Farm Update: First Rains And Soggy Chicks

in #farming6 years ago

As farmers we're pretty in tune with the weather here so last night when it started pouring we knew, immediately. John got up concerned about a few things regarding the power system (like keeping it dry). I stayed in bed debating on whether or not I should go retrieve my chicks, all about the size of the one in the photo above. Chicks are the most vulnerable in storms and we've found many stuck in the mud dead or dying following a rain storm.

Exhausted I decided to stay in bed knowing I was getting up at 5 for a different reason and could check everyone then. I really didn't want to get up at five but knowing my silkie and chickies were out there in the cold and the dark motivated me enough and I went out with my phone as a flashlight to check them all. My silkie was fine but there were three chickies that I could see stuck to the ground soggy and dying. I immediately grabbed them and took them inside under a heat lamp. Had they stayed they would be dead but under the lamp they came back to life.

I didn't stay up long to watch them honestly, I just went back to bed and woke up a few hours later to find three dirty but totally fine chicks. I immediately went out and checked the rest of them to find half of them out of their house. I also found the black chick shown in this post stuck to the ground one eye open with a look that said "this is it, and it's a lame ass way to go". I picked it up, brought it inside and went to catch it's buddies.

By the time I fixed the weaknesses in the enclosure and caught the chicks, it was clear his other three friends I'd found earlier were ready to rejoin the flock. It was also clear that the fourth and final chickie would make it.

Now I've repeatedly considered the idea of some sort of waterproof box to put in with the chicks for them to sleep on but in my experience they likely won't use it and since most of our rain here is at night they'll likely be groggy and sleeping, not able to make it to shelter at that time. When the lights are out chickens literally power down almost, it's almost like they're solar powered.


Farming isn't all about catching eggs and feeding them and weather plays a huge role. Coming out of dealing with the challenges that come with the dry season like lack of water we are now faced with the challenges of the wet season in the form of soggy birds and possible sickness.

This chickie's face and reaction when it saw it was rejoining it's flock was adorable and I'm sad I didn't capture it.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: What Happens When You Take A Silkie For a Walk in a Mexican Barrio
Farm Updates: New Silkie Night House Shots
Farm Update: Morning Silkie Shots

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Aca Moto 2018 Photo Post 4
Farm Update: What Happens When You Take A Silkie For a Walk in a Mexican Barrio
Rebel Dog Chases a Coconut Down a Mountain

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Oh man, I used to have 2 female Bantam chickens live in my yard and greenhouse on my last house, so nice to have around.

Bantams in general are super nice birds. I think my silkie might be a bantam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44