Packet Meals - Hearty Vegetable and Barley Soup

in #food6 years ago

Hearty Vegetable and Barley Soup

2018-09-22 16.08.24.jpg
Nice and warming on a wintery day

So when a can of soup appeared in my packet meals supplies after raiding my mum's pantry while clearing out the house I was wondering what I'd do with it. Turns out, I'd turn it into something quite tasty and filling.

Ingredients

Can of Heinz Hearty Vegetable and Barley Soup
2 Shortcut Bacon, diced
3* slices Bread
Butter

* It was the end of a Crusty Loaf. If it was a normal loaf I'd use 2 slices. Also likely only 2 from the middle of the loaf, depending on how much you like croutons.

Method

  • Empty the can of soup into a saucepan.
  • Add 1/3 to 1/2 can of water to get the remaining contents from the can and to stop the soup from being too thick after heating.
  • Heat the soup, stirring occassionally, over a low heat. Do not boil.

2018-09-22 15.58.24.jpg
It looks like cold soup still, but it's starting to warm up. Might need to stir it some more

  • Melt butter in a frypan.
  • Place Bread in the pan and fry until just starting to take colour.
  • Flip Bread and repeat for the other side.
  • Fry the bread until it's as crispy as you want.

2018-09-22 15.58.20.jpg
I actually flipped the bread multiple times because I didn't want to burn it

  • Slice the bread into croutons of your desired size.

2018-09-22 15.58.30.jpg
You all know what diced bacon looks like already, but here's some more just to be sure

  • Fry the bacon in the pan until crispy.
  • Serve the soup in a large bowl, scatter the surface with bacon and croutons.

2018-09-22 16.08.24.jpg
Bacon sinks. Croutons don't

Thoughts

  • This made what is normally a fairly bland can of soup into something interesting, but there are still some improvements for next time.
  • I should have added some spring onions during the warming process.
  • I could have added the bacon into the soup as soon as it was cooked, as it didn't stay crispy, but could have gotten more dispersed into the soup
  • Garlic in the butter for the croutons. Do I really need to explain how good that would be?
  • I'm still undecided on the idea of cutting the croutons up before toasting or after, but It's worth trying the other way.

Previous Packet Meals

Butter Chicken
Beef and Red Wine Casserole
Country Beef Casserole
Marinades Part 1
Creamy Herb and Garlic Potato Bake
Chicken Korma
Steak, Veggies and Diane Sauce
Farmhouse Chicken Casserole
Pasta Carbonara
Roast Chicken, Veggies and Gravy


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Wow! This is quite impressive! I would never have thought of how to turn a can-soup into something quite delicious. I will keep this in mind as I have dome canned vegetables and soup in my larder.

Have a good day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad I could give you some ideas. Much of my improving of stuff like this is to just add stuff to it to make it more filling or more tasty or something. Bacon is a common feature because adding bacon makes everything better.

That doesn't look bad for a packet meal. Must be in need of some comfort it is hot here today but you have just made it fancy some soup

Posted using Partiko Android

It's warmer here than it was back when I made this (though it wasn't that long ago, it was a month or so ago already). Could still have done soup today, but then I will have soup like things most of the year around. Just vary the type of soup and how hearty it is.

Cub likes his bread toasted on the frying pan so he would approve XD

Glad the soup turned out good, I think I would need to implement the improvements as well to make it into something acceptable (because for whatever reason I don't like canned soup but I like 2min soup noodles etc I don't understand either).

That is rather odd. I'd suspect salt is part of the issue, with either can or packet not being balanced nicely to make the label show a low sodium figure to sell better, even though salt is a necessity to some point in making things taste decent.

I don't remember if I prefer packet or can, as I don't have either very often. 2 minute noodles I do, but never without adding a bunch of stuff to them, including more stock powder to make the soup better

I used to add things when I was a single starving student, these days because I tend to scarf it as comfort food if at all it's just the plain thing in a mug x_x ahh well we all knew I was weird XD

I'm just as poorly off (or worse...) as I was when I was a 'poor starving student' (TM) because I'm still 'living' on a DSP. So I still eat kinda like one, with my packet meals starting from (and continuing...) as pantry salvage from other people's houses.

Yeah!!! Food! Because of that, I will follow you and looking forward for the latest recipe you have!!! (^_^)

Thanks Kenny. As you can see I'm mostly food related, but there is some gaming and family stuff too.

We are the same... That is fine! (^_^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71