Homemade Marshmallows Recipe

in #food6 years ago

So while marshmallows are a thing here in Acapulco, regular vanilla marshmallows are not really a thing, at least not off in a bag by themselves. There's actually bigger demand for marshmallows here but they're almost always flavored, or coated with chocolate or something of the sort. Being a bit of a puritan, I'm still stuck on those classic white puffs, so I made some.

I learned why many of the recipes I see that show the delectable looking mallows are using a stand mixer, because this recipe is seriously hard on the mixer. I nearly fried my little hand mixer making these.

Ingredients:

2 T plain gelatin powder
1 c cold water
1/2 c corn syrup
1/4 c water
1 c sugar

Start by dissolving the cold water and gelatin together in a large bowl, set aside. Then measure out the rest of the water, corn syrup and sugar into a medium sized sauce pan.

Bring to a boil on medium high heat stirring until the sugar dissolves. Allow to boil until the temperature meets 240 degrees on a candy thernometer. I think my meat thernometer was a bit inaccurate to say the least which is likely why mine didn't turn out quite as expected.

The next part goes so fast that it's not easy to photograph. Once the sugar hit that point I removed it from the heat and started beating the gelatin and water mixture in the bowl. Slowly, bit by bit while the mixer was still running (not an easy feat one handed) on high whipping air into the mixture. Eventually it made the characteristic white cream and I called it quits, partially because my mixer was feeling too hot.

I put it in the fridge for awhile to set then turned it out onto a counter covered in a light dusting of powdered sugar. From there cut into pieces and there you have it. I store them in the fridge, keeping it at a week shelf life.

I used some of these in a special recipe, look forward to it in the next few days!

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Instant Pot Herbed Rack of Lamb with Roasted Veggies Recipe
Fresh Basil and Spinach Pesto Recipe
Giant Soft Batch Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Garden Update: New Garden Starting Materials and Some Garden Starting Shots
Acapulco Sunsets: Happy 4/20
Lily's Little Garden: Sensitive Plant is Still Alive

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

@lily-da-vine.I am loving your homemade marshmallow! They are really fab.
I use alot of marshmallows in my desserts but only use shop bought.Never tried to make them before.Will defo have to try these for the kids.I think i might make a fruit compote with strawberries or blueberries.The sharpness will cut through the sweetness of the marshmallow.Thanks for sharing your recipe.Lovely photos too 👍🏼💛

Hey, hope you have success. It's a recipe I could see being a lot of fun with kids.

Yeh defo.I will get some skewers.Different fruits and the compote.kids can make there own fruit mallowy kebabs.So trying this over the weekend!💛

very nice photography

Awesomely special and man you have been busy today!

The old recipies actually used the root of the mallow plant I understand. Here's a link showing some varieties of how they look. http://agpest.co.nz/?pesttypes=mallows

I came upon mallow plants out in the country in the central valley of California. People thought they were just weeds. Roxann and I would add the leaves to our salads. Although we never actually made marsh mallows from them.

The way that marsh mallows aren't made from the mallow plant much any more is similar to Licorice.

Licorice, the candy is seldom made from the licorice plant anymore. The licorice plant has some medicinal properties as an adaptogen if I recall correctly.

Thanks for sharing the Marshmallow recipie Lilly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49