The "3H Principle" of Choosing the Perfect Watermelon

in #food6 years ago (edited)

They are fresh, light and sweeten any sunny day - watermelons are the perfect summer fruit. But it can be so disappointing when we open our watermelon and discover that it is totally pale inside, overripe or simply tasteless. 

Sometimes we have just bad luck, I have to admit, but in most of the cases, knowing the right criteria for a perfect watermelon makes the difference between a tasteless ball of water or a juicy and flavorful melon experience. I am sure that everyone can do it by just following three easy criteria for perfectly ripe watermelons. I call it the...

„3H Principle" for the perfect watermelon

       

            🍉 HONEY golden spot

            🍉 HEAVIER than expected 

            🍉 HOLLOW sound


The golden spot to happiness - HONEY

First, search for a yellow spot. It indicates that the melon had enough time to ripen on the field, which gave it this spot from the contact with the ground. Try to opt for melons with a deep yellow spot and avoid the ones with only a pale or even white one. The size of the spot is not relevant though. In addition, always prefer those with a dark green color rather than the brighter ones. 

No place for light-weights - HEAVIER

Now lift the pre-selected melon and let your feeling decide if the melon is heavier than expected for its size. This is the one that gets a ticket to the next round. 

Make some noise - HOLLOW 

Give it a gentle knock with your fingers, we are searching for a deep hollow sound. If it is dull instead, this might indicate that the watermelon’s flesh is either not ripe at all or already overripe. The surface should be firm without any damaged, soft spots. 

A sweet story about the bees...

For the especially picky foodies out there, there is bonus criteria you can look for: You might sometimes find little brown notches on the melons, kind of if they have been engraved. This is an indication for exceptional sweetness. I was once told that it means the bees smelled its rich flavor and tried to make their way through the melon's skin. 

In the end, try to listen to your instinct, it knows much more that we give it credit for - trust its opinion and you might be surprised. Don't worry if you pick a bad one now and then, your skills as watermelon hunter will grow with every juicy choice you make and you will definitely know the drill before the melon season comes to an end. 

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.  

🍓Hungry for more healthy nuggets? Check out my other raw vegan recipes:    

🗺 Time for some adventures - follow me around the world:    

🌟Let me inspire you to explore your full potential, with these lifestyle stories:  

Sort:  

I needed to read this article when I was living in India!! I love watermelon, I used to eat at least 3 kg of it every single day... So refreshing!!

So cool, but I bet you already got lucky with your melon choices, right? Otherwise you might have not enjoyed them so much 😁

I recently heard that India is one of the countries with the most organic produce compared to conventional farming. Since I am really into environmental-friendly consumption, did you find a lot of organic fruits and veggies on the markets there? 🍉🍌🍅🍊🥝

We are about to be in prime watermelon season, so great tips to remember for sure! :)

Perfect timing, right? I just finished my 10 day watermelon island about a week ago, during which I learned a lot about the perfect melon choices - after playing the 3H game every day for several times 😁

Wow didn't know. I'll keep these tips in mind next time I buy a watermelon. Have a lovely day!

I tend to research on a lot of fruits and their signs of perfect ripeness these days - I was often surprised to learn that I didn’t like something at first, but just because it wasn’t at its peak ripeness 😋

So much to learn and discover. My fav remains the soursop. I actually had that with papaya. Only like them when they are super ripe.

I haven’t had a good soursop yet, at least I think it was not perfect because I did not like it that much 😄 Oh yes, I tried imported papaya in Germany before my traveling and it was never tasty 🙈 Here in SEA I have fallen in love with it ☺️💚

They need to be really soft to the touch when you eat them. The skin will already have a few black spots when ready. Hope you find a good one one day!

Great, thank you! I will touch and observe every soursop that crosses my way on the next fruit stall ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39