Packet Meals - Marinade Part 3 - Chicken Fried Rice

in #food6 years ago

Chicken Fried Rice

This is part 3 of the 4 part Marinades series that started way back with Spicy Chicken Burgers in mid February. It continued in late June with Mexican-ish things. At this rate I might finish the Christmas gift from my brother before Christmas comes around again.

Anyway, this time it's more chicken, because I love it. And because it's cheap.

Chicken Fried Rice - Served.jpg
I wasn't feeling coordinated on this day, so fork it is.

Ingredients

Chicken Fried Rice - Ingredients.jpg
These are all the things except the core ingredient that was already marinading by this point

Chicken Fried Rice - Chicken and marinade.jpg
The day before, I did however remember to take this picture of the star of the show

1 Chicken Breast
1 bottle Barbeque Marinade
1/2 Onion, finely sliced
1 Zucchini, diced
1 Green Capsicum, diced
1 Egg
Spring Onions
Crushed Garlic
GInger
Chili
Rice, Cooked and Cooled
Oil
Soy Sauce

Method

  • Slice the **Chicken **into the sized pieces you want. I went with a bit under 1cm thick.
  • Put the chicken in a bowl and pour in the Marinade.
  • Mix around and make sure all the chicken is below the surface.
  • Cover and refridgerate for at least 4 hours. Overnight is good.
  • Prepare all your ingredients. Aim for similar sized pieces.
  • Heat the **Oil **in a wok. Get it to a point where it flows aroudn the wok easily.
  • Add the **Onion **to the wok, and about 1 tablespoon of Garlic, 1 teaspoon of Ginger, and 1 teaspoon Chili (more or less depending on how spicy you want). Keep things moving pretty much all the time.
  • Give the onion a minute before adding the Capsicum in and mixing things around still.

Chicken Fried Rice - First In Wok.jpg
I really needed a few earlier shots, maybe one of all the ingredients prepared, but I failed at doing that this time

  • After another couple of minutes add in the Zucchini. You're constantly stiring still too.

Chicken Fried Rice - Second in Wok.jpg
My zucchini was getting old, so I actually got rid of the skin giving a nice white colour into the pan

  • Add the Chicken and Marinade to the wok.
  • Mix and keep things moving for 3 or 4 minutes.
  • Dump in your Rice. I use leftovers from my rice cooker that I cool in a take away container.

Chicken Fried Rice - Rice added.jpg
Something needs to be done about that container shaped lump of rice

  • Break up the rice and mix it in well with everything else in the pan. I use the end of my spatula to break it into smaller and smaller pieces and eventually the heat and stiring will separate the rest.
  • Cook until the rice has separated properly and the other ingredients are well mixed into the rice.
  • Create a space in the base of the wok for your Egg.

Chicken Fried Rice - Prepare for Egg.jpg
This is possibly the best I've managed at 'creating a well' for dropping the egg onto the pan to cook

  • Add the egg in and let it sit for a minute or so to get some of the white cooked. If you want more bits of fried egg, let it cook longer.

Chicken Fried Rice - Egg before breaking up.jpg
This was just before I broke my egg up and mixed it into everything

  • Pour about 1 tablespoon of Soy Sauce into the ring of rice mixture.
  • Break up the egg. It should partly vanish into the mixture (which will become thicker), and partly be strips or pieces of fried egg. Stir it through well.
  • Slice up as much Spring Onion as you want to use (I had 3 that needed using), and however much of the white and green sections as you like.
  • Add the spring onion in and stir it in well.

Chicken Fried Rice - nearly done.jpg
I think I took this after I'd served my 'eat now' serving up. It really didn't shrink this much in cooking

  • Serve and enjoy

Chicken Fried Rice - Served.jpg
I'm thinking I need some plain bowls for better contrast between the food and the bowl.

Thoughts

  • This was a very good barbeque flavoured marinade. It came through well and wasn't drowned out by the chili.
  • I love stirfrys for using up veggies that are near their end of life. Got rid of a couple of soft spots in the capsicum and the skin from the zucchini, but still had lots of useable sections. Great way to minimize waste when you've bought too much and it's got to the end of it's useful period before you wanted.
  • Think this made 3 servings for me. Could easily have had more chicken in the marinade, and more veggies to bulk it out to make 4-6 serves without too much of an issue.
  • As usual with these purchased marinades, they're a convenience. A home made marinade would work just as well.
  • I could have added the garlic, ginger, soy and chili to the marinade if I'd been thinking about it at the time.

Previous Packet Meals

Hearty Vegetable and Barley Soup
Marinades Part 2
Butter Chicken
Beef and Red Wine Casserole
Country Beef Casserole
Marinades Part 1
Creamy Herb and Garlic Potato Bake
Chicken Korma
Steak, Veggies and Diane Sauce
Farmhouse Chicken Casserole


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Thank you for this recipe. I will most definitely have to try it. Doesn't it just look delicious!

Anytime. It was pretty decent. This is my sort of lazy cooking. Though writing it out made me think it wasn't nearly as lazy as I think

Spring onion makes things better. Sprat and I went through a period where we put it in almost everything XD

I've never actually done the egg in the same pan either. Now I have an excuse as everyone that wants fried egg wants their own fried egg either on top or off to the side to mix in themselves but I didn't do it when it was just me and I don't know why XD

Possibly habit. If you always cook them in a separate pan for others, you'll just grab a separate pan to cook the egg, even though you don't care if it's already mixed in or not.

I never seem to get through the bunch of spring onions in time, but they do go well in everything.

Congratulations @ratticus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71