The Best Deep Dish Pizza, Step by Step

in #food6 years ago

Now I know I just posted about this but it was worth revisiting for a few reasons. I took step by step photos of what I feel is a better recipe to share. Walmart had a few pouches of imported American corn muffin mix featuring corn meal so I made an excuse to make more pizza. While the "authentic Chicago style deep dish" doesn't have corn meal I too believe it adds something special to this dough, having basically tried both ways at this point.

Now this recipe was originally adapted from here. My measurments are slightly different because I live in the tropics where things get weird with recipes.

Ingredients:

4.5 ish cups flour
2 tsp yeast
1/2 c corn muffin mix
1 t salt
1 T sugar
1.25 c warm water
1/2 cup unsalted butter, divided (1/4 cup melted, 1/4 cup softened)

Sauce:

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter
1 small onion, finely chopped
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon dried oregano
3 garlic cloves, minced
one 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1/4 teaspoon granulated sugar

Toppings:
Bacon
Olives
Goat Cheese
Pizza Blend Cheese
Pepperoni

The mix that started it all.....

It starts with the dry ingredients in the bowl, basically everything but the water, I started with about four cups flour and added as needed later.

I added the water and the melted butter then more flour until it came together in a bowl. This dough does need a little kneaded but not as much as regular dough and it will be softer in texture.

Allow to rise in a warm place for an hour, my new cast iron pan worked perfectly.


Out onto a floured surface.

Roll it out....

Coat with the rest of the butter...

Roll it up like a cinnamon roll without the cinnamon...

Cut in half, you can see the layers. I then just pinch into a ball carefully and put in small bowls into the fridge while the sauce is made.

Starting with finely chopped garlic and onion...

Into a pot to saute with butter...

Add the tomatoes when the onions are cooked a bit and the rest of the sauce ingredients and cook until thick, about a half hour.

Remove the dough from the fridge just before cooking, it will have risen slightly.

Roll it out

Line a pan, I used a springform but should have used the new red cast iron pan, as it worked better for the purpose today.

Baked for about a half hour on the highest temperature my oven would take. While I'm now a bit tired of deep dish I can still easily say I love it. If I ever open a restaurant, it'll be on the menu.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Cast Iron Love: Sharing Thoughts on a Kitchen Classic
Instant Pot Lobster Tail
Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Aca Moto 2018 Photo Post 1
Jungle Shots: Birds on a Boulder, Big Lizard and a Trash Fire
Rebel Crazy Time Avocado Chase, And An Apology

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

For me, the most important thing in a pizza is the dough, many say the sauce but I love it is a good dough, soft, fluffy and everything else combines to perfection. It looks very delicious your pizza, it is a very complete tutorial and with images of quality. Excellent post, greetings.

The key to this dough is the buttery layers.

I like your post because your post quality every time is very good and your photography is every time is very nice so i like your post

You got SNEKKED

Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!

We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!

You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32