Packet Meals - Country Beef Casserole

in #packetmeals6 years ago

After another significant delay I've finally gotten back to actually cooking a recipe, and using one of the packet meals at the same time.

Country Beef Casserole

2018-04-22 18.49.30.jpg
As usual, the finished product at the top to have the best cover photo

I have 2 packets of this one, so I look forward to modifying it more and enjoying it again in the future.

Ingredients

2018-04-22 15.10.54.jpg
All the ingredients on the board in one shot? I won't believe it until the end of the recipe!

From the packet
500 grams Diced Beef
1 Onion, Diced
2 Carrots, Diced (I do 1/4 moon slices because dicing carrots isn't worth it)
2 Celery Sticks, Sliced (The packet says 3 but I just misread it)
2 Rashers Short Cut Bacon, Sliced
1 Packet Masterfoods Country Beef Casserole Recipe Base
Oil

Additional Ingredients
8 Mushrooms, Quartered
1 Green Capsicum, Sliced

Method

  • Prepare all the ingredients as instructed

2018-04-22 15.33.39.jpg
Prep underway. Diced Onion, Sliced Bacon, Sliced Carrot, Sliced Celery, Sliced Green Capsicum

  • Over Medium-High Heat, add enough Oil to thinly cover the base of your pan and heat for 30 seconds. (I'm using a ~24 cm Dutch Oven and it was good to have the space for stirring the contents.)
  • Add the Beef to the pan and brown on all sides, stirring to prevent it from sticking.

2018-04-22 15.36.26.jpg
Diced Beef browning in oil is the first step of so many things. Oh, and there was no oil in the ingredients photo

  • Add in the Onion and Bacon and mix it in with the Beef.
  • Stir regularly over the next 5 minutes.

2018-04-22 15.37.44.jpg
Add Onion and Bacon

  • Reduce the heat to Medium and add in the Carrot, Celery and Capsicum.
  • Stir and cook until the carrot has softened. (Test with a fork or skewer)

2018-04-22 15.40.28.jpg
Add Carrot, Celery and Capsicum

  • Add in the contents of the Packet Mix and stir well
  • Reduce heat to Low and stir occasionally

2018-04-22 15.50.11.jpg
Adding the recipe base into the mix

  • After 10 minutes, add in the Mushrooms.
  • If the sauce seems too thick, add in water as needed.

2018-04-22 16.01.54.jpg
Quartered Mushrooms added, as well as about 1/2 cup of water to thin out the sauce

  • Cook for another 5 minutes, or longer if you need to thicken the sauce more.
  • Serve with mashed potato. Makes 4 serves

2018-04-22 16.11.30.jpg
4 serves ready for later consumption. I'll cook the potato fresh each time with this one.

2018-04-22 18.49.30.jpg
Turns out that the sauce wasn't as thick as I anticipated, but it was still good to combine with the mash that I've served it with

Further Thoughts

  • This wasn't as nice as I was hoping, but I think it was mostly due to the beef not being lean enough. It needed to be stewed for much longer and was a poor choice for such a short cooking time. Next time I will use a better cut.
  • More Mushrooms cut in 1/8th pieces would have been good too.
  • I should have checked the carrot was cooked enough as it could have done with a few more minutes during the softening period.
  • I may also cut the carrot into 1/8th pieces next time to cook it quicker.
  • The sauce from the packet is certainly tasty enough and goes really well with the mashed potato. It didn't go so well with a cheesy mash the second serve that I had.
  • It reheats well and is perfect for freezing for later meals.

Previous Packet Meals

Marinades Part 1
Creamy Herb and Garlic Potato Bake
Chicken Korma
Steak, Veggies and Diane Sauce
Farmhouse Chicken Casserole
Pasta Carbonara
Roast Chicken, Veggies and Gravy
Chicken and Mushroom Risotto
Spanish Chicken and Chorizo Paella


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Looks delish!! I'm going to have to check out your other recipes!

It was pretty tasty. I've still got a couple serves frozen for later. Working through the other frozen meals before I make something else though

wow....owsame food it looking very delicious....i like it

with the right cut of meat, I have no doubts it would be as delicious as it looks

Wow it looks fantastic I love excellent option. regards

Adding the additional ingredients was certainly a good option

Good thing I'm glad great friend then I'll try, I invite you to go through my blog when you can n forget it, Regards

That didn't come out too bad looking, though I think I see what you mean about the cut of meat. You'll just have to have another go with a different cut ;D

goatsig

That is the plan. I'm hoping to find a decent cut on markdown next time around. This time the pre-diced meat obviously wasn't the right choice

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66267.02
ETH 3282.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70