Nitrate Free Home Brined Corned Beef

in #food6 years ago

Most of the time beef is not something I consider my favorite food or even favorite meat. I think pork or chicken wins that title but there is one exception in the form of my absolute favorite food even above pierogies, and that is Corned Beef. An irish classic I was raised on the stuff but I know for a fact my mom only purchased the store bought one and cooked it, she never cured it herself.

Finally I went through the bullshit and cured me some corned beef after two years of going without her in Southern Mexico. I will admit I was a bit intimidated to get it right, partially because its basically a brined/fermented meat product. Store bought corned beef (and apparently even a lot of home made) uses nitrates to help keep things sterile and keep bugs like botulism down. The problem is those nitrates, which also happen to be an ingredient in gunpowder, are pretty bad for us. So I opted out with a healthy level of paranoia.

I followed this recipe and honestly didn't change anything other than the fact that I had to omit juniper berries because I didn't have it.

~3 lbs beef brisket
2 quarts water
1 cup Kosher Salt
½ cup packed Brown Sugar
12 whole Juniper Berries
8 whole Cloves
8 whole Allspice Berries
3 Bay Leaves
1 Cinnamon Stick (broken up)
1 teaspoon Peppercorns
1 teaspoon Mustard Seeds


I made the brine, let it cool then chilled it until it was really cold. I submerged the big piece of beef in the brine and put that in the fridge for 5 days. Then I put it on the instant pot with some extra of each spices and chopped veggies for probably like 4 hours on high pressure.

It turned out amazing. I still have paranoia of getting sick despite the fact that corned beef brining doesn't encourage botulism the way curing a ham would or even canning food at home. I'll update you all if anything happens, but I figure the brine was more than enough to preserve the meat especially refrigerated.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

McGriddle CopyCat Breakfast Sandwich
The Best Deep Dish Pizza, Step by Step
Cast Iron Love: Sharing Thoughts on a Kitchen Classic

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Jungle Shots: Early Wet Season Post-Rain Mountaintop Shots
Farm Update: First Rains And Soggy Chicks
Aca Moto 2018 Photo Post 4

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

So delicious looking! the spices must smell amazing.

It was too good and seemingly botulism free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44