Packet Meals - Marinades part 1

in #food6 years ago

Introduction

For Christmas part of my present from my brother and his wife was a set of 4 marinades from "The Fabulous Food Company", which appears to be a Target (Australia) label for a collection of Australian food products that they sell as though they're their own.

2018-02-09 16.31.53.jpg
The present, with it's plastic wrapping removed

First Marinade

I chose to use the spicy garlic marinade first up, as I had some chicken tenderloins that needed using and figured that it would go nicely with them. I put the 4 tenderloins into a take away container and poured in about half of the 45ml bottle, which was enough to coat them and have them sitting in the liquid.

First impression was that it was quite a liquid marinade, and I'm used to working with much thicker ones, or larger volumes, so I wasn't sure how well the flavour was going to penetrate the meat. I rolled the meat around in the liquid before leaving it overnight in the fridge. I repeated the mixing in the morning and left them for the morning before cooking them up for a late lunch.

2018-02-10 18.32.20.jpg
When you have take away containers, you don't need a special marinading dish

Cooking

After enough marinading time (otherwise known as when I started to get hungry), I heated my fry pan and placed the tenderloins into the pan. I drizzled about half the marinade from the container over them and let them cook for a few minutes.

2018-02-10 18.34.25.jpg
partially cooked chicken is rarely very appealing

After turning them, I drizzled the rest of the container contents over them. After a few minutes cooking I turned them back over and removed the pan from the heat. I left the meat in the pan until the chips were pretty much finished before plating up.

2018-02-10 18.37.24.jpg
mostly cooked chicken is much more appealing

My meal

I paired the tenderloins with a chip butty, and extra chips, and a couple of mini brioche buns. I used the buns to have spicy pulled chicken rolls.

2018-02-10 18.47.20.jpg
For the chip butty, just fold in half and enjoy

The verdict

I was surprised from the first bite. The amount of heat in the marinade was certainly impressive and more than I'd anticipated from the product. It had also gotten into the chicken well, though the garlic was seemingly absent, or just obliterated by the spicy, which didn't seem to be that balanced with any other flavours it was supposed to convey.

The chicken was cooked pretty perfectly, and was quite easy to pull apart with just a fork to make my pulled chicken sliders. They were a nice idea and while could have done with a slaw, it was a good simple addition.

2018-02-10 18.53.50.jpg
while you can see a knife, it wasn't used to shred the chicken for the roll

The chip butty is something I enjoy, but I never put enough butter (or margarine) onto my bread to make it drip. I've been known to add sriracha to mine recently, but traditionally it's just white bread, butter, and hot chips. Always tasty and a requirement when I have hot chips is at least 1 slice of buttered bread.

Previous Packet Meals

Creamy Herb and Garlic Potato Bake
Chicken Korma
Steak, Veggies and Diane Sauce
Farmhouse Chicken Casserole
Pasta Carbonara
Roast Chicken, Veggies and Gravy
Chicken and Mushroom Risotto
Spanish Chicken and Chorizo Paella


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Worlds Greatest Shave.jpg

Donations/Sponsorship always accepted - Sponsor me here

Actual Shave Date is looking like being the first weekend in March

Sort:  

Marinating is best done overnight, so that it completely infuses into the flesh.

My mouth is currently watering, and I want what you had.
🤤

absolutely. There are some marinades on some items that are better for short periods, but in general overnight is the only way I marinade things

Straight after reading this, I went and got a chicken wrap.... man, you made me sooo hungry!!!! LOL

Seems that so many of my posts make people hungry and hunting food. I consider it a service to the community and I wish I could actually do something to share the actual food with the community

Hello there!

This post has been upvoted as a thank you for supporting @sexywhalebot.

Have a sexy and profitable day! : ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70