Cast Iron Love: Sharing Thoughts on a Kitchen Classic

in #food6 years ago

I've always had a fond spot for cast iron despite it's bulk, weight and the fact that it's high maintinence especially in a place like Acapulco. There's not much for sale as far as cast iron is concerned here so when I see something I generally get it, like the beautiful enamelled pot with matching lid shown above. I love it so much I want a blue one, too.

Now since so much goes right when you cook with cast iron it's only natural that so much can go wrong. I have had one other enamelled one shown below and as you'll see the care isn't super simple, although it is easy if you know what to pay attention to.

This is 5 years old and has seen better days. It's missing a handle from a killer speedbump that took the entire contents of the cooler on the way down to Acapulco through Mexico.

It's not easy to break a cast iron handle off, but it happens.

This is what happens when you do both of the enameled cast iron no-nos: metal tools and boiling it dry, meaning it got heated without anything in it. I also burnt the shit out of rice on a cast iron stove like 200 times in this thing.

I don't remember how it lost it's screw on handle but it happened a long time ago.

This is a recent addition as well, a burger press that's also great for bacon.

A seriously forgiving griddle I've had just as long as that red dutch oven. Seriously reliable, worth bringing it from the US to Acapulco in my opinion.

This is a pan I got just before leaving Detroit and one I'm glad I got. I seriously love it and use it daily.

A slightly rougher textured pan I got here in Acapulco.

As you can see I love cast iron. It's useful for so many reasons flavor just being one of them. If you know how to treat them these pans will last forever and they're the only pan you can bring back from a ruined state, something appealing to me.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Instant Pot Lobster Tail
Brownie For Two
How to Make Raw Overnight Oats

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Aca Moto 2018 Photo Post 1
Jungle Shots: Birds on a Boulder, Big Lizard and a Trash Fire
Rebel Crazy Time Avocado Chase, And An Apology

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Cast iron is definitely my favorite kitchen tool! I have several skillets and an enameled Dutch oven. They are real work horses!

I will haul them with me until I cannot lol

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

I would love cast iron cooking tools. So bloody expensive here your talking £70 for one. Still awaiting one to pop up in a charity shop 💯🐒

And I thought my new pan was pricey at 30 usd lol

England is a rip off currently. And as the bank says the economic is great no one can see the impending collapse, you would think they would recognise the signs from last time but no haha 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45