every day a week. At least breakfast and big lunch (that you can have for dinner. Or a big dinner that is enough for lunch the next day.)
✔Food budget for every week to keep control over your food shopping.
✔80-20 rule: 80% wholefoods and 20% procceced food.
✔Never go food shopping on a empty stomach! (Because when we are hungry, we tent to buy a lot more than what we actually need.)
✔Make a shopping list when you go to a grocery store.
✔Skip the dairy, meat, sweets and soft drinks section jn the store. Straight ahead to the vegetables and fruits section.
✔Choose fresh fruits and veggies rather than frozen.
✔Limit your oil and salt consume. Add sea or Himalaya salt to your food, and no procceced oils.
If you think it is to expensive to bake and cook with virgin coconut oil, than try to do it without ANY oil instead of buying cheap proceeded oil.

Do you want to share some more tips with me? Write them in the comments and I will add them to the list!

If you liked my input about a healthy living, feel free to upvote, resteem and comment! I am happy to get your feedback about this topic.

Please note: these are my values and thoughts, only YOU can know what's right for YOU, so use my tips for inspiration rather than advices written in stone.:)
All content and photography is mine.

Proud member of:

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Love, Niina

Ps. Check out my instagram and blog for many simple and healthy vegan recipes!

Sort:  

Lovely post and great advice for feeding toddlers.

Thank you so much! I really appriciate your feedback;)

Simplify and male a plan.. great tips @vegan.niinja! Enjoyed reading this post which can be very helpful for the starting vegan with kids!

Yes it can! Thanks a lot Amy, happy I could inspire;)

This is very helpful information. It's not an easy lifestyle to live by but planning makes it much easier.

Yes it gets easier with time and planning! Thank you so much for your feedback!

Really good tips! Planning your meals also makes sure you don't waste all the good food you buy. There's nothing worse than finding 5 rotten avocados in the bottom of the fridge:(

Your breakfast is beautiful!!! I've been buying steel-cut oatmeal. Is there a big value vs. rolled oats?

I posted a vegan joke this morning - you may like it -
https://steemit.com/comedyopenmic/@popsoz/let-s-be-sensitive-to-vegans-when-we-take-photos-please

Thank you so much for your feedback. Yes to limit your food waste is very good, and that also save you a lot of money. Better to buy to little than to much!;)

Will check out your vegan joke, love the idea of it!

For breakfast I always use rolled oats, quinoa, amaranth or millet, steel-cut oats are great instead of rice I think, they are not that processed as rolled oats I guess, so yes, they could be more healthy. Here you can read more about it;)

Thanks for the info! It's a tradeoff too about less processing vs. more cooking time.

yes it is indeed!

Yummy! Your photos arouse my appetite:). But I have already late night and I can not afford it :). All your advice is very correct. I liked the first point of your plan - to make a menu for each day of the week. I'll try to use it for me. Thank You!

You are so welcome dear! Really love that you can use one of these tips for yourself;) We have a menu for every day of the week, very simple so we can change the side dishes after mood. Works very well when you have a family to cook for!

Interesting tips thanks for sharing, everything looks great, happy start of the week! @vengan.niinja

You too my dear!

Excellent tips my friend! You know I am 100% behind menu and meal planning! 😃

Yea meal planning is so great! Thanks Katie!

What a great post! Thanks for all the information and tips! Very detailed, relevant and easy to follow. I'll certainly be following your blog from now on!

Thank you so much my dear!!!

Look really delicious, When I see this post make me very hungry. I would like to invite you to join my foodchallenge. You can win steem dollar and steem from me. If you would like to join please click the links below. Upvoted and Greeting from @chanthasam

https://steemit.com/foodchallenge/@chanthasam/win-steem-dollar-and-get-steem-with-food-challenge

Thank you so much for inviting me!

Nice and useful post and a definitely well deserved first prize! Congratulations!
We love soup with chickpeas too! It is our favorite and we cook it at least once and sometimes twice a week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56